Quote from Macabre »buffing junk utility to get some early damage, ward off early aggression by making a junk utility creature a bit bigger to block
Quote from peteroupc »However, after Orb of Dreams and Urabrask enter, Warp World will bring all enchantment cards it revealed onto the battlefield, and Orb of Dreams will make those permanents enter the battlefield tapped, since with Warp World, first "all artifact, creature, and land cards revealed this way" are put onto the battlefield, then all "enchantment cards" revealed this way are.
Quote from Haile Selassie II »A lot of cards used to say "successfully casts", which has been errata'd into just "casts". A good one-word replacement would be changing casts to resolves.
Quote from NightWatch »Am I correct in assuming that turning the card over for its CMC rather than its Morph cost (For cards such as Skinthinner this would be extremely advantageous.) is only an option if the card is manifested, or played face down using a rule other than Morph?
Quote from peteroupc »If you control Tomorrow while an effect says you "can't draw cards" (e.g., Maralen of the Mornsong), you can't apply Tomorrow's effect.
Quote from Randuir »Ninjas might be another possibility? Yuriko, the tiger's shadow makes for a very agressive commander if you build around getting her ability to trigger. she can hit the field as early as turn 2 if you get a 1-drop creature, and this deck wants to run a bunch of cheap, hard to block creatures anyway to get your ninjas in.
Quote from peteroupc »I am not aware of any case in which that rule applies at the time of this writing; see also this thread.
Quote from murgatroid99 »Alice has no cards in her library or graveyard. Nathan has no cards in his graveyard.
Alice controls the following:
Laboratory Maniac equipped with Sword of Fire and Ice.Nefarious LichNathan controls the following:
Grizzly Bears enchanted with Ward of Piety.Nefarious LichThen the following happens:
Alice attacks with Laboratory ManiacNathan chooses not to blockThe Sword's ability triggers. Alice chooses to target the Grizzly BearsWhile the Sword's ability is on the stack, Nathan activates Ward of Piety's ability twice: once targeting Alice and once targeting Nathan.Both Ward activations resolve.Sword of Fire and Ice's ability resolves. The original text of the effect isSword of Fire and Ice deals 2 damage to target creature or player and you draw a card.
After we apply the Ward of Piety replacement and Laboratory Maniac replacement to that effect, it becomesSword of Fire and Ice deals 1 damage to Alice and Sword of Fire and Ice deals 1 damage to Nathan and Alice wins the game.At this point, we apply the relevant Nefarious Lich effects. The result is(Alice exiles 1 card from her graveyard. If she can't, she loses the game) and (Nathan exiles 1 card from his graveyard. If he can't, he loses the game) and (Alice wins the game).
There are no more applicable replacement effects, so the ability finishes resolving. Neither Alice nor Nathan can exile a card from their graveyard, so the end result of this effect isAlice loses the game and Nathan loses the game and Alice wins the game.
Sword of Fire and Ice deals 2 damage to target creature or player and you draw a card.
Sword of Fire and Ice deals 1 damage to Alice and Sword of Fire and Ice deals 1 damage to Nathan and Alice wins the game.
(Alice exiles 1 card from her graveyard. If she can't, she loses the game) and (Nathan exiles 1 card from his graveyard. If he can't, he loses the game) and (Alice wins the game).
Alice loses the game and Nathan loses the game and Alice wins the game.
Quote from Tales19 »Btw, the condition for activation can be satisfied with "_____"