2019 Holiday Exchange!
A New and Exciting Beginning
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Ice Cauldron
    Because the first time you cast the spell, it moves from the exile zone to the stack, and then to the graveyard when it resolves... so it's no longer exiled.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on I'm out.
    I don't know if the string of titles I've had under my name for the last 7 years (writer, editor, mod, global mod, and admin) makes me important enough to warrant one of these threads, but I guess I'm making one anyway.

    I stopped playing Magic about 3 and a half years ago, which is well before I left the staff. Last year I sold off all the cards from my collection that were worth anything.

    Since then, I haven't really thought about why it is I continued to come here.

    Some recent events here have caused me to question that, and I believe it's the same reason I quit Magic. There is a part of this community that is so relentlessly negative that I just don't feel like I want to be a part of it anymore.

    I'm still active over on Penny Arcade and boardgamegeek, so anybody that cares to find me over on one of those two sites can probably do so without too much difficulty.
    Posted in: Special Occasions
  • posted a message on .Deck question
    Because the file extension for Apprentice deck files is .dec, and sometimes people referred to their deck by its Apprentice filename.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on non-creature spells with tranform
    I really don't like the idea of there ever being an instruction telling you to put an instant or sorcery onto the battlefield.

    Yes, I know there are rules in place that prevent such a thing from happening, but that doesn't mean cards should be designed that will inevitably butt up against that rule.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Was I in the wrong
    Quote from Sigma-X
    This is a great idea if you live in an area where your tournament is more than 8 people, but the OP specified that it's a very small attendance tournament. There's only so far you can push the ideal.

    Well, wouldn't it be worth trying talking to the store owner? This is not a situation that's going to get better if nobody voices a concern.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Force of Will and Misdirection
    Quote from jake556
    Just for clarification on how this works Force Of Will is cast on whatever target then Misdirection is stacked on top of FOW changing FOW's target to Misdirection then the Misdireciton resolves changing FOW's target then FOW is countered because it doesn't have misdirection around to counter and then the original spell resolves? Just want to get it clear in my mind.

    Yes, that's exactly how it works.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Was I in the wrong
    Quote from Volcanon
    You were totally slow-playing and should have got a match loss. If you can't win, pack it up.

    A match loss is not the appropriate penalty for either slow play or stalling, at any REL.

    Even at Competitive and Professional REL, the penalty for Slow Play should only be a Warning unless the slow play has "significantly altered the result of the match," in which case the next step up would be a game loss.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Was I in the wrong
    Quote from Sigma-X
    Binary that judge is usually running the counter and not watching the tournament. No tournament organizer/head judge for a no-judge event is going to stop working to watch a whole match for slow play.

    Then I would recommend talking to the store owner about finding someone to assist with tournaments who can devote their attention to properly running the tournament.

    If your opponent was asking you to hurry up and play faster throughout the match, then I would definitely say you were in the wrong.

    It's not necessarily slow play just because the opponent thinks it is. I've seen some players get impatient when another player was taking five seconds to make a decision. Hence why I said in my first post that I wasn't going to make a judgment about it one way or the other just based on one side of the story.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Angel's Grace and General Damage in EDH
    I believe this line from the Gatherer rulings covers the issue:

    The last sentence doesn't change how much damage is dealt; it just changes how much life that damage makes you lose.

    You're still taking all the damage; Angel's Grace just modifies the normal consequence of taking that damage (life loss).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Was I in the wrong
    Quote from Tagnol
    now understand we have no judges where we play so we don't have anyone that can observe slowplay,

    If you're playing in a sanctioned tournament, there MUST be a judge on record. The DCI won't allow an event to be reported without a head judge. That person may not necessarily be a DCI certified judge, but there is someone at that tournament whose responsibility it is to deal with situations like this.

    Admittedly at the start of the match I told myself I probably couldn't beat him but if I can mechanically (not playtime wise) draw out a game as long as I can I should, hence me not conceding in game one when it was obvious I lost.

    Refusing to concede a game you can't win is fine, at least as far as the tournament rules are concerned. It's your opponent's responsibility to make sure he can win the game; you're not obligated to help him in that respect. (Strategically it may not be advisable, but that's really not something I'd care to go into.)

    The bigger concern is whether you were taking too long to make decisions during the match (which would constitute slow play), and whether you were doing so deliberately to take time off the clock (which then promotes it to stalling, which is punishable by disqualification). Only having one side of the story, I'm not going to make a judgment on that.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Are players allowed to purposefully extend matches?
    If you are ever in doubt as to whether it is acceptable to call a judge:

    The correct answer is always yes.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Azami's ability
    Because summoning sickness only prevents a creature from attacking or using its activated abilities with the tap or untap symbols in its activation costs. Since Azami's ability is none of those things, summoning sickness does not prevent it from being activated.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Saving Vintage
    Quote from Crusader_ff3
    Don't judges check your deck anyways?

    Yes, but a points system would make deck checks substantially more complicated, thereby making them take longer, thereby meaning that they're more disruptive to the tournament and less of them are going to happen.

    And do people honestly cheat at Magic?

    Yes. Just look at the DCI suspension list.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Null Brooch
    Yes. All "Discard your hand means" is really "Discard every card in your hand zone." If you have no cards in your hand zone, then it's pretty easy to discard all of them. Smile
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on My Retirement
    So I think this is the last of the admin staff from when I was around. Hope everything works out for you.
    Posted in: Community Discussion
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.