2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on [WWK] Celestial Colonnade (Buy-a-Box promo)
    Quote from sdefreit
    Cards like bloodbraid, bit blast, and broodmate can create multiple threats with one card. In order to win with this land you need to reach a pretty deep end game to be able to activate it and swing enough time to get to lethal.

    Giving a cascade player more time is going to give them more time to play a multi threat bomb.


    Okay, you have Broodmate Dragon, Bloodbraid Elf, Putrid Leech, and Sprouting Thrinax on the battlefield. You attack.

    I cast Fog.

    My turn? Okay, good.

    I draw two more Fog spells, a Negate, another Howling Mine, and a Flashfreeze.

    Have fun.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [WWK] Celestial Colonnade (Buy-a-Box promo)
    Quote from sdefreit
    Its like someone stealing 20 bucks from you but its ok cause you found a 5 on the ground.


    I think you're oh-so-conveniently forgetting about the free timeshare (in the form of a 4/4 vigilant flier) that that $5 bill is attached to.

    You seem to be viewing this card as a bad dual with a hefty animation cost, but what it is really is a Serra Angel immune to Wrath effects that can help you pump out another Fog spell or counter.

    Control decks like Jacerator can afford to pay the five mana every turn later in the game, which is why it makes a great finisher.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Lava Spike + Izzet Guildmage + Desperate Ritual
    You could also cast the Desperate Ritual still in hand to pay for the Guildmage's ability, yes?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on About tokens and graveyards
    1. When tokens die, they are put into the graveyard, then cease to exist when State-Based Actions are checked and the game sees that tokens exist in a zone other than the battlefield.

    110.5e A token that's phased out, or that's in a zone other than the battlefield, ceases to exist. This is a state-based action; see rule 704. (Note that if a token changes zones, applicable triggered abilities will trigger before the token ceases to exist.)


    2. The Unearth ability generates a replacement effect that states "If this would leave the battlefield, it is exiled instead." Therefore, it never goes to the graveyard.

    702.81a Unearth is an activated ability that functions while the card is in a graveyard. "Unearth [cost]" means "[Cost]: Return this card from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains haste. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step. If it would leave the battlefield, exile it instead of putting it anywhere else. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery."
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Question about Lotus Vale
    Nope. It specifically says "Add three mana of any one color to your mana pool."

    If it read "Add three mana in any combination of colors to your mana pool," this would be different.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Captain Sisay and Planeswalkers
    Planeswalkers don't have the Legendary supertype, so no.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on What did Lorthos, the Tidemaker change?
    I never really paid attention to Wizards' discussion about the development of Mentos, the Freshmaker or his alleged association with Magosi, but I'm assuming that they gave him his "eight" theme just for laughs.
    Posted in: Speculation
  • posted a message on Vinelasher Kudzu and Tarmogoyf in [WWK] or [ROE]
    Quote from Coldlogik
    But if you hit Kudzu turn 2 and play 3 fetches to turn 5 you already have a bigger creature. Turn 3 you have a 3/3 turn 4 a 5/5 etc. and thats not even counting if you go elves turn 1 and play kudzu turn 2 then play a fetch and you have a 3/3 turn 2 that says kill me fast or die. I could see them printing him here. Also dont forget the shenanegins you could pull off with him and Knight of the Reliquary.


    That's a very big "if." Try playtesting a deck a few times with Vinelasher Kudzu, and let me know how many attempts it takes for you to drop the Kudzu on second turn, followed by three consecutive fetchlands.

    True, if you're lucky with the land drops he'll say "kill me fast or die," but if you get the Kudzu at any time other than in the early game, all he says is "Have fun top-decking me with no more lands to play! I'm a 1/1 for the rest of the game, baby!"

    EDIT: Also, while it does display some synergy with Crop Rotation on a Stick due to its pseudo-landfall ability, that's not a very rapid boost. Furthermore, it all ends as soon as either one of them dies.
    Posted in: Speculation
  • posted a message on Vinelasher Kudzu and Tarmogoyf in [WWK] or [ROE]
    I don't recall anyone from Wizards ever saying that the Lhurgoyfs originated on Zendikar. But then again, I never really looked into it.

    However, I'm fairly certain that Wizards DID say that they would never, ever reprint Tarmogoyf. It's simply too good.

    Also, while it would make sense mechanically, it's doubtful that Vinelasher Kudzu would be reprinted in this block, seeing as how Zendikar already introduced a better version.
    Posted in: Speculation
  • posted a message on [WWK] Celestial Colonnade (Buy-a-Box promo)
    Quote from CXA26483
    Still can't find that card... something like +2/+2 to lands you control as long as they are also creatures...


    Are you thinking of Earth Surge? If so, you might want to check Guildpact instead of Time Spiral.

    On topic: Despite the fairly hefty activation cost, this card looks really appealing. As is true with a lot of underrated cards (not to say that this card is underrated), players will find or invent an appropriate deck for it soon enough. (Heck, even Magosi, the Waterfail isn't half bad in Turbo Fog.)
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.