With the whole set revealed:
Sword of Dungeons & Dragons
The first two could quickly end up cut for high power level.
- Registered User
Member for 9 years, 4 months, and 9 days
Last active Thu, Jan, 17 2019 12:32:34
- 0 Followers
- 931 Total Posts
- 129 Thanks
Nov 20, 2017This could end up being too good, specifically stealing the beginning phase. Skipping your opponent's untap and draw is frequently going to be equivalent to skipping their turn (so a Time Walk + 2/2), and you get an extra draw, plus some free mana if you have relevant instants. A Time Walk + 2/2 + draw a card for 5 mana is very strong. Mulldrifter doesn't even come close. Add any sort of recursion and it's an easy hard lock. Test and watch closely for power level.Posted in: Cube Card and Archetype Discussion
Forms a hard lock with Erratic Portal, Crystal Shard, Recurring Nightmare, Mimic Vat, Capsize, Brago, or Venser. Also generates insane value with any instant speed one-shot bounce.
Nov 14, 2017Wow, I just didn't fully read Emeria Angel. I thought the trigger was mandatory, which meant that I needed City of Shadows to break the infinite loop, and I had the option of drawing the game on turn 3. Oops.Posted in: Forum Magic
8) City of Shadows / City of Traitors / Emeria Angel (makes tokens on turn 3)
1) Argothian Elder / Gaea's Cradle / Helix Pinnacle
He goes off on turn 3, I make tokens on turn 3. 0-6
2) Chalice of the Void / Exploration / Humility
Humility comes down turn 4. 6-0
3) Authority of the Consuls / Meekstone / Shared Triumph
Authority comes down on 2, Meekstone on 3. 0-6
4) Council's Judgment / Path to Exile / Serene Remembrance
Path breaks the combo. 0-6
5) Elixir of Immortality / Path to Exile / Shared Animosity
Path breaks the combo. 0-6
6) Chancellor of the Forge / Cursed Totem / Exploration
Turn 2 totem stops me. 0-6
7) Exploration / Glacial Chasm / Helix Pinnacle
Chasm stops me from winning. 0-6
9) Isochron Scepter / Path to Exile / Path to Exile
One Path breaks the combo, second on Isochron eventually wins. 0-6
X| 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
8| 0 6 0 0 0 0 0 X 0 | 6
Nov 8, 20177) Bazaar of Baghdad / Elvish Spirit Guide / Memnite / Progenitus / Summoning TrapPosted in: Forum Magic
1) Bitterblossom / Black Lotus / Chancellor of the Forge / Gaea's Cradle / Karn Liberated
2) Cavern of Souls / Patrician's Scorn / Saltcrusted Steppe / Serene Remembrance / Student of Warfare
Nothing relevant, 6-0
3) Ancient Tomb / Dark Depths / Field of Ruin / The Tabernacle at Pendrell Vale / Thespian's Stage
I was deciding between ESG/Bazaar and LED/City of Traitor. Chose wrong. 0-6
4) City of Traitor / Ensnaring Bridge / Mishra's Workshop / Scalding Tongs / Sphere of Resistance
Can't beat Bridge, 0-6
5) Greater Gargadon / Maze of Ith / Rishadan Port / Spell Pierce / Volcanic Island
Pierce is too slow, 6-0
6) Black Lotus / Black Lotus / City of Traitors / Dramatic Entrance / Progenitus
Mirror match 3-3
8) Ferropede / Leyline of Lifeforce / Mishra's Workshop / Phyrexian Metamorph / Phyrexian Revoker
Leyline shuts off my combo 0-6
X | 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
7 | 6 6 0 0 6 3 X 0 | 20
Nov 3, 2017psly4mne posted a message on is my understanding of merieke and thornbite staff correct?Yes, Merieke Ri Berit equipped with Thornbite Staff loops like that, and you can end the loop by declining to activate Merieke again. You have it all correct.Posted in: Magic Rulings
Oct 30, 2017psly4mne posted a message on 5CH Mycosynth Halloween Party; knobbodi wins! (400 points)Posted in: Forum Magic
That's called "mana of any type". Mycosynth-type effects pre-OGW use "any color" and don't play nice with C. Similar effects post-OGW use "any type" and do work with C. The two exceptions are Oath of Nissa in OGW (but there are no C-cost planeswalkers) and North Star for some reason.Quote from Personman »I think the rule should be "Black mana may be spent as though it were mana of any color, or as though it were colorless mana."
Sep 20, 20171: 6: Anachrosity plays turn 1 Gambit, turn 2 Gambit return to hand, turn 3 loses.Posted in: Forum Magic
2: 6: No turn 1 play.
3: 2: Crypt can't kill either of us, and Safekeeper doesn't race itself.
4: 0: knobbodi can play turn 1 Outpost, leaving Plains in graveyard. If I Crypt, he returns Plains and plays Vindicate. I can try to race tokens, Vindicate and Ghost tip the race.
5: 6: I wait out the Chancellor then outrace Wistful
6: 0: I lose to Sleeper Agent.
8: 6: No turn 1 play.
9: 0: I can't win through Misstep. I can exile Synod Sanctum by playing City if he plays it early, so he can't use it to lock me down. But he can use it to exile my first Assembly-Worker then sacrifice it, putting him ahead on the race.
X| 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
7| 6 6 2 0 6 0 X 6 0 | 26
Jun 30, 2017Yes, the Wurmcoil is destroyed, but it doesn't go to the graveyard. A card can't go the the graveyard then leave the game as a single event, because that's not a single event. Even if it could, there's not reason to think it would happen in that order. I'm done here.Posted in: Magic Rulings
Okay, you just haven't read the thread at all.So the player loses the game at the same time the Wurmcoil is destroyed. And then they leave the game.
Flame warning issued. -MadMage
Jun 30, 2017Posted in: Magic Rulings
No, there are other ways. I'll leave that to you to think about.Quote from rigeld2 »And they all involve replacement effects.
Yes, and I provided them.Do you have rules citations showing otherwise?
704.3: All SBAs happen simultaneously as a single event
800.4a: The Wurmcoil ceases to exist as part of an SBA
Therefore, the Wurmcoil transitions from being on the battlefield to not existing. It's never in the graveyard, so it didn't move to the graveyard.
You seem to think that the Wurmcoil goes to the graveyard and then leaves the game from there, as two events. This is obviously false by 704.3. Or maybe you think that it "counts" as going to the graveyard because it was destroyed, which just doesn't have any basis.
Jun 30, 2017In what sense do you think the Wurmcoil "actually" goes to the graveyard if there is no point at which it's in a player's graveyard? As far as the game is concerned, (1) Wurmcoil is on the battlefield, (2) SBAs are applied, (3) Wurmcoil doesn't exist.Posted in: Magic Rulings
I guess you could try argue that 400.6 applies, but that has the unfortunate side effect that the Wurmcoil would never leave the game, and continue existing with no owner.
Jun 30, 2017For a creature to "die", it has to be on the battlefield and then in the graveyard. That is what dying means. It doesn't matter that you attempted to put the Wurmcoil into the graveyard, or that the Wurmcoil was destroyed, only that it was on the battlefield immediately before the event and in the graveyard immediately after the event (which is not the case here). That's why Leyline of the Void stops it from triggering. In this case, SBAs are simultaneously trying to move the Wurmcoil to the graveyard and make it leave the game. If you apply both of those at the same time, it's not going to the graveyard.Posted in: Magic Rulings
Jun 30