2019 Holiday Exchange!
A New and Exciting Beginning
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on GatheringMagic Preview - Shu Yun, the Silent Tempest
    and now we have a tiny leader for Jeskai
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Magus of the Unseen
    702.6a Equip is an activated ability of Equipment cards. “Equip [cost]” means “[Cost]: Attach this permanent to target creature you control. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.”

    It will still attach. The equip ability would not attach if the control of the creature is lost because then the ability has an illegal target, but the equipment changing controllers doesn't stop the ability.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Daretti, Scrap Savant, madness, chromatic sphere
    Madness is two abilities. One is a static ability that allows a player to exile a card instead of discarding it. That sets up a trigger ability to cast it from exile for its madness cost.

    So the Obsessive Search would be exiled from Daretti's abilty rather than exiled. The rummage ability with finish resolving, and then you resolve the madness triggers. At this point you can activate mana abilities like Sphere and Selvala to pay for it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Attack requirements question
    It's per ability. Silent Arbiter was in play. And you had two Red Solider tokens, one enchanted with Mogis's Warhound and one enchanted with two Mogis's Warhounds, you have to attack with the one enchanted twice because it fulfills two requirements instead of just one.

    So in your second scenario, you have to attack with Mogis's Warhound as it fulfills both the its own requirements and the Bident of Thassa
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Why do Mana Pools Empty at the End of Each Step and Phase?
    The original rulebook seems pretty clear there were phases and mana emptied at tne end of each phase.

    Mana drawn from any source is put in your mana pool, which is simply the mana you have ready to use. Most of the time, you simply remember what mana you have in your pool, though you can write it down if you have a large series of spells being cast. Adding mana to your mana pool is always considered an interrupt. You lose all of the mana in your mana pool if you do not use it before a phase ends. The mana pool is also cleared when an attack begins and when an attack ends. You lose a life point for each mana lost in this manner. However, you cannot be deprived of a chance to use the mana in your pool. If a card provides more than one mana, you must draw the full amount into your pool when you use it.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on exiled card and strive
    Strive functions as an additional cost, you can pay additional costs when casting a spell for an alternative costs. (the "alternative cost" is "casting it without paying its mana cost")

    When casting a spell for an alternative cost, X=0 because X is part of the mana cost, which you aren't paying.
    Posted in: Rumored Card Rulings
  • posted a message on Question about simultaneous turn multiplayer
    Even if you would gain a turn while not having the turn marker, the extra turn would be on hold until you would gain the turn marker and you would get the extra turn prior to your next turn.

    There's a reason why most grand melees are limited format, more specifically core set limited format to reduce complexity.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Choose a color
    205.3e If an effect instructs a player to choose a subtype, that player must choose one, and only one,
    existing subtype, and the subtype he or she chooses must be for the appropriate card type. For
    example, the player can’t choose a land type if an instruction requires choosing a creature type.

    You must choose a valid creature type. Some creature types only appear on tokens.

    205.3m Creatures and tribals share their lists of subtypes; these subtypes are called creature types.
    The creature types are Advisor, Ally, Angel, Anteater, Antelope, Ape, Archer, Archon,
    Artificer, Assassin, Assembly-Worker, Atog, Aurochs, Avatar, Badger, Barbarian, Basilisk, Bat,
    Bear, Beast, Beeble, Berserker, Bird, Blinkmoth, Boar, Bringer, Brushwagg, Camarid, Camel,
    Caribou, Carrier, Cat, Centaur, Cephalid, Chimera, Citizen, Cleric, Cockatrice, Construct,
    Coward, Crab, Crocodile, Cyclops, Dauthi, Demon, Deserter, Devil, Djinn, Dragon, Drake,
    Dreadnought, Drone, Druid, Dryad, Dwarf, Efreet, Elder, Eldrazi, Elemental, Elephant, Elf, Elk,
    Eye, Faerie, Ferret, Fish, Flagbearer, Fox, Frog, Fungus, Gargoyle, Germ, Giant, Gnome, Goat,
    Goblin, God, Golem, Gorgon, Graveborn, Gremlin, Griffin, Hag, Harpy, Hellion, Hippo,
    Hippogriff, Homarid, Homunculus, Horror, Horse, Hound, Human, Hydra, Hyena, Illusion,
    Imp, Incarnation, Insect, Jellyfish, Juggernaut, Kavu, Kirin, Kithkin, Knight, Kobold, Kor,
    Kraken, Lammasu, Leech, Leviathan, Lhurgoyf, Licid, Lizard, Manticore, Masticore,
    Mercenary, Merfolk, Metathran, Minion, Minotaur, Monger, Mongoose, Monk, Moonfolk,
    Mutant, Myr, Mystic, Nautilus, Nephilim, Nightmare, Nightstalker, Ninja, Noggle, Nomad,
    Nymph, Octopus, Ogre, Ooze, Orb, Orc, Orgg, Ouphe, Ox, Oyster, Pegasus, Pentavite, Pest,
    Phelddagrif, Phoenix, Pincher, Pirate, Plant, Praetor, Prism, Rabbit, Rat, Rebel, Reflection,
    Rhino, Rigger, Rogue, Sable, Salamander, Samurai, Sand, Saproling, Satyr, Scarecrow,
    Scorpion, Scout, Serf, Serpent, Shade, Shaman, Shapeshifter, Sheep, Siren, Skeleton, Slith,
    Sliver, Slug, Snake, Soldier, Soltari, Spawn, Specter, Spellshaper, Sphinx, Spider, Spike, Spirit,
    Splinter, Sponge, Squid, Squirrel, Starfish, Surrakar, Survivor, Tetravite, Thalakos, Thopter,
    Thrull, Treefolk, Triskelavite, Troll, Turtle, Unicorn, Vampire, Vedalken, Viashino, Volver,
    Wall, Warrior, Weird, Werewolf, Whale,

