A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on Populate + Promise of Power
    Because Promise of Power dictates how big the demon is, there is no rules text on the created token. So if you discard your whole hand later, the demon is still however big it was when you made it.

    Because of this, the populated token gets to copy the token as is - it only sees an X/X Demon token, and has no clue how it came to be. So even if you have 0 cards in hand as you populate, you still get an exact copy of the Promised Demon.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Another Muraganda Petroglyphs question
    I think Segoth is trying to say Glyphs still apply. This is wrong for the reasons nukeman has stated.

    Segoth is right about Brave the Elements, though. These are different cases, however. Glyphs applies a continuing effect, that will only apply as long as the conditions are met. Brave only checks conditions on resolution; if the creatures change so that the conditions are no longer met later on in the turn, Brave does not care, as it has already applied its effect.

    To be clear, Glyphs cares about what your creature is as long as it is on the field. If, at any point, your creature gains an ability, or Glyphs is removed from the field, its effect will no longer apply to that creature/those creatures.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on [[BaseSpec]] 2 instances of evolve on one card
    The problem is, Evolve works up to a cap. There's a point at which you just don't have any more creatures with greater P/T to trigger Evolve. Doubling the rate at which Evolve creatures grow wouldn't really gain much. If your new creature has only 1 P/T greater, it'll still only resolve one instance of Evolve. Your creature will only grow by leaps and bounds if you keep putting fatties on the table, and if you're doing that then what's the point of a dork that gets +2/+2 for each new threat you play?

    It's true this is a keyword that could be stacked, but I just don't think there's any reason to.
    Posted in: Baseless Speculation
  • posted a message on Simic Fluxmage and Evolve triggering
    Hey. So Evolve is the new Simic keyword, and the example card we have is Simic Fluxmage. So, assume you have a Fluxmage with one +1/+1 counter on it, and then you cast a Slippery Bogle. My question is, does Evolve trigger regardless of whether the card has a higher P/T than Fluxmage or not? (Does it only check this condition on resolution?) If this is the case, in response to Evolve triggering, can you activate Fluxmage's ability, moving its counter onto the Bogle and thus ensuring it will have a higher power than the Fluxmage by the resolution of Evolve?

    Or, much less interestingly, does Evolve only initially trigger if the new creature has a higher power or toughness?
    Posted in: Rumored Card Rulings
  • posted a message on [RTR] Epic Experiment
    Quote from Mshnik
    hoooo-ly.... wow. That's something... It's like genesis wave for instants/soceries. I notice that the casted instants and sorceries end up in your exile, which is an obvious nod towards trying not to break this with Past in Flames, but the thing is that the card itself doesn't. So you can still flash it back. This seems horrific. I LOVE IT. Must test in storm... If you can use this on your combo turn, you really should hit rituals, which being cast for free will almost certainly give you your mana back. Man, my mind is reeling...


    Unless I'm very much mistaken, everything ends up in your graveyard. On the resolution of a spell (or it being countered), unless it or another effect in play makes it go somewhere else, the spell goes to the graveyard. I'll ask for some rules quotes here, but I think the free-cast spells get sent to the grave.
    Posted in: New Card Discussion
  • posted a message on New player reacts to shocklands!
    Quote from Xover
    Only reason I understood the value of shocklands is when I saw the birth of Modern, and then saw that they can be fetched because they are basic lands. That to me just blew my mind.


    Just wanted to clarify something here; shocklands are NOT actually basic lands. They share basic land TYPES (forest, mountain, etc.) and are thus fetchable by cards that search for basic land types (Perilous Forays) but not by anything that searches for a basic land specifically (Terramorphic Expanse). Still nuts-good cards, but that misconception is an important one to clarify.
    Posted in: New Card Discussion
  • posted a message on Silhana Ledgewalker
    The PC2 Aura deck had Ledgewalker with updated rules text.
    Posted in: Speculation
  • posted a message on Phyrexian Vault
    Nope, you cannot do that. I don't know the exact phrasing for state-based action rules, but basically after any resolution, the game checks for odds and ends (loose auras, creatures with 0 toughness or lethal damage) before anyone gains priority, and you cannot do anything until you get priority, by which time your creature is in the graveyard.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Bloodflow Connoisseur Question
    Yes, it may do so. Creatures such as Grimgrin, Corpse-Born specify that you cannot use the card itself for the cost.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Essence of the Wild and Feed the Pack
    Yes, they are still tokens. It's impossible for a token to become a "card," which is the only other permanent type I know of. So in short, you cannot sac the tokens from Feed the Pack to itself, regardless of what they become copies of.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on [SCD] Deadeye Navigator
    Not as ridiculous as many of the combos people have mentioned, but with Riku of Two Reflections he basically reads "1UUG: Copy soulbonded creature, trigger EtB's twice."

    This is definitely going in.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on There are TWO planeswlakers in AVR
    Mikaeus! Making a card-appearance in every set for the block! Grin

    Seriously though apparently there's some sort of female moonfolk art floating around that could be a 'walker (as a random moonfolk in Innistrad would be beyond MaRo-levels of silliness).

    My money's on Dack as the other.
    Posted in: New Card Discussion
  • posted a message on O-Ring/Journey Commander
    The owner of that Commander gets to choose. When a Commander would leave the battlefield for the Graveyard or Exile (or Library for some playgroups) the owner of that Commander gets to choose whether to replace that movement with a movement to the Command Zone.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on why did white get a curse at all?
    @GigaGuess:
    The whole point is that Curses AS A MECHANIC belonged (in design to each color but white, but now) just to RUB. The fact that now there's a white card in that MECHANIC shows that the "holiest" of Innistrad are being forced to play by the rules of the monsters in order to survive.

    Yes, the actual ability is definitely a white one, but the main point of this card (that a lot of you are missing) is that this is a white curse. The ability could've really been any white control ability; as long as it read "Curse" and had W in its cost, the design team is getting across their message.
    Posted in: New Card Discussion
  • posted a message on why did white get a curse at all?
    Quote from kfcdoubledown
    One problem with that... Krosan Grip


    Uhh, no. Erayo counters it. (There's no ability being activated. Casting Split Second spells can still trigger abilities.)


    Back on topic, yeah the whole point of this card is that even White has to resort to more ...unseemly... means of surviving in this darkening landscape which is Innistrad.
    Posted in: New Card Discussion
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.