[ORM] Mechanics

Mechanical notes

• The Brotherhood and the Rebels have separate mechanics, kind of like in Scars of Mirrodin block.

• The block is double large with a 2/3 planeswalker split. The two sets are drafted separately.

• To reflect the shift in focus from the Brotherhood to the Rebels, the former will lose a mechanic in the second set (probably Implants) and the latter will gain one, inverting the proportions (Brotherhood/Rebels mechanics ratio = 3/2 in the first set, 2/3 in the second).

• The Rebel creature type will return. The so-called "rebel mechanic" will NOT.

• The block might have a slightly higher percentage of artifacts than usual, to reflect the Brotherhood's use of technology (drones, chips (represented by the Implant subtype), surveillance devices, etc...), but not necessarily an artifact theme or subtheme.

• The block also has a slightly higher percentage of gold cards than usual, even though not certainly at Ravnica levels. Those gold cards will be focused mostly (not all though) on the Brotherhood pairs in the first set and the Rebel pairs in the second one, with the following split:

First set: WU UB WB UR GB
Second set: RG GW WR BR UG

The pairs containing two main colors of the same faction are obvious. For the non-obvious pairs, UR is in the first set because it represent the Ministry of Industry and interacts with all of Dahl's artifacts. Then, one between BG and GU has to be in the first set, that would have no green otherwise. The same goes for blue and GU in the second set, so BG must be in the first and GU in the second. The only spot left for BR is in the second set. There are no alternatives if we want all colors to be represented in both sets, even if not equally (that's impossible). Each of the two sets should still support the pairs it doesn't include, just less. If you want to draft a Rebel color pair in the Brotherhood set, you should still be able to do it, you just won't have that many gold cards.

 


 

The Brotherhood (3 mechanics - 1 in the second set)

 

• One of the mechanics for the Brotherhood side is detain from Return to Ravnica block. It's our only returning mechanic.

 

• Another mechanic for the Brotherhood are Implants, which are Equipment with negative effects that can be equipped to creatures your opponents control in addition to your own. "Implant" is a new artifact subtype that carries mechanical baggage in the rules, just like Equipment and Fortification. Being a subtype, it can (and should) be referenced to by other cards in any way. The added rule for Implants in the CR will simply be the following:

 

"An Equipment that has also the Implant subtype can be attached to creatures your opponents control."

 

Example card (costs are not meant to be balanced; also, this has been refined to implement Implant as an artifact subtype):


Weakening Chip 3
Artifact - Equipment Implant (C)

(This Equipment can be equipped to creatures your opponents control. You still control it when it's equipped to a creature an opponent controls.)

Equipped creature gets -2/-0.
Equip 2 

 

Brainwash by Flatline:


Brainwash (Whenever this deals damage to a creature, put a -1/-1 counter on that creature. If it isn't brainwashed, it becomes brainwashed.)


This mechanic exploits monstrosity/renown technology, but kind of reverses it. The fact that multiple brainwash instances put multiple -1/-1 counters on the brainwashed creature is intentional. In my opinion, this mechanic is very flavorful for the Brotherhood. Obviously, there would be cards referencing brainwashed creatures and triggers like "Whenever a creature an opponent controls becomes brainwashed" and such.

Brainwash forces us to only use -1/-1 counters throughout the block. That's not necessarily a problem, just a thing we must be aware of as it heavily shapes the mechanical design. It's such a great fit for the Brotherhood though that I personally would have no problem with this. Also, it also forces us to use -1/-1 counters ONLY or MOSTLY as brainwash markers. If there are too many other ways to put -1/-1 counters, it becomes difficult to recognize a brainwashed creature by the counter.

 

These considerations led us to the idea of using -1/-1 counters in the first set and +1/+1 in the second one, to represent the shift in prevalence from the Brotherhood to the Rebellion, which is allowable because the sets are drafted separately. This means that brainwash needs to be (one of ?) the mechanic(s?) the Brotherhood loses in the second set.


Flatline posted the following two cards in the DCC with this mechanic. Both have been adjusted after discussion and are presented here in their current forms.

