A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on Gamble and Shadows of Doubt interaction
    Shadow of Doubt

    Nothing is causing the spell to be countered or removed from the stack here, so when it resolves it will do as much as possible. Since you can't search your library it ignores that part of the instruction and has you discard a card and then shuffle your library. This is how it works in this case.

    Now if the spell had a single target and the target was illegal during resolution, then the spell would be removed from the stack and none of it's effects would happen, but that's not the case in this scenario.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Soulfire removed while Bolt on the stack
    No you won't gain the life. Instant and sorcery spells will only have lifelink while Soulfire GM is on the battlefield. Once it leaves the battlefield it the lightning bolt will no longer have lifelink, so when it deals its damage it won't have lifelink and therefore no life gain. The fact that it had it before doesn't matter, it would be like an attacking creature losing lifelink before it deals damage, same result.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Ilharg, the Raze Boar and Moat
    Moat puts a restriction on what creatures you can declare to attack. However Ilharg, the Raze-Boar's triggered ability puts a creature onto the battlefield already attacking. Since the ball lightning was put onto the battlefield attacking, moat's effect does not apply to that. Moat's effect only applies when creatures are declared as attackers at the very beginning of the declare attackers step, after that it no longer applies if a creature enters attacking later on.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kefnet and miracles
    You are correct, he can not cast it for it's miracle cost. Miracle cost is an alternative casting cost that allows you to cast the card as you draw it if it's the first card drawn that turn. As you stated he's not casting the card he's casting a copy of the card, and the copy was never drawn.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Granting Unblockable to creatures putted into the battlefield by Kaalia of the Vast
    Yes you can do that. For Kaalia's ability it puts the creature onto the battlefield attacking during the declare attackers step. After the ability resolves both players will receive priority to act before it moves to the declare blockers step. So yes you will have priority during that time to activate Rogue's Passage to make the creature brought in with Kaalia unable to be blocked by your opponent.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Sliver Queen: Is Creating Tokens an Effect?
    It's an effect of an activated ability. For activated abilities text before the colon is the cost and the text after the colon is the effect. So for the Sliver Queen's activated ability the effect is creating the 1/1 token.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Karn, Silver Golem + Coat of Arms
    Correct, Karn's effect does not give the artifact's a creature type. So they'd get no bonus from Coat of Arms.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Lion's Eye Diamond + Echo of Eons Vs. Scavenging Ooze
    No, Lion's Eye Diamond is still a mana ability, it just has a special timing restriction. So LED's ability does not use the stack and can not be responded to, when it resolves and adds 3 mana to your mana pool you would receive priority to act again, which time you could cast Echo of Eons (which moves it out of your graveyard).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Settle the wreckage and soul herder
    It sure does. Soulherder doesn't care how the creatures were exiled, nor who controlled them. The soulherder sees 3 creatures being exiled and it's ability will trigger 3 times.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Spike weaver regeneration
    No, once it's last counter has been removed it will be put into the graveyard as a state based action before you even have a chance to activate the hollow. But even if you activated it before you removed the counter it won't save the weaver. A creature with 0 or less toughness is put into the graveyard as a state based action, this is not destruction. Regeneration only replaces destruction.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Stack?
    Quote from stfvfn »
    But wouldn't Send to Sleep be on top of the stack, so it would resolve before Krenko?


    It absolutely would resolve first, but that won't stop Krenko's ability from resolving. Again you can't respond to costs, and tapping Krenko is a cost to activate the ability. For activated abilities everything on the left side of the colon is a cost, everything on the right side is the effect (ability). You can respond to the ability, but not the cost.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Stack?
    Well no, but it doesn't matter. Tapping Krenko is part of the cost to activate his ability. So when he activates it the first time it will be tapped before any player can respond. So when you cast send to sleep, the Krenko would already be tapped (if you have spell mastery it will stay tapped during the next untap step though). So no they can't activate it a second time because they can't pay the cost, but the first time it's activated will cause it to resolve and send to sleep will not interfere with that.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on hidden strings + ink-treader nephilim



    With hidden strings I "may" choose another target, if I don't , the nephilim abblity work in that spell.


    This is incorrect, two targets are needed for Hidden Strings. The "may" refers to whether you'd choose to tap or untap the permanent, not the targeting requirement.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Ohran Viper question
    Just one. Ohran's Viper does not have deathtouch, it has a triggered ability that destroys a creature at the end of combat. Therefore it still has to assign it's 2 damage to the first creature in the damage assigned order instead of dealing 1 each (which deathtouch would allow).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Chaos Frog
    Quote from user_938036 »
    I'm going to assume you mean successful rather than successive. The first flip gives +3/+3, the second +6/+6, the third +12/+12, the fourth +24/+24, the fifth +48/+48. With his power set down to 1/1 rather than the normal 3/3 he will be 94/94. When something "doubles" its power or toughness it literally means "it gets +X/+X where X is its power or toughness" Setting somethings power and toughness doesn't remove additional buffs only the initial value.


    No this is not entirely correct. Flipping the coins and doubling of p/t are separate triggered abilities. Depending on when turn to frog was cast it could affect the p/t doubling effect of the second trigger. So for the first trigger if the player won 5 flips before losing one, each winning flip would trigger the second trigger but that trigger wouldn't go on the stack until the first has completely resolved. If the player cast turn to frog after the flips, but before the doubling triggers resolve then Okaun's p/t would only be 1/1. So the first flip would only give +1/+1, the second would give +2/+2, etc..
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.