2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Haakon, Stromgald Scourge and adventres
    Nope. As you would try to cast it as an Adventure, it's not a Knight, so you are unable to cast its Adventure side from your graveyard.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Extra Brawl Format Questions
    Seems like a glitch, as all cards from Magic 2019 rotated out with the release of Throne of Eldraine this past Friday.

    As for sideboards in Brawl, I don’t think they are used, as far as I know. I haven’t read anything about them, but I could be wrong.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Thalia’s Lieutenant target Phantasmal Image?
    As Thalia’s Lieutenant’s triggered ability doesn’t use the word “target,” it does not target and will not cause Phantasmal Image to be sacrificed.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Questing Beast
    Also, in case it wasn’t clear, blocking with your creatures isn’t considered “preventing” combat damage for the purposes of this ability. The ability is referring to cards like Fog or Holy Day that specifically mention that they prevent combat damage; Questing Beast is able to render such cards useless. Also, a creature having protection won’t be able to prevent damage as normal, either. For example, a creature with protection from green would still be destroyed if it blocks Questing Beast, as the Beast’s Combat Damage can’t be prevented, which is what protection would normally try to do. This is also because Questing Beast has deathtouch, so any amount of damage that it deals is considered lethal.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Volrath, the Shapestealer and Lord of Extinction
    He’ll be a 7/5. When Volrath copies a creature with an ability that defines its power/toughness, that ability simply isn’t copied.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Planeswalker abilities vs activated abilities
    With Aminatou, the permanent you targeted is exiled and then returned to the battlefield under your control, not returned to your hand.

    Also, although the Witchclaw Talisman will be given to your opponent (as that is part of the ability’s resolution), Aminatou will still exile and return it. This is because it targets a permanent you *own*, not necessarily that you control.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Can instants played at beginning of upkeep resolve before cards with beginning of upkeep trigger?
    If the permanent with an “at the beginning of your upkeep” trigger isn’t on the battlefield as the upkeep step begins, then it won’t trigger that turn. This is because the beginning of the upkeep only happens, well, at the beginning, so anything that enters the battlefield after the upkeep has started cannot retroactively get a “beginning of upkeep” ability to trigger.

    As for your second question, haste isn’t something that creatures generally have unless it’s an ability of the card itself, or another source is giving it haste. I think you mean to ask about summoning sickness, which lasts until you’ve controlled a creature continuously since the *start* of your most recent turn. Since a creature that enters the battlefield during your upkeep step wasn’t under your control as the turn started, it will indeed be affected by summoning sickness until your next turn.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Volrath, the Shapestealer and Monstrosity ability
    Monstrous is a status that a creature can have, but it isn’t a copiable value. So, even if Volrath becomes a copy of a monstrous creature, the Volrath-copy will not be monstrous. This also means that once it does become monstrous, Volrath remains monstrous even if it copies a creature that is not monstrous, and will remain so until it leaves the battlefield.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Brawl deck list
    Yes, all of the cards in the Brawl decks will be Standard legal, even though some of them (Arcane Signet, for example) don’t do anything in formats that don’t use a Commander.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Fleecemane lion question
    Yes. Fleecemane Lion has a normal activated ability, which means that a player can respond to it while it’s on the stack and before it resolves. So, your opponent can cast Fatal Push in response to the Lion’s ability being activated, which results in the Lion being destroyed before it becomes monstrous or gains a +1/+1 counter (and therefore before it becomes indestructible).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Siege Dragon and Shapeshifters
    Shapeshifters aren’t Walls. However, creatures with the changeling keyword are all creature types and would be destroyed.

    The point I’m trying to make is that creatures with the type Shapeshifter do not always have changeling. But, when they do, they are all creature types at all times. Compare Morphling (Shapeshifter, does not have changeling) with Mirror Entity (Shapeshifter, also has changeling). Morphling would not be destroyed by Siege Dragon’s ability, whereas Mirror Entity would.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mirri, Weatherlight duelist vs warleader
    Mirri’s ability means that only one creature can be declared as an attacker. As such, the tokens created by Leonin Warleader will enter tapped and attacking. Since they were not declared as attackers, this bypasses Mirri’s restriction.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Volrath + Tainted Strike
    Abilities/buffs given by Auras/Equipment are also not copiable values, so Volrath won’t copy anything that the original creature is getting from them.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Volrath + Tainted Strike
    Volrath only copies the “copiable values” (see 706.2 in the Comprehensive Rules) of a creature that it copies. This doesn’t include abilities given to the creature by a one-shot effect.

    So, if Volrath becomes a copy of a creature that had Tainted Strike used on it earlier in the turn, it will not have infect.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Living Trigger
    After Living Death resolves, any triggered abilities that triggered since the last time state-based actions were checked will be put on the stack in APNAP (Active Player, Non Active Player) order. So, as you’re the active player in this scenario, your triggered abilities that triggered from either death or entering the battlefield will go on the stack, followed by the next player in turn order, and so on.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.