 

Mollification Mage 2 mana white mana blue mana
Creature - Vedalken Wizard (R)
Vigilance
Brainwash (Whenever this deals damage to a creature, put a -1/-1 counter on that creature. If it isn’t brainwashed, it becomes brainwashed.)
Brainwashed creatures your opponents control can’t attack or block.
2/4

 

Shock Therapy red mana
Enchantment - Aura (U)
Enchant creature
When Shock Therapy enters the battlefield or at the beginning of your upkeep, Shock Therapy deals 1 damage to enchanted creature.
Brainwash (Whenever this deals damage to a creature, put a -1/-1 counter on that creature. If it isn't brainwashed, it becomes brainwashed.)

 


 

The Rebellion (2 mechanics + 1 more in the second set)

 

Recruit by Flatline:

 

Recruit - Whenever another nontoken creature enters the battlefield under your control, [EFFECT].

 

It's similar to rally, but that shouldn't be too much of a problem, as it's heavily associated with Allies and we don't have any here. Recruit also only triggers when another creature etb and not when the creature itself etb, unlike normal etb abilities and rally, and this is a good way to differentiate it from both of those. The flavor is very good, and we need simple mechanics to go with Implants and brainwash, which are more on the complex side.

 

Recruit is an ability word, and as such it has no rules meaning and no CR-like entry.

 

 

Embolden by me (name by Flatline):

 

Embolden [COST] (You may cast this spell for its embolden cost if you dealt combat damage to a player this turn with a Rebel.)

 

This mechanic is a variant of prowl from Morningtide that always looks for Rebels, regardless of the card's creature types. It can be put not only on Rebels themselves, but also on Rebel-associated instants, sorceries, artifacts, and enchantments, and also on non-Rebel but still Rebel-associated creatures (kind of those dogs the Rebels use to detect implanted chips, see the first example below).

 

Embolden still works with old Rebels (the ones with the "Rebel mechanic") if you want to do some crazy past-present mix. And most of all, embolden cards still perfectly work outside of block. You can still cast my Chip-Detecting Dog from the examples below for its normal mana cost outside of block. The discounted price would just be a bonus for you to do the "block thing".

 

Examples (not meant to be balanced, just to show off the mechanic):

 

Chip-Detecting Dog 2R
Creature - Hound (C)
Embolden 1R (You may cast this spell for its embolden cost if you dealt combat damage to a player this turn with a Rebel.)

When Chip-Detecting Dog enters the battlefield, you may destroy target Equipment.
2/2

 

Rebel Rhino 3G
Creature - Rhino (R)
Embolden 1GG (You may cast this spell for its embolden cost if you dealt combat damage to a player this turn with a Rebel.)
Trample, hexproof
3/3

 

This Rhino could probably be constructed playable even without embolden. With it, it's even better.


Rebel Bolt 1R
Instant (C)
Embolden R (You may cast this spell for its embolden cost if you dealt combat damage to a player this turn with a Rebel.)
Rebel Bolt deals 3 damage to target creature or player.


This is a Lightning Strike, that is a perfectly playable card by itself. With embolden, it becomes a Lightning Bolt, a Modern staple.

 


 

Distribution of mechanics

 

In WUBRG order. The blue one is the split we're officially adopting. "1" means the mechanic is in that color. Each color has 3 mechanics.

 

 

• Detain: W, U.

• Implants (activations): U, B.

• Brainwash: all colors.

• Recruit: R, G, W.

• Embolden: B, R, G.

 

• W: detain, brainwash, recruit.

• U: detain, Implant activations, brainwash.

• B: Implant activations, brainwash, embolden.

• R: brainwash, recruit, embolden.

• G: brainwash, recruit, embolden.

 


 

 

For the second set:

• The following has been proposed by Flatline as the additional mechanic for the Rebels in the second set, if at all. We will discuss it again when we get to the point of designing the second set.

 

Defiant - Whenever a creature you control becomes the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls, <effect>.

 

I personally don't like this mechanic that much and I'm still concerned with it being too uninteractive. If I'm your opponent, I'll just never target your creature unless it's lethal. Anyway, I'm open to playtest it. Maybe actually playing with it can convince me.

 

< Return to index