A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on My Little Pony silver-bordered crossover set releases Oct 12
    Quote from Marl Karx »


    I don't understand how you control Applejack, Pinkie Pie, etc. Sounds like breakfast cereals and high calorie snack items to me.


    Just in case you're not sure, that's the name of the other main characters of My Little Pony. Unfortunately, that's a broken link, as is the 'Pony' creature type mentioned.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Opportunistic Dragon+Bronze Bombshell
    When a player other than Bronze Bombshell's owner controls it, it doesn't have the ability that triggers from this state.

    While the verbs on Opportunistic Dragon are written as though they are occurrences, in Magic, change of control, and loss of abilities, are effects that exist statically. There is an effect that is making Bronze Bombshell controlled by you, and an effect that is ridding Bronze Bombshell of its abilities, and they are created during the resolution of the Dragon's ability. Since the multiple effects (including the combat restrictions) are conjoined with 'and', these are simultaneous.



    Sorry, but this is totally wrong.

    608.2c. The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in the order written. However, replacement effects may modify these actions. In some cases, later text on the card may modify the meaning of earlier text (for example, "Destroy target creature. It can't be regenerated" or "Counter target spell. If that spell is countered this way, put it on top of its owner's library instead of into its owner's graveyard.") Don't just apply effects step by step without thinking in these cases--read the whole text and apply the rules of English to the text.

    You gain control of the Bombshell (triggering it), THEN it loses abilities. So the Dragon's new toy is about to explode.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Opportunistic Dragon+Bronze Bombshell
    Right. You get control, and only then does it lose its abilities. It triggers the moment the control-change happens. The trigger goes on the stack after the Dragon's ETB is done, and... the Dragon's new shiny is about to explode.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Adventure and Rebound
    Also note that you can use Rebound - then cast the Adventure part (for free) from the rebound trigger - THEN it'll sit in exile and wait for you to cast the creature later :p
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on [ELD] Castle Locthwain (stopgame.ru spoiler)
    .... why aren't these legendary?
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on K'rrik and Extort
    Quote from peteroupc »
    "For each black mana in a cost" isn't necessarily looking for a symbol, even. It's looking for a cost. Symbols and costs have a close relationship, but they're still different. ' black mana ' expresses the irreducible requirement of one mana of type black, in addition to literally being "the black mana symbol".
    I see. In this respect, K'rrik's second ability is thus similar to—
    • delve (C.R. 702.65a, "For each generic mana in this spell's total cost..."),
    • improvise (C.R. 702.125a, "For each generic mana in this spell's total cost..."), and
    • convoke (C.R. 702.50a, "For each colored mana in this spell's total cost..." and "For each generic mana in this spell's total cost...").
    See also C.R. 107.4a.


    So - you can cast Dismember through Trinisphere by calling the (B/P) symbol symbols as B, then using K'rrik's payment mechanic to change it back to 1 mana and 4 life (or 1B + 2 life) :p
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on [ELD] Planeswalker deck cards (Rowan)
    Quote from The_FPS »
    Quote from Minoke »
    I call fake. The set number's wrong. It should say 304/(numbers of cards in set) - and just says 304, with a large blank where the total set count is - then the rarity.

    There's be no reason why that's blank - and since they have not announced the total set size - I call fake.


    I remember an announcement stating they would no longer list total cards in a set for cards not included in booster packs. Im at work otherwise I'd try to look it up. I don't think anyone would take t he time to fake a planeswalker deck planeswalker. Most people don't care about them and wouldn't even look at the fakers hard work, lol.


    Got a link? Would love to see it.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [ELD] Planeswalker deck cards (Rowan)
    I call fake. The set number's wrong. It should say 304/(numbers of cards in set) - and just says 304, with a large blank where the total set count is - then the rarity.

    There's be no reason why that's blank - and since they have not announced the total set size - I call fake.


    My bad.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Major changes to Magic announced at SDCC? (New booster variants and premium styles)
    The end of paper Magic tournaments is nigh. All the "pro" events and qualifiers will be through Arena starting in 2020. Profit margins are higher, and there's no need for judges or TOs, or to scrounge enough physical product on hand to supply players and have prize support.

    I would also not be surprised if the announcement stated that "Throne of Eldraine" will be the last paper Magic product.


    We'll going to make our own magic then, with blackjack and hookers


    ... in fact, forget the Magic!

    Anyway, I'm very excited to see what the future is going to be. My money is on Frontier being realized - though, perhaps starting at Origins and not KTK (so there's no fetches in the format).
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Splice and storm
    Right. Just like copying a Converge spell will not be very helpful for no mana was spent on the copy thus it'll use 0 for that. (peteuropc is batting .000 in this thread anyway)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Splice and storm
    Just know that everything in this thread is wrong.

    When you copy a spell, you copy the choices made when casting it including if you used splice or overload. (706.10)

    So if you copy an Overloaded spell, the fact that you used Overload is copied and the spell is changed.

    And if you copy a Spliced spell, the fact that you paid Splice costs are noted and you have the appended text.

    Quotes from the Rules Manager on both cases. https://twitter.com/EliShffrn/status/1144607536210796544
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Splice and storm
    I just asked him again and he says that that's not how it works.

    https://twitter.com/EliShffrn/status/1144298755144859648

    The spliced text is apparently copied due to the 'choices made when casting a spell' rule.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Core 2020 Name and Number Crunch
    M19 had 16 mythics because Bolas was on his own sheet due to being the only DFC in the set. M20 doesn't have a DFC sheet so it should have the usual 15 mythics.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Embodiment of Agonies (Amaz Preview)
    708.4b. The mana cost of a split card is the combined mana costs of its two halves. A split card's colors and converted mana cost are determined from its combined mana cost.

    Example: Assault/Battery's mana cost is {3}{R}{G}. It's a red and green card with a converted mana cost of 5. If you cast Assault, the resulting spell is a red spell with a converted mana cost of 1.

    Right from the rulebook - so Embodiment will see a split with a mana cost combined.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Core 2020 Three Chandras
    Quote from Nasamonkey »
    Quote from Flamebuster »


    Acolyte of Flame's 0 ability is quite good. ALL red planeswalkers? Roight-o!



    'buster


    Sarkhan the Masterless can conveniently turn all non red Planeswalkers red with his +1....


    He also rather INconveniently makes them all not planeswalkers anymore. So Chandra Acolyte's first 0 will not add loyalty to anyone, not even herself, after Sarkhan uses his ability to turn all walkers into creatures.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.