If a spell or abilit mentions a permanent type or subtype without specifying spell or card it only refers to cards that are currently on the battlefield.
In the example you have given the hypersonic dragon will not be on the battlefield when the ability triggerd by the hellkite resolves so it will not be counted.
- Registered User
Member for 12 years, 3 months, and 10 days
Last active Thu, Dec, 2 2021 14:58:04
- 0 Followers
- 11,677 Total Posts
- 571 Thanks
May 25, 2019Posted in: Magic Rulings
No it does not. Oath of Kaya deals damage to creatures/planeswalkers. So the target is only killed when SBA are checked which never happens whilst a spell or ability is in the process of resolving. So Tibalt's ability is still active when the oath attempts to gain you life.
Nov 25, 2018If there are multiple replacement effects to apply to a single event, the controller of the affected object chooses the order they apply in.Posted in: Magic Rulings
So if you want to keep the creature apply wheel of sun and moon first and as a creature is no longer going to the graveyard rest in peace will have nothing to apply to.
Feb 24, 2018If any of the beacons resolve they are shuffled back into its owners library as part of the resolution of the spell and will not go any where near your graveyard.Posted in: Magic Rulings
It is only going to be in your graveyard after being cast if your opponent counters it.
Jun 20, 2017Posted in: Magic Rulings
Aid from the cowl has a triggered ability. These are always cumulative so for each aid you control will trigger at the beginning of your end step if you had a creature leave the battlefield that turn.
Jun 16, 2017Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from scottjhebert »Quote from Spaz350 »
I've been around Magic Spoilers since Masques Block, but for the life of me I can't remember a precedent for something like this. We've had plenty of leaks of the next set to be released, like the NPH Godbook incident, but have we ever had leaks from a future set farther down the road like this? Leaks from two sets away?
I believe we got the Timeshifted spoiler for Time Spiral almost a year ahead of Time Spiral's release. We didn't know what it was, but we knew that they were not a normal rarity and that they were reprints. So.... there is at least one precedent.
IIRC this was the Rancorred_elf incident. And the result was they sued the pants off him. Exact details are unknown as everyone involved had to sign an NDA.
Jun 16, 2017Posted in: Magic RulingsQuote from Harkainos »
1. If the Archon is exiled due to Brago, then returns, are the 2 detained creatures still detained?
Yes the creatures are still detained. Once the ability has gone on the stack it is completely independant of its source. IF your opponent wants to attack with the creature they need to stifle the ability.
2. Can Player 1 exile Gift and bring it back?
Yes it is a non-land permanent so you can exile it with Brago
3. If yes, can Gift be placed on creature exiled and returned at the same time?
No, they come back at the same time and you can only enchant a creature that is already on the battlefield.
Yep, as long as your opponent casts gather specimens before the triggered ability resolves they will get any creatures you bounce out with Brago.
4. Can player 2 cast Gather after creatures have been exiled to 'snipe' them as they return?
Jun 16, 2017Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from Yonekura »
If it was just found in the dumpster by an non-employee, I am not going to have much pity for wizards. I find the idea semi-humorous, but unlikely.
Ethically challenged employee more likely.
The only problem is identifying which Ethically Challenged employee out of hundreds, if not thousands of employees. With out the co-operation of the individual that they know about they aren't going to be able going to be able to narrow it down with out a lot more data points, which is a lot more sheets stolen and released.
This is why I would be really surprised if the first action WOTC goes to is to bring down the full weight of Federal law if applicable on the person who posted it. If they do not co-operate at the minimum they are going to be suspended from the DCI for life, and if it is in a juristiction that can be reached by WOTC they are going to be hit by a very large civil law suit probably with the understanding that they are going to have criminal charges following up if they don't co-operate.
Jun 16, 2017Posted in: The Rumor Mill
Both Theft and Industrial Sabotage are pretty damn easy to get criminal convictions in when there is abundance of evidence. The thief even made the bright decision to post the proof on the internet for all to see.
Only if we disbelieve the story that the person who posted the sheet purchased it from someone else and then put it on line for all to see. Otherwise all WOTC have is details of where and when it was printed. And with out the co-operation of the individual who posted it that is all they are going to have. Meaning that unless they are willing to transport there printing away from the facility or get the printing company to disipline an entire shift of people who might not have been working when the sheet actually left the facility there is still a gaping hole in their supply chain waiting for something else to drop out of and for someone else to get hold of and be put online. A hole WOTC will still no nothing about
They guy, when caught (and he will get caught, the genius posted the leaks to both Imgur and Reddit), will be facing down a very hard sentence. The average jail time in the US for theft is 10 years, industrial sabotage 20. The guy could be facing down 30 years of jail time for 15 minutes of internet fame. He is Fubar'ed, he just doesn't know it yet.
