All users will need to merge their MTGSalvation account with a new or existing Twitch account starting Sept 25th. You can merge your accounts by clicking here. Have questions? Learn more here.
Dismiss
 
Life's Legacy: Delving into Delver
 
All Sets Are Good: Prophecy
 
The Magic Market Index for Feb 9, 2018
  • posted a message on ‘Returns under your control’ happens simultaneously
    When multiple triggers need to go on the stack, the active player puts their triggers on the stack first, followed by the nonactive player's triggers, and the nonactive player's triggers will resolve first. If it's your turn, that means your Stamina trigger goes on the stack first, followed by their Pact trigger, and the Pact trigger will resolve first and they'll get the creature (and your trigger does nothing). If it's their turn, then it's the opposite: your trigger goes on the stack last and resolves first, so you'll get the creature.

    In short, the player whose turn it isn't will get the creature.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Krark-Clan Ironworks Multiple activations
    Quote from Zauzich »
    So when Myr Retreaver is sacrificed it is(?) possible to use Ironworks to then also sack Trawler before the triggers from sacking Retrever are placed on the stack? Then all triggers go on the stack at once with both creatures in graveyard available as targets?

    And this is possible because it's manna ability, where as Viscera Seer would not allow this?


    It is only possible if you're sacrificing the artifacts during the announcement of a spell (when you're able to activate mana abilities), since you'll get a chance to sacrifice both artifacts before putting their triggers on the stack. Otherwise, after you activate the Ironworks' ability the first time, before you get priority to activate the Ironwork's ability again, you have to put the trigger from the Retriever on the stack, meaning you don't get a chance to sacrifice the Trawler before putting the Retriever's trigger on the stack.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Atog Fling
    No, that does not work. The mana pool empties at the end of each step and phase. If you want the Atog to deal extra damage in combat, then you need to sacrifice the artifacts during the declare blockers step at the latest. But the mana pool empties when the declare blockers step ends, so you won't be able to use the mana to cast Fling after combat damage is dealt.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Stacking Jhoira and board wipe
    The cards exiled by Jhoria's ability will still be suspended and time counters will be removed like normal, even if Jhoria leaves the battlefield.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Hostage Taker - Where does the creature return to?
    It returns under its owner's control.

    610.3. Some one-shot effects cause an object to change zones “until” a specified event occurs. A second one-shot effect is created immediately after the specified event. This second one-shot effect returns the object to its previous zone.

    610.3b An object returned to the battlefield this way returns under its owner’s control unless otherwise specified.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Artifact become 5/5 Artifact creature by Tezzeret, coping it later will result in 5/5 artifact creature or just the artifact?
    When you copy a card, you copy the card as printed (and as modified by other copy effects). You won't copy the animation effect from Tezzeret, so the Metamorph will not be a 5/5, it will be a copy of the artifact as printed.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Phasing and Balance
    A permanent that's phased out is treated as though it doesn't exist (except for effects that look for phased out permanents). If you cast the Protection, then Balance, you don't control any lands or creatures, so everyone else would have to sacrifice all of their lands and creatures. You cannot sacrifice something that's phased out.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on trinisphere vs goblin electromancer
    When determining the cost of a spell, you start with the mana cost (or alternate cost), plus additional costs. Then you apply any cost increasers, then you apply any cost decreasers. Finally, you apply any effect that affects the total cost. The Electromancer is a cost reducer, while Trinisphere affects the total cost, so you always apply Trinisphere last. If you wanted to cast the Ritual, it would cost 2R to cast (start with the mana cost of 1R, apply the cost reducer reducing it to R, then you apply Trinisphere since it affects the total cost, making the cost 2R).

    601.2f The player determines the total cost of the spell. Usually this is just the mana cost. Some spells have additional or alternative costs. Some effects may increase or reduce the cost to pay, or may provide other alternative costs. Costs may include paying mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards, and so on. The total cost is the mana cost or alternative cost (as determined in rule 601.2b), plus all additional costs and cost increases, and minus all cost reductions. If multiple cost reductions apply, the player may apply them in any order. If the mana component of the total cost is reduced to nothing by cost reduction effects, it is considered to be {0}. It can’t be reduced to less than {0}. Once the total cost is determined, any effects that directly affect the total cost are applied. Then the resulting total cost becomes “locked in.” If effects would change the total cost after this time, they have no effect.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Silly first strike gang blocking question.
    During the first strike combat damage step, Thalia assigns its 2 damage to Thrun. During the normal combat damage step, Containment Priest assigns 2 more damage to Thrun, and Thrun assigns its 4 damage to the creatures blocking it (for instance, two damage to each creature). Thalia and the Priest would die, and Thrun would also die unless they regenerated Thrun.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Ob Nixilis Unshackled, Mana Severance, and other abilities that allow you to pull multiple cards from one search
    You count the number of times the word "search" appears, not how many things you're searching for. No matter how many cards you exile to the Severance, it's only one search, so Ob Nixilis will only trigger one time, whether you're exiling 1 card or 20 cards. Same with Collective Voyage and Cultivate. It's still just one search, even if you're searching for two or more cards.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Missed energy counters at Competitive REL
    You are never responsible for remembering your opponent's triggers. If you play Aether Meltdown, I have no obligation to remind you of the enter the battlefield trigger - it's your card, so you need to remember the trigger. If a trigger is missed, at Competitive REL, the responding judge will ask your opponent if they want the trigger go on the stack or not (and if the answer is no, you don't get the trigger). You just need to acknowledge the trigger - whether that's by saying something, or moving your energy counter upwards, or something along those lines.

    However, both players are responsible for resolving spells correctly. That means if they notice that you didn't gain 2 energy from the resolving Glimmer, they have to point it out - they cannot stay silent. If it's discovered that the energy was missed, the judge will either back up to the point of the error (ie back up to the point of the Glimmer resolving so you gain the energy), or leave the game state as it is. The more that's happened since the Glimmer resolves, the less likely a backup will be.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Spell shrivel Confusion
    When Spell Shrivel resolves, the controller of the spell can pay 4. If they do, nothing else happens and the Shrivel goes to the graveyard. If they don't pay 4, then the spell is countered, and instead of going to the graveyard, that spell is exiled instead. In short: either they pay 4, or their spell is exiled.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Gutter Grime
    They get two 2/2s. The tokens have a power and toughness equal to the number of slime counters on Gutter Grime. It's not set when the token enters the battlefield. Since two nontoken creatures died, the Grime trigger twice. The first trigger will make a token, and it will be a 1/1 for now. Then the second trigger resolves, and they get a second token, and both tokens are 2/2.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Stonehorn Dignitary vs. Path question and more
    1. Once an ability is on the stack, it exists independent of the source that made it. Removing the Dignitary from the battlefield won't stop the trigger from resolving, so Player B will still skip their next combat phase.

    2. The Dignitary that's on the battlefield now is a different permanent than the one the Path is targeting, so Path will end up countered and the Dignitary will not be exiled. Since it entered the battlefield again, its ability would trigger, and if both target the same opponent, they'll skip their next two combat phases.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Dragon Egg vs Anger of the Gods
    No you will not. To die, it has to go to the graveyard from the battlefield. The Anger replaces going to the graveyard with being exiled instead, so the creature will not die. Since the Egg will not die, its ability will not trigger and you will not get a token.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.