2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on [THB] Mothership 12/18 — Theme Booster Exclusive Rares

    I am bad with rules but, in modern, can I kill the opponent on the spot if I fetch:

    Changeling Berserker
    Changeling Hero
    Changeling Titan
    Fanatic Of Mogis


    Not really - you can get a loop of the champions entering and leaving, but the Fanatic won't be caught up in it. You can Champion the Fanatic a couple of times, so it might do some decent damage depending on your current Devotion...

    All 4 enter, stack the changelings on the bottom, and Mogis on top - Mogis resolves, deals damage.
    1st Changeling champions mogis. 2nd Changeling Champions 1st Changeling, releases Mogis. deals damage.

    But now you're stuck. You can have the 3rd changeling champion the second, which releases the first, etc - into a loop of the changelings - but your Fanatic of Mogis is not part of that loop. You can hide the Fanatic again, either by hiding it with the 3rd changeling, or by championing a champion until you decide to hide the fanatic...


    Now, with this loop of changelings, you could have Impact Tremors or purphoros already out, at which point, yeah, they're dead - but then you don't need the Fanatic.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on No story/lore for Theros
    Quote from DJK3654 »
    If they were ever going to do a Theros novel, they would have started work on it before the Weisman hate gained steam for that to influence anything.
    Maybe they did start it, and that's why there's no novel - because it's entirely possible that given the current situation, they passed another review on it and decided to not release it.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on No story/lore for Theros
    I see absolutely no connection on the current issue of storyline to anything diversity related. Let's NOT get into that.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on 2019 Holiday Card Exchange!
    Quote from Stoogeslap »
    Bob, is Wednesday or Thursday a safe guess for when you will be sending out?
    Sending on Thursday.
    Posted in: Community Discussion
  • posted a message on Volrath the Shapestealer Interactions
    Moved to Rulings
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Quietus Spike and First/Double Strike
    During the First Strike damage step, your creature will assign 1 damage to the blocking 1/1, and 2 damage to the defending player (due to trample). The damage will then be dealt, and the token will die. Quietus spike will trigger, and then the player will lose half their life. Once all triggers are resolved, and both players pass priority with no abilities/spells on the stack, the game will proceed to the next Step in the Combat phase: Regular damage step.

    At this point, all 5 creatures are eligible to deal damage, and as there are no remaining blockers in front of anything, all 15 damage will be assigned to the defending player and then dealt. Should the player somehow still be alive, Quietus spike will again trigger on combat damage being dealt, and halve the defending player's life again.

    ===

    If other creatures also have first strike, they would deal their damage in the First Strike step. Unless they also have double strike, they will then be inelligible to deal damage in the regular step.

    It would go: [First Strike + Double Strike creatures damage] => Trigger Quietus spike, lose half life => [Regular + Double Strike damage] => Trigger Quietus spike, lose half life.


    Rules in question:

    506.1. The combat phase has five steps, which proceed in order: beginning of combat, declare attackers, declare blockers, combat damage, and end of combat. The declare blockers and combat damage steps are skipped if no creatures are declared as attackers or put onto the battlefield attacking (see rule 508.8). There are two combat damage steps if any attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 702.7) or double strike (see rule 702.4).

    510.4. If at least one attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 702.7) or double strike (see rule 702.4) as the combat damage step begins, the only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are those with first strike or double strike. After that step, instead of proceeding to the end of combat step, the phase gets a second combat damage step. The only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are the remaining attackers and blockers that had neither first strike nor double strike as the first combat damage step began, as well as the remaining attackers and blockers that currently have double strike. After that step, the phase proceeds to the end of combat step.

    603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at this point.

    603.3. Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object that’s not a card the next time a player would receive priority. See rule 117, “Timing and Priority.” The ability becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. It remains on the stack until it’s countered, it resolves, a rule causes it to be removed from the stack, or an effect moves it elsewhere.



    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on 2019 Holiday Card Exchange!
    I have additionally received from Feyd and Grant1 today. Only one that I'm currently expecting and have not received is the international package. Keeping my fingers crossed for that one.
    Posted in: Community Discussion
  • posted a message on 2019 Holiday Card Exchange!
    Alright, now that CommandFest DC is over - time for an update!

    I have received SEVEN packages so far, and I know of TWO more on the way, which seem to have taken a circuitous route. Adding myself in, there are currently 8(10) participants. I'm going to wait until Wednesday (my typical Magic Night), and then ship off everything on Thursday. Should any other late arrivals come in, I will pair them with each other, to ensure that people get their holiday cards!

    Currently, I have received packages from the following users:

    • Void Nothing (Nexus)
    • Mohawk Dan
    • Slavan K Guiser
    • DeCayNine
    • tappwater
    • Stoogeslap
    • Elemental
    • . (+myself)

    I am expecting packages to arrive from:
    • Feyd Ruin (Nexus)
    • Henlock (Nexus)


    If your name is not up there, and you sent something, please let me know!
    Posted in: Community Discussion
  • posted a message on Dragon Throne of Tarkir
    Locking this thread, as KTK was revealed a long time ago. If you want to discuss the uses of the card in certain formats, I think the Commander Forums or other format forums would be happy to have you there to discuss it.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on How does Lifelink work in this situation?
    Moved to rulings.

    ---

    You would gain 4 life only, as Avatar of Hope will only do 4 damage between the two creatures.

    No matter how many creatures Avatar of Hope block, the 4 damage it deals will be split amongst the attacking creatures based on the order you choose to deal damage to them. As damage is dealt, you will gain life equal to the damage dealt.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on [Offtopic] Community Thread
    If anyone is attending CommandFestDC - hit me up a PM. I'd love to meet some of you there!
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on THB-Gamespot shows off Ashiok and Elspeth planeswalker cards and Buy-a-box god
    Quote from seilaoque »
    then it puts 1 "regeneration shield" on a creature every turn.

    You can put the counters on opponents' creatures to steal them. Plus, you get to re-use ETBs.

    He'll be more in tune for Commander, it seems.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on 2019 Holiday Card Exchange!
    Some of them have started to trickle in, and man - people are in for a treat this year!
    Posted in: Community Discussion
  • posted a message on Fists of Flame, or "why developing specifically for EDH is making the format worse"
    Quote from Carthage »

    "You sound like you just don't want to lose"
    "I can't spend money on cards right now"
    "I only have the one deck"

    These ones can be a good basis for a starting conversation - for the one who can't spend money on cards - perhaps a discussion with the group about budget - in order to keep the game on a more even level would help be more inclusive for that person. Likewise for the person who only has one deck. Having one deck doesn't need to be a barrier either - There's bound to be a middle ground each of you can reach with simple modifications to the deck.


    "I want to win"
    "I prefer games with stronger cards"
    "Combo is just part of the game"


    These ones aren't necessarily a failure - these people are discussing and making their own preferences clear. Some groups simply will run at a higher powerlevel because they want to.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Working on Rackdos deck and had a question.
    While I usually don't do Land D recomendations - with Rakdos, it seems pretty straight forward - Can't sac lands if no one has any.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.