Stop dealing in absolutes when you can't know what WOTC is planning or if you do stop releasing information that should not be released into the wild. The bottom line is none of us know what is going to happen and whilst a heavy sentance is possible, going off history and how WOTC have acted in similar matters in the past, namely the New Phyrexia leak and Rancorred elf, it is far more likely that WOTC is going to attempt to take this through the civil courts first with the hope of co-operation and a very tight NDA so they can close the hole, with criminal charges being the last resort.
Jun 16, 2017Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from Goryo »It says "Destroy." Would the Creative Team kill off Nissa? We've visited Zendikar and Kaladesh so far, and we have a new G-R female Planeswalker, so I was thinking they could afford to kill off both Nissa and Chandra. Granted that would be very, very bold of them, but I'm not sure it's impossible.
Don't tie rules text to flavor. Whilst it is possible that Nissa and any of the other Gatewatch members could die that is more likely to be revealled in one of the storyline columns than that a random card that that is sent out as a preview.
Jun 16, 2017Posted in: The Rumor Mill
I think a harsh sentence is a much more effective deterrent for theft and industrial sabotage than a slap on the wrist. I would think most companies would agree.
Possibly. But far more useful/important at the moment is plugging the gaping hole that is in WOTC's supply chain.
We can all agree that this is embarassing/worrying for WOTC as this is the second time in a couple of months that a full sheet of foils has been released into the wild. They are very likely to be far more likely to want to get that hole plugged so nothing more falls out early than taking punative action on the individual that put this sheet up on the net. If this individual does not co-operate yeah I could see them attempting to throw the book at them but they are most likely to employ some form of carrot first.
Jun 16, 2017Posted in: The Rumor Mill
It is theft and arguably industrial sabotage. The person, when caught will go to not just jail, but actual prison.
If WOTC can convince some one in a Federal court that it is worth taking on manybe, Again this is also presuming that they don't take jail time/prosecution off the table as an inducement to get who ever stole it/released it to get them help plug the gaping holes in the supply chain this sheet fell out of.
Jun 16, 2017Posted in: The Rumor Mill
I would be surprised if some one is jailed for this. Though as it is bigger than Rancorred Elf getting sent the playtest stickers for the Time spiral Timeshifted cards, if this person is in a jursiction that WOTC can reach they are going to get sued from here to hell and back again.
About the only way that they could avoid bankruptcy would be to be very specific about how they got hold of this sheet of foils and if they are the same person responsible for leaking the last page of foils how they got that one.
WOTC are not going to be happy that they have massive holes somewhere in their supply chain.
Jun 8, 2017Posted in: Community DiscussionQuote from robnixilis »Yesterday I attempted to post a speculative thread regarding the storyline of Magic the Gathering and certain occult and or conspiracy theory tie-ins. The post was instantly marked as spam. Does anyone know if there is another forum somewhere (on this site or elsewhere) where people who are knowledgeable about Magic are able to write truly whatever they want? I don't like being censored and I'd like to have an open discussion about some of the ongoing symbolism I see in the game.
Yeah, this one. You weren't censored.
This forum has an automatic spam detector and unfortunately it somes sees genuine posts as being spam and shoves them off into the ether.
In your case we get a lot of random posts cropping up directing people to assorted 'black magic' sites and services for assorted gains and that might have caused the filter to flag your post as spam. If you politely ask a global mod/ admin might be able to find your post and release it from the filter.
Jun 8, 2017Posted in: Magic RulingsQuote from Maelstrom »Hi
Yesterday we encountered something in my EDH playgroup that we haven't really thought about before.
1. I had Mystic Remora on the battlefield and another player played Timetwister. What happens? Mystic Remora says "succesfully cast" which means Timetwister would have to resolve before the trigger thus giving me the card (if the opponent doesn't pay 4) after the wheel effect. Or how does it work?
Successfully cast doea not mean resolve. It just means you go through the process of casting the spell. This has been clarified in the updated wording for the Remora.
Whenever an opponent casts a noncreature spell, you may draw a card unless that player pays 4.
He has already cast his one spell in Jace the game is going to stop him from even starting the process of casting a new spell.
3. An opponent had Ethersworn Canonist on the battlefield. Another opponent attack with Yidris, Maelstrom Wielder. He now casts Skyshroud Claim cascading into Cyclonic Rift. Is he allowed to choose which one he would like to resolve and thus making the other one fizzle?
I hope someone can and will answer this. Thanks in advance.
EDIT: And I dont know what happened with the title.
Again he has cast his one spell, the game won't let him cast cyclonic rift, it will be randomised with the rest of the cards that were revealed and go on the bottom of his library.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.