Magic Market Index for April 12, 2019
Magic Market Index for April 5, 2019
Magic Market Index for March 15th, 2019
  • posted a message on So, I saw this on another forum. Figured I would post it here and see what we could do with it.
    Someone already posted this in the Facebook thread, but I think it got burried by all sorts of wrong answers.

    If you suspend Curse of the Cabal then play Emrakul, the Promised End on your next turn, you choose to sacrifice Platinum Angel during their upkeep that you control. Sigarda shouldn't stop this, as "they" have chosen to sacrifice something and winning from there is easy. Or you can sacrifice the Fluctuator and then easily win through Apocalypse and Nimble Obstructionist.

    EDIT: Oops, just realized that Emrakul targets, so it doesn't work...
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on New Communication Policy and The Tabernacle
    Does the new communication policy, specifically that:

    Now, if a spell or ability you play gives an opponent a choice, you must get confirmation from them that they aren’t doing the optional thing.

    Apply to the case of me controlling The Tabernacle at Pendrell Vale and my opponent taking his or her turn and not acknowledging the trigger to keep a creature they control and simply going to Draw Step and drawing a card? In other words, would I need to remind them they have a choice in their upkeep, since I control Tabernacle, or not since Tabernacle gives the ability to their creature and so they control the trigger?

    It's a little confusing because the ability of my Tabernacle gave them an ability that gave them a choice. Which is different than just giving them a choice, but certainly (at least to me) against what would seem to be the idea of the above change to the communication rules. It might just be a case of the rules simply not being meant to cover such a (sort of) convoluted case where abilities are granted to other's permanents.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Personal Advice about Tournaments
    Or just play at a local FNM, Grand Prix, or local Modern tournament.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Mairsil, the Pretender (Let's Brew!)
    Quote from atomskprime »
    Apparently, according to the rules manager of MTG, Quicksilver doesn't work the way we want it to.

    It provides a new set of abilities, but those abilities still have the once per turn clause.

    In order to get multiple activations, we'd need to blue Mana to refresh each ability

    Yeah, this sucks, card would have been great without that.

    The claim is that "The restrictions are part of the abilities that are gained. The static ability makes that so." Which doesn't actually make sense in the rules as written (or the card's wording), but I guess that is what was "intended."
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Sylvan Library and Leovold, Emissary of Trest
    Quote from MadMageQc »
    Your opponent draws their normal card for the turn, then the Library's trigger goes on the stack. When it resolves, they cannot choose to draw cards with the ability. So the rest of Library's effect following 'if you do' won't happen. Library just doesn't do anything.

    Thanks! I hadn't pegged it as a cost in my mind, but I see now why it would be.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Sylvan Library and Leovold, Emissary of Trest
    If I were to control a Leovold, Emissary of Trest and my opponent has a Sylvan Library, can they elect to use the Sylvan Library trigger?

    I know they can't actually draw any more than 1 card, but the question really is what would actually happen if they decided they did want to use the Library trigger? Do they draw their one card for turn, then zero off Library, then have to put the one back or pay 4 life? Or is the first clause of Sylvan Library a cost which cannot be payed with Leovold out?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on 4/24 Banlist update: Legacy Top banned, Vintage Gush/Probe restricted.
    Holy hell. This is fantastic.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Iconic Masters November 2017
    This is most probably EDH Masters, in all probability. I bet most of the cards in it are 4+ CMC.

    Maybe they reprint the shock lands here, since they already got the fetches reprinted.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Liliana and Gideon Planeswalker Decks cards
    Quote from Caranthir »
    I wonder whether we will see wither back. Gideon becomes indestructible AND all damage to him is prevented. Does not make sense, IMO, without something like wither. The -1/-1 counters are a theme definitely.

    Every Gideon after the first one is both Indestructible and prevents damage as a creature. It's simpler that way, because otherwise he would still die to combat damage (wither or no wither, because of Loyalty counters). It's really nothing new here.

