- Registered User
Member for 16 years, 9 months, and 19 days
Last active Mon, Sep, 2 2013 11:15:00
- 0 Followers
- 1,009 Total Posts
- 1 Thank
Mar 22, 2013Posted in: Custom Card CreationQuote from gumOnShoeIn which case I vote that it has power & toughness equal to hounds and not be legendary, just so I can play it reliably with wild mongrel and a suite of Basking Rootwallas.
Srsly, since when is madness a cast from exile? Sounds like one of those crazy made up rules that's been slapped on top of an ability that made sense as it was...
Pretty sure it always was, it was just never relevant. Madness exiles the card as you discard it, then you either cast it or it goes to the graveyard.
Jan 6, 2013d24478667 posted a message on Handling free wins from opponent's lack of rules knwledge? Sketchy?Posted in: Magic GeneralQuote from FoodChainGoblins
2. At FNM, my Round 4 opponent playing Bant Control flashed in a Restoration Angel, targeting Thragtusk. He then said that he gains 5 life, then put a 3/3 Beast into play. I asked him if he's sure that's the order he wanted to do and he agreed. Then I said that he did the "enter the battlefield" trigger before the "leave the battlefield" trigger. I allowed him to get both triggers because at our FNM, the judge will allow it anyway. The bad part was that I didn't even tell him how it works since I was too concerned with my poor shuffling leading to mana clumps. I should have told him and I regret that.
He can actually do that, just fine. In fact, he put the triggers on the stack in the 'right' order. Neither of Thraggy's triggers go on the stack until after Restoration Angel's trigger resolves, and then the controller of Thragtusk chooses the order to put them on the stack; he could do what he did, which has the 'leaves play' trigger on the bottom, and the 'enters play' trigger on the top; those resolve normally, he gains 5 life, and puts a beast into play- the same order you described. He could also, if he wanted, put the 'enters play' trigger on the bottom and the leaves play trigger on top and get the beast and then the life.
Quote from MTG CR »
603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player,
in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities he or she controls on the stack in any order he or she
chooses. (See rule 101.4.) Then the game once again checks for and resolves state-based actions
until none are performed, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This
process repeats until no new state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the
appropriate player gets priority.
Jan 3, 2013Posted in: Custom Card Creation
Dec 24, 2012Huh. Looks like the Gruul mechanic is "all my creatures are pump spells". But I'd almost always rather have the creature... But this would definitely be pitchable.Posted in: The Rumor Mill
Actually this is fun with Domri Rade- hand full of combat tricks and board presence.
Dec 23, 2012Posted in: SpeculationQuote from hamberglarShe's actually solid on her own in limited. She's a flier with force spike stapled on when she's alone.
Hey, here's a legit question.
How would rarity changes in this apply to the Pauper, Peasant, and Bling formats? They've got official rule sets on MTGO these days.
Mental Misstep, not Force Spike.
Dec 5, 2012d24478667 posted a message on Golgari Grave-Troll and Twilight's Call, or other Mass ReanimationHow does Golgari Grave-Troll interact with Twilight's Call? I had thought that he would enter with 0 +1/+1 counters, due to nothing being in the graveyard, but his gatherer ruling says he would count himself. What if I have a Corpsejack Menace?Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
If I don't have Corpsejack, would he have N +1/+1 counters, where N is the number of creatures in my graveyard before Twilight's Call resolves?
If yes, and I do have Corpsejack, would he have N (the replacement effect isn't on the field) or 2N (Corpsejack sees Grave-Troll)?
EDIT: To make it clear, the Corpsejack would be coming into play off of the Twilight's Call. It would not be in play beforehand- that's rather more straightforward.
Aug 8, 2012Posted in: New Card DiscussionQuote from ArkmerHas anyone noticed that the set symbol on the two "spoiled" cards are different? Or did I miss the big thread about it?
I love the way this looks for B/G Zombies! I, like many many others, am making deck lists as we speak.
The Jarad is a promo, from the Izzet v Golgari Duel Deck. Rootborn Defenses is from Return to Ravnica, and Jarad will be in Return to Ravnica (with different art, and the correct set symbol.)
Jul 31, 2012Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from 1DropIndeed I do. Almost went there for New Phyrexia prerelease. I've also been to a small store in Albany called Collector's Friend, and lately I'm going to a store that just opened up in Troy to compete with Aqalonia.
Maybe I'll go to Zombie Planet for the Return to Ravnica prerelease and pick Selesnya just for Populate
Jul 20, 2012Depends on whose turn it is. Triggers go on the stack in APNAP (active player, non-active player) order. The active player is the player whose turn it is.Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
Assuming its your turn, as you Cloned the Kokusho:
Clone enters the battlefield.
Clone-Kokusho trigger goes on stack.
Kokusho trigger goes on the stack.
Then the Kokusho trigger resolves, so your opponent drains everyone else for 5.
Then the Clone-Kokusho trigger resolves and you steal some life.
Jul 9, 2012I would change the name of Christianity to something less charged; don't want to offend anyone. I'd look to the South American religions- I don't remember which one focuses on sacrifice and war. Then I'd still change it.Posted in: Custom Card Creation
Quadruplicate looks good for its cost. You win when you play it, most likely, but it's still 6 mana plus whatever you're casting.
Sloppy Seconds and Birdie Bounty look fine.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.