So, I'm trying to think about the best strategy here. I made a list of some keywords in five categories: defense, evasion, attacking (outside of evasion obviously), blocking, miscellanous utility. If your opponent has ways to assemble contraptions on board, given that some contraptions are removal spells you should go for defense ASAP. Otherwise you should either go for racing or evasion depending on your opponent's board, and only reach for defense as a reaction.
I think I've covered most of the good ones. I didn't name every single damage-boosting ability since normally you shouldn't run out in a day.
The best of the best:
Protection from everything (defense, evasion)
Indestructible (defense, blocking, mediocre evasion)
Annihilator 6 (attacking, mediocre evasion)
Triple strike (attacking, blocking, mediocre evasion)
Lifelink (attacking, blocking)
Good but not great:
Flying (evasion, blocking)
Bushido 5 (evasion, blocking)
Double Strike (attacking, mediocre evasion)
Infect (attacking, blocking)
Cumulative Upkeep - gain control of a land you don't control (misc)
Provoke (misc. Don't combine with actual evasion obviously)
Only if you've exhausted your other options, or in very specific scenarios:
Art rampage 2 (evasion)
Rampage 4 (evasion)
Undying (defense but causes you to lose all other keywords as it's a new object)
Persist (defense, same as above but weaker)
Deathtouch (bad defense, mediocre evasion, mediocre blocking)
Menace (bad evasion)
Soulshift 7 (misc.)
Evolve (attacking, blocking)
Modular (misc, very bad defense. Only if it has +1/+1 counters and you have another artifact creature)
Vanishing 1 (If you need it to die for whatever reason)
- Registered User
Member for 6 years, 7 months, and 14 days
Last active Wed, Jan, 24 2018 17:39:07
- 0 Followers
- 1,180 Total Posts
- 148 Thanks
Nov 17, 2017Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from Leaf »
Protection from everything - indestructible - absorb 9001 - trample - rampage 420Quote from Empathogen »
Wouldn't Progenitus' "Protection from Everything" be better than Hexproof in most cases?
Or maybe you want to Voltron this thing up, in which case Hexproof is better?
You can't name modifiers that haven't been printed. So no absorb 9001 or rampage 420. Also, absorb is redundant with protection which already prevents damage.
Unless your opponent has something on board that can deal with it (in which case you probably shouldn't cast this), there is no reason to go with hexproof early. Just pick something that lets it not die in combat, then annihilator 6, triple strike, lifelink... whatever you need. If the opponent plays a kill spell, then you can go for hexproof or indestructible, and avoid wasting them in a game where they don't matter.
Nov 15, 2017Subbak posted a message on Extremely Slow Zombie and Three-Headed Goblin - Last Strike and Triple Strike!Posted in: The Rumor Mill
More specifically, It makes it harder to have a clean definition for Double Strike and First Strike (currently, Double Strike means that there is a First Strike damage step, and you deal damage at every damage step. First Strike means there is a First Strike damage step, you deal damage in the first, but not in the second unless you didn't deal damage in the first (or you have double strike)). For example, it's not clear what would happen to a creature that had both Last Strike and Double Strike, or both First and Last Strike, etc... While all of this could be written down in the rules, it would be a lot less grokable. A significant rule change would also make things relatively intuitive, but would require errata on all previous cards with Double Strike to make them read "First Strike, Double Strike" instead (basically have Double & Triple Strike call out the steps where they work).Quote from void_nothing »Quote from Arcanus Dominus »I think what keeps "Last Strike" from being a black-bordered keyword is that it is explicitly a drawback keyword, and (if memory serves), Wizards has backed away from doing those (other than Defender, which is basically grandfathered in) for a variety of reasons.
That is a good reason to not be a keyword, but in this case there's an even better one: It'd be messing with the combat damage step and cause a lot of headaches for the people who write the rules all for the sake of having a drawback.
Oct 18, 2017Seriously this whole time Bolas amnesia could have been cured by a Convenient Head Trauma? This is quite cliché.Posted in: Magic Storyline
I don't understand why Vraska would be mad at the person who mindwiped Jace. She hated old Jace. She is in love with new Jace. CLearly the mindwipe is an improvement from her point of view.