    201.3. If an effect instructs a player to name a card, the player must choose the name of a card that
    exists in the Oracle card reference (see rule 108.1) and is legal in the format of the game the player
    is playing. (See rule 100.6.) If the player wants to name a split card, the player must choose the
    name of one of its halves, but not both. (See rule 708.) If the player wants to name a flip card’s
    alternative name, the player may do so. (See rule 709.) If the player wants to name the back face of
    a double-faced card, the player may do so. (

    So the named card must exist and be legal in the format.

    105.1. There are five colors in the Magic game: white, blue, black, red, and green
    105.4. If a player is asked to choose a color, he or she must choose one of the five colors.
    “Multicolored” is not a color. Neither is “colorless.”

    You have to make a legal choice here as well
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Official Duel Decks: Anthology Annoucement (and MSRP)
    It depends on how many are made. I hope it's printed more than Commander's Arsenal, but it occupies a similar position. A nice item for a holiday gift when the gift giver knows nothing about magic.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Is WOTC's judge program legal?
    The judge foil packets aren't guaranteed either. They are a gift from wizards for what we do. Judge foils have a long history before their circulation at Grand Prix. One of the more senior judges blogged about the history of judge foils.

    Secondly, the packets are definitely not worth thousands of dollars. At vendors you get at most 200 dollars a packet, and most judges get 2 packets. That's assume you are the first to sell it. Subsequent packets get much less. Many dealers eventually stop offering cash for the packet and only give credit. Lately the packets have lots of EDH generals, which don't sell particularly well; packets go for less than 150 often. The event is run by a Tournament Organizer (SCG, Pastimes, Legion, PES, etc) and sorta sponsored by Wizards. So the TO pays the judges the compensation, and the Wizards sponsor gives a small gift to the judges. Many TOs have judges fill out tax information if they write a check to the judges. Foil packets aren't factored into the compensation package. Generally speaking, you received the foils if you judged two days. Judging 3 days doesn't give you any more packets than judging 2. So it's a bonus gift, not a part of the compensation

    The point is rather moot as Grand Prix foil packets are being removed from the judge program and replaced with a new distribution system.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on What do you want from the new Commander 2014 decks?
    4 color generals There are absolutely none unless you house rule the nephilim
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Death or Glory and a card that cares about graveyard order
    Normally this wouldn't matter, but I'm assume you have a Grafdigger's Cage in play that stops the creatures from entering the battlefield from the graveyard.
    While being placed in piles, the objects are still in the graveyard, so the order must be maintained. How the players accomplish this is up to the players. Laying them out in a line is possible, or just pointing at cards to make a pile works. If you have pen and paper you can make two lists to be the piles works as well.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Parallel Thoughts and Donate
    It does nothing. The ability of the card states "If you would draw a card, you may instead put the top card of the pile you exiled into your hand." The player receiving the Parallel Thoughts from donate did not exile cards to Parallel Thoughts, so he can't use that ability.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Blood Moon and Glaciers
    This is the messy part of layers called dependency. Basically dependency occurs when two effects occur in the same layer when one effect (effect A) changes one of three things about another effect (effect B)
    Effect A changes:
    1. The number of objects Effect B changes
    2. What Effect B overall does
    3. The existence of Effect B

    So both Blood Moon and Conversion are tyoe changing effects which apply in Layer 4.
    So the scenario laid out is a more of the first scenario where Effect A (Blood Moon) changes the number of objects Effect B (Conversion) applies to. So Conversion is dependent on Blood Moon, which means Blood Moon will always be applied before Conversion; regardless of the order they entered the battlefield. So all non-basic lands and mountains will be plains.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Persist with Master Biomancer
    Master Biomancer alters how the Selkie enters the battlefield as well as the persist ability. The Selkie will enter with both a +1/+1 and a -1/-1 counter, which means the Selkie will live.
    I'm assuming you know to stack the persist triggers to make sure the Master Biomancer returns frist, and then the Selkie.

    As for Fertilid in the same scenario, it would enter with 1 +1/+1 counter from Biomancer (he's a 1/3 after persist), 2 +1/+1 countesr from its own ability and the -1/-1 from persist, ending as a 2/2 entering the battlefield.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.