    This Gideon seems especially bad, since the plus ability is nearly useless, as far as I can tell.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Oracle's Vault, Archfiend of Ilfnir, and Glorybringer
    Quote from Worzel »
    I wouldn't be surprised if Exert is putting a -1/-1 counter on your own creature to do something cool with it.

    Yeah, that definitely makes sense.

    I really, really hope that we see a card, Red or Green, that when you Cycle it lets you destroy an Artifact. I've been waiting for such a card for years.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Oracle's Vault, Archfiend of Ilfnir, and Glorybringer
    Quote from LouCypher »
    Now I'm curious as to what Exert does. But Cycling being back...Astral slide players everywhere rejoince.

    I'd guess it has to do with discarding a card somehow.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Blue Braids question
    I mean, you certinly want Paradox Haze to cast it on yourself, right?

    Getting two things to your opponent's one seems nice.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Random Card of the Day - HIATUS
    Quote from Buffsam89 »
    Def not the place, but I'm going to anyway(what authoritah?), does this counter the shuffle trigger on The Collossi? The cards you have listed, that is.

    There are several reasons why they wouldn't work, the first being that neither Ouphe Vandals nor Rust cant target a triggered ability and the second being that even if they could, Blightsteel Colossus and Darksteel Colossus don't have triggered abilities anyway, they are replacement effects.

    As for the Brown Ouphe I could see it in something like Edric, where it could do some decent work keeping an Oblivion Stone at bay or some such.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Ayli, Eternal Pilgrim: What Is Dead May Never Die
    Quote from Xenphire »
    As for Merciless Eviction, I eventually took out Black Sun's Zenith for it because most of the time I was paying enough mana into it to be paying the same thing (losing the effect to draw it again later, admitedly). Superfriends was taking off at the time, and with the rise of Atraxa and everyone going that route, the ability to exile all Planeswalkers was really something I couldn't ignore, on top of the utility of getting rid of Artifacts and other permanents under the protection of Darksteel Forge, Avacyn, Angel of Hope, Archetype of Endurance, and Enchantress/Voltron decks like Sigarda, Host of Herons.

    I think that is a good swap, in most cases Black Sun is going to cost a ton of mana anyway. Sitting here at work, I am thinking that there are probably some glaring omissions in my deck too, since I threw it together on a whim essentially, like not having Necropotence.

    Quote from Xenphire »
    Just occured to me that I really need to get all the stuff on MTGO to play various builds and packages for some upcoming play videos and a deck tech I intend to do Grin

    I have had a MTGO account for years now, but have never actually used it. It seems most EDH cards are pretty cheap on there, so maybe post tax-return I'll dump a little money into building this on there.
    Posted in: Multiplayer Commander Decklists
  • posted a message on Ayli, Eternal Pilgrim: What Is Dead May Never Die
    Quote from Xenphire »
    I agree that Exile is important, but at least in the list I run I have Ashen Rider, Archon of Justice, the sac combo with Fiend Hunter, Merciless Eviction, Anguished Unmaking, Ugin, the Spirit Dragon and Swords to Plowshares. Personally I don't feel I'm losing much by replacing one effect. I also considered what options I have to find land removal with Imperial Seal versus how much spot removal for other permanents I have to find. There's less targeted Land removal in my build than there is removal for other types of permanents, so it made less sense to me to reduce further on where a specific type of important removal is lacking than one I have ample amounts of Smile If I get wheeled or forced to discard, I have a higher chance of having no response to problematic non-basic lands than I do having a response to other types of threats or problems for Imperial Seal to search for.

    I wasn't trying to make an "I'm right and you're wrong" sort of argument, just assessing that there are some additional considerations in the differences between the two. I don't think there is ever a "correct answer" here, but rather a list of valid concerns given your list, play-style, expected meta and so on. I don't think cutting Vindicate is necessarily wrong, just something I wouldn't personally want to do, since I expect to often see hateful permanents in abundance. I simply want all the efficient answers I can reasonably get. I don't personally run Merciless Eviction, because 6 mana is an awful lot, and my list's average CMC is very high already, but I think it is something I am going to have to consider.
    Posted in: Multiplayer Commander Decklists
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.