2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Scourge of Valkas triggers
    You're correct about that part. The dragon that enters is the one actually dealing the damage. It can still trigger more than one Scourge when it enters, and it still counts the total number of dragons you control as the trigger resolves to determine how much damage to deal.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Eldrazi Displacer – you can’t process the exiled card in the middle of the resolving ability.
    As the Rules Tips Blog editor, I can confirm that the article is to cover the common case of trying to use an activated ability to process a card in exile in the middle of Displacer's ability resolving. It is not intended to cover every possible corner case (which this definitely is), and isn't meant to be a definitive statement that something can never happen.

    Players will often ask, "Can I {eldrazi processor activated ability} that card before it comes back?" and that's what this blog post is meant to address.

    As already noted, yes, the replacement effect of Ulamog's Despoiler could process the Banisher Priest as it enters immediately after Banisher Priest is exiled, before it would be returned by the Displacer's ability.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Priority and the Stack
    1. Technically, that's possible to hold priority and add 4 instants to the stack. But the Magic Tournament Rules define a shortcut that says if they do this without being explicit about retaining priority, they are actually saying "Cast Lightning Bolt, it resolves; Cast another Lightning Bolt, it resolves; etc." In that case, you are allowed to interrupt the shortcut at any point you wish to respond.

    If they are explicit about putting all 4 on the stack at once, you still get a chance to respond before any of those spells resolve, or between any of the spells resolutions, since they resolve one at a time.

    2. When you cast Mana Leak, you automatically pass priority unless you say you're holding it (due again to the MTR shortcuts). Then when the opponent passes back, Mana Leak resolves. Then the active player gets priority (after any object resolves, the active player gets priority).

    3. Yes you can, as described in 1. above, but there is virtually no strategic advantage in doing so. Knowing you have a second Mana Leak means the opponent will not bother paying for either one.

    4. See 2. above. Active player gets priority after anything resolves. The player who added an object to the stack gets priority after adding something to the stack, but defaults to immediately passing priority after that unless they say otherwise. Both players have to pass priority without doing anything for the top object on the stack to resolve, so you'll get a chance to cast another Mana Leak before the Bolt resolves.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Petrified Wood-Kin
    There are several Comp Rules entries that (currently) only apply to one card, and several that originally only referred to one card but later became relevant for other cards, but there always needs to be a definition for them to work.

    Can't really speculate on Rules templating here. You can discuss in the Rules Theory and Templating forum on WotC's website if you like.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Infinite storm combo with cloudstone curio?
    Yes, alternately bouncing two Burning-Tree Emissary with Cloudstone Curio lets you cast them an arbitrarily large number of times.

    Counterspell can only counter one spell, so the storm trigger still creates 10 copies of Grapeshot that will resolve normally.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Petrified Wood-Kin
    This is clearly defined in the rules for Bloodthirst. Reminder text is never functional.

    Quote from Comprehensive Rules »
    702.53b “Bloodthirst X” is a special form of bloodthirst. “Bloodthirst X” means “This permanent enters the battlefield with X +1/+1 counters on it, where X is the total damage your opponents have been dealt this turn.”

    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Artifact infinite turns combo question
    This isn't the forum for strategy advice. Please ask in the Magic General forum or something more specific depending on what format you're trying to work with. http://www.mtgsalvation.com/forums/magic-fundamentals/magic-general
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Is playing spells with 0 mana cost considered a spell?
    Yes, anything you cast is a spell. Casting Memnite costs 0 mana, but is still a spell and will trigger Riddlesmith like any other artifact spell. The only things you can play without casting are lands. So playing a Darksteel Citadel won't trigger Riddlesmith.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Hive Mind Question
    You are correct, that is all very legal. Hive Mind lets you copy the spell and choose new targets, then that copy will be on the stack for you to respond. You can respond by killing the target to counter your copy of Slaughter Pact.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Perilous vault / banishing light
    The card exiled by Banishing Light can't return until Banishing Light leaves the battlefield, which doesn't happen until Perilous Vault's ability resolves. The set of objects exiled by that ability is locked in as it starts to resolve, and immediately afterward, the exiled card from BLight comes back.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Absurd board situation and what exactly would happen?
    There are several dependencies here in Layer 4 which cause some dependency loops, so we would need to know the timestamps of each object to figure out what anything is. That said, questions like this aren't generally helpful for anyone, since they are always just a hypothetical brain teaser sort of question with no real-life application. Also, I think a very similar question has been posed on the internet before, so you can search for this string of keywords (card names) in Google to find it.

    Blood Moon is dependent on Life and Limb making Saprolings into nonbasic Forests. Life and Limb is dependent on Xenograft making creatures into Saprolings. Xenograft is dependent on March of the Machines making noncreature artifacts into creatures. Xenograft is also dependent on Life and Limb making Forests into Saproling creatures. MotM is dependent on Mycosynth Lattice making everything into an artifact. MotM is also dependent on Life and Limb making Forests into Saproling creatures. So if there is a Forest anywhere, there's a dependency loop.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on LED
    Yes, you will have no cards in hand when you get 3 mana. However, you are able to activate the LED in response to another spell before that spell resolves. In the case of Infernal Tutor, you can cast the Tutor using some other mana sources, then respond to your own spell by activating LED and discarding your hand. Then Infernal Tutor will resolve while you are hellbent, and you get to search for any card, which you'll probably be able to cast with the 3 mana you just added using LED.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Blocking and Card Types questions
    Quote from ccb99 »
    Thank you both.

    Does a Legendary Enchantment Artifact like Spear of Heliod also count as an Enchantment and an Artifact as well? I just want to be certain, in case I run into any. I run a deck with Torch Fiend, so it would be useful if I could get rid of it.

    EDIT: Also, what is a Manifestation counter? Sorry about this, I am fairly new to the game.


    A card has all the types listed in its type line. So for Spear of Heliod, it will be both an enchantment and an artifact, and can be affected by cards that affect either.

    A Manifestation counter is just a counter with that name that is added to a permanent by Arbiter of the Ideal. It has no special rules relevance, and in this case serves only as a memory aid to remind players that the card with the counter on it is also an enchantment because of the Arbiter's ability (which it would be even if the counter is later removed).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Lifelink ruling
    Quote from gsman »
    Regular lifegain from say the fight mechanic on a creature with lifelink will also cause you to gain life.


    If you mean it would cause you to gain life and therefore would be modified by Rain of Gore into life loss instead, that's correct.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Lifelink ruling
    Yes there is a difference between combat damage. Since the triggered ability is what's causing Nekusar to deal damage, it's the ability that's causing you to gain life as a result of that damage. So you'll lose 1 life instead.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.