2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • 1

    posted a message on Theater of Horrors
    And to clarify further: if you play another Theater of Horrors, even if it’s physically the same one that was on the battlefield earlier, you won’t have access to cards exiled by the earlier iteration of Theater, as the new Theater of Horrors is a different object and unrelated to the one that had exiled those particular cards.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Kiki jiki-mirror breaker effects on a stack
    Targets for a spell or ability are chosen when that spell or ability goes on the stack, and can't be changed later (at least, not without another card like Bolt Bend). So, if you targeted Worldspine Wurm and it's exiled in response, you can't change the target of the ability and it'll do nothing when it tries to resolve.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Question
    If a creature you control dies, then both Butcher of Malakir and Grave Pact will trigger at the same time. You can stack the triggers in any order you want, but it largely doesn't matter here since both triggered abilities essentially do the same thing. This results in each of your opponents having to sacrifice two creatures.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Realmwright vs. Snow-covered lands
    No. Realmwright has you choose a basic land type: Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, or Forest. “Snow” is a supertype, and is not something you can choose with Realmwright’s replacement effect.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Haakon, Stromgald Scourge and adventres
    Nope. As you would try to cast it as an Adventure, it's not a Knight, so you are unable to cast its Adventure side from your graveyard.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Volrath, the Shapestealer and Monstrosity ability
    Monstrous is a status that a creature can have, but it isn’t a copiable value. So, even if Volrath becomes a copy of a monstrous creature, the Volrath-copy will not be monstrous. This also means that once it does become monstrous, Volrath remains monstrous even if it copies a creature that is not monstrous, and will remain so until it leaves the battlefield.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Brawl deck list
    Yes, all of the cards in the Brawl decks will be Standard legal, even though some of them (Arcane Signet, for example) don’t do anything in formats that don’t use a Commander.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 1

    posted a message on Fleecemane lion question
    Yes. Fleecemane Lion has a normal activated ability, which means that a player can respond to it while it’s on the stack and before it resolves. So, your opponent can cast Fatal Push in response to the Lion’s ability being activated, which results in the Lion being destroyed before it becomes monstrous or gains a +1/+1 counter (and therefore before it becomes indestructible).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Volrath + Tainted Strike
    Abilities/buffs given by Auras/Equipment are also not copiable values, so Volrath won’t copy anything that the original creature is getting from them.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Ilharg and sundial of the infinite
    You can activate Sundial during your end step while the delayed triggered ability from Ilharg is on the stack. If you do, that ability will be removed from the stack as part of ending the turn, and it won’t trigger again, effectively letting you keep the creature you cheated in indefinitely.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.