A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on Club Flamingo ☆ Exclusively for Custom Card Connoisseurs and Great People
    Ruined Colosseum
    Land (R)
    tap symbol : Add white mana , black mana , or red mana .
    If you would win the game or an opponent would lose the game, instead sacrifice Ruined Colosseum.
    When you sacrifice Ruined Colosseum, until the end of your next turn, You can’t win the game and your opponents can’t lose the game.


    IIW: Treasure Tokens! (Remember Rapacious Dragon updated the wording!)
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • posted a message on Club Flamingo ☆ Exclusively for Custom Card Connoisseurs and Great People
    Thassa's Dictum UUU
    Enchantment {R}
    As Thassa’s Dictum enters the battlefield, choose Weal or Woe.
    • Weal — At the beginning of each player’s draw step, that player draws an additional card.
    • Woe — If an opponent would draw a card except the first one they draw in each of their draw steps, instead that player draws a card and discards a card.

    IIW: Treasure Tokens! (Remember Rapacious Dragon updated the wording!)
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • posted a message on Immolation Mask
    Atemsis, All-Seeing wincon?
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Ravenous Dragon - TechTudo (Treasure token creation language shortened!)
    Their point was that previously the ability of treasure tokens was in the actual rules text of the card (reminder text is not rules text) now the ability is not spelled out in rules text which must mean that the subtype treasure now has the rules baggage much like the basic land subtypes.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Switch Witch
    From Mary O'Kill: (If a creature is tapped, the switched creature is tapped. The same is true for untapped, attacking, blocking, enchanted, equipped, and targeted. Any counters on a creature are on the switched creature instead.)

    I think this honestly works fine within the same zone...
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Club Flamingo ☆ Exclusively for Custom Card Connoisseurs and Great People
    Aminatou, Eternal Seer (W/B)U
    Legendary Planeswalker - Aminatou {U}
    You may look at the top card of your library.
    \-1/: Exile the top card of your library face down. You may look at and play that card for as long as you control Aminatou.
    [5]

    IIW: Niche Commanders
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • posted a message on Club Flamingo ☆ Exclusively for Custom Card Connoisseurs and Great People
    Fortified Clearing
    Land {R}
    Fortified Clearing enters the battlefield tapped.
    Champion a land (When this enters the battlefield, sacrifice it unless you exile another land you control until this leaves the battlefield.)
    T: Add two mana in any combination of R, G, and/or W.

    IIW: Copy things
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • posted a message on CCL The Last (June '19) - Round 2
    Collective Insights RR
    Sorcery {R}
    Tempting offer — Exile the top card of your library. Each opponent may exile the top card of their library. For each opponent who does, exile the top card of your library. Until the beginning of your next turn, players may play cards they own exiled in this way. If you cast Collective Insights from your graveyard, each opponent must choose to exile the top card of their library.
    Flashback 2RR (You may cast this card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • posted a message on Club Flamingo ☆ Exclusively for Custom Card Connoisseurs and Great People
    I think we'll start off with approximately 63,761 spam posts, just for good measure, and we'll figure it out from there.
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • posted a message on Commanders Encouraging Atypical Cards
    Quote from Cardz5000 »
    Vareer is obviously meant to synergies with the cycling matters cards from Amonkhet block. They are even in the exactly right colors.

    How are cycling and traps connected?

    They aren't. I was poking fun at Void's question of why Vareer discards cards and copies rather than just casting for free.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Club Flamingo ☆ Exclusively for Custom Card Connoisseurs and Great People
    I think this fits the challenge, as I was going for a cow trickster god, which has never been done before to my knowledge.

    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • posted a message on Club Flamingo ☆ Exclusively for Custom Card Connoisseurs and Great People
    Hundred-Handed One is a direct pull from the Hecatoncheires... but I get the point.

    Valen, The War King
    1RWB
    Legendary Artifact Creature - God Wonder {MR}
    (As this Wonder enters and after your draw step, you may tap a creature to put a brick counter on this.)
    Indestructible
    As long as it has less than three brick counters on it, Valen isn’t a creature.
    Remove a brick counter from Valen: Untap target attacking creature you control. After this phase there is an additional combat phase. Each other creature that attacked or blocked this turn, cannot attack or block until end of turn. Activate this ability only once per turn.
    7/4

    IIW: Artifacts with the subtype "Wonder"
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • posted a message on Commanders Encouraging Atypical Cards
    Vareer is obviously meant to synergies with the cycling matters cards from Amonkhet block. They are even in the exactly right colors.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on [Monthly Card Contest] ***MCC*** Discussion Thread
    I also disagree with RaikouRider's Disqualification
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • posted a message on [Monthly Card Contest] ***MCC*** Discussion Thread
    Well, as Eventide Sojourner has DQed me, I guess my point is moot

    Edit: I feel like I need to argue for myself here
    Design
    (2/3) Appeal: The concept would appeal to Timmy and Johnny, but I've never known too many Spikes that cared for anthem effects.
    Do the different player psychographics (Timmy/Johhny/Spike) have a use for the card?
    (1/3) Elegance: This is a giant plate of word salad, and, unfortunately, it doesn't make a lot of sense from a rules standpoint.

    Development
    (0/3) Viability: Here's the bad news: the card does not work. When this creature dies, it is changing zones. It has left the battlefield and is no longer a creature. Granting it indestructible at this juncture does not change anything. As it is no longer a permanent, it cannot phase out. Also, you are assuming death via lethal damage. How would your card survive being Disfigured?
    (0/3) Balance: There is no way to interact with this card after it phases out and tries to become an anthem, and Time and Tide is the only card in existence that can force a phased-out permanent to phase back in. Conceptually, I see what you were trying to do. Unfortunately, the card "doesn't exist" while it is phased out, meaning it also cannot have an effect on the game state, unlike a card in exile.

    Creativity
    (1/3) Uniqueness: I see where you were going, trying to create pseudo-emblems. It just does not work due to the rules.
    (1/3) Flavor: The definitions for "ineffable" are 'too great or extreme to be expressed or described in words' or 'not to be uttered'. A 2/2 Angel Spirit that can transcend the corporeal doesn't come across as 'ineffable'.

    Polish
    (1/3) Quality: Unable to correct the first line, as the card does not work as written.
    (0/2) *Main Challenge: Challenge attempted. However, as the card is not viable, I cannot award points here.
    (2/2) Subchallenges: Not Blue? Yes. Uncommon or Rare? Yes.

    Viability: The trigger that makes the card phase out is a replacement effect ("If ~ would die" not "When ~ dies") and as such the zone change never happens. Creatures that would die from Anger of the Gods never actually hit the graveyard, if what you are saying about my card were true, that would not be the case.

    Rule 702.25b. is:
    If a permanent phases out, its status changes to "phased out." Except for rules and effects that specifically mention phased-out permanents, a phased-out permanent is treated as though it does not exist. It can't affect or be affected by anything else in the game. A permanent that phases out is removed from combat.

    As this card does specifically mention a phased-out permanent (itself), the static ability should function.

    And regardless of the card's viability, it by definition satisfies the main challenge as it is "a card with "phasing", "phase(s) in", and/or "phase(s) out" in its rules text."

    /rant
    Posted in: Custom Card Contests and Games
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.