Sep 13, 2017Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from AnImAr_ »Quote from Courier7 »The restriction on Castaways isn't a problem because treasure tokens are going to be so easy to attain--decent stats for a common ground creature. The Hoarder...well, it's a pirate and if it dies then at least you get something for it--this one will actually be better in Standard because it enables revolt push. Same for the Buccaneers--it is a pirate and when it explores I would rather put the counter on it for a hasty 3/3 to enable raid.
Skulduggery...*sigh* I like the card but I am having a difficult time getting past the fact that it is misspelled.
Oh God why did you point out that misspelling? That bothers the crap out of me
Apparently both spellings exist (I didn't know the word before so I just googled it to see how it was normally spelled).
Sep 11, 2017Subbak posted a message on TCGPlayer preview: Legion's Landing / Adanto, the First FortI think I'm going to have to quote Eddie Izzard every time I play/flip this. "Do you have a flaaag? No flag no country!"Posted in: The Rumor Mill
Sep 6, 2017Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from TomTomato »
Yeah, same. I currently have it in a deck with Ravenous Baloth and Wirewood Savage. I guess that deck is gonna need a whole lot of tweaking...
I have good news for you: it's an error in the article, and Clever Girl is still a beast.
Sep 6, 2017The storyline is really getting better. I think they've really got how a blue character would react to Jace's situation.Posted in: Magic Storyline
I hope the next story starts immediately after this one end. I wonder how Jace is going to react to the information available (i.e. his rescuer is an old enemy of him and doesn't know the detail of what happened to him). Is he going to try to bluff that he hasn't lost his memory (not too hard given that he's a dehydrated castaway, he could be delirious)? Is he going to go "The old me was your enemy, but I'm a different guy, can I serve on your ship?"? Is his telepahty going to come back to him now that he's got other people to practice it on?
Quote from Burning_Paladin »Coffee came from Arabia not the New World, that's chocolate.
Actually it's from Ethiopia, but it was indeed introduced to Europe by Arab merchants.
Sep 5, 2017Subbak posted a message on ~Huge Growth Pedestrian (thanks Google Translate - green explore support)Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from tiasian »This "translation" is up there with Be Fond Of Nothingness (Nihilistic Glee) for excellence.
I wonder if they plan this in advance when giving previews to Japanese or Korean websites.
Sep 4, 2017Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from Honor Basquiat »Quote from wallycaine »
To be fair, there's definitely corner cases where it matters: You have a 6/6, and they have a 5/5 and bunch of smaller dudes out. If it didn't force you to copy, you could just cast it for x=5, not copy, wipe their board and keep your 6/6. With the forced copy, you can only pick 2 or 3, and thus either leave the 5/5 alive, or kill off your own 6/6.
Or if Kess, Dissident Mage is out (toughness 4) and you play Anger of the Gods. You wouldn't want to copy it then.
Then don't use mana from the Wellspring to pay for spells you don't want to copy? It only copies spells cast using mana from it, not all your spells.
Incidentally this means you can't copy instants you cast from a Gearhulk trigger, which probably limits its standard usefulness.
Aug 30, 2017THis thing is so huge it's ridiculous. Judging by the scale ships, the deck is at least 40m above the water. Unless its draught is at least as big, it will capsize faster than you can say "Didn't learn anything from the Vasa, did you?". That's almost twice as big as the draft of the largest ship ever built, the oil tanker "Seawise Giant". It's also way more water than is likely to be available for navigating between islands and not looking like a big fat target, which a pirate ship should be trying to do.Posted in: The Rumor Mill
And let's not even go into the problem of working the sails when you're up several hundreds of meters on a boat in a rough sea...
Okay I'm not sure why I'm getting worked up on this given that this is Magic anyway but still... that image is ridiculous.
Apr 10, 2017Yes, her ability is worse than Heliod's if you just look at the rate (2/1, with vigilance as long as you keep Heliod, vs 1/1 vigilance), but unlike Heliod, she can turn on by using her ability relatively easily, while tokens don't help at all with devotion.Posted in: The Rumor Mill
Apr 6, 2017Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from knto »Does anyone know when Borderland Marauder rotates? If its still in stanard that seems like a great synergy to have in a rdw. Both are passable on their own and the pair togeter threaten 12 combat damage in one swing. Its a bit Christmas landy, with all of the removal about, but its great to force them to halve the answers.
Borderland Marauder is not in Standard. It rotated away a long time ago considering it was only legal in M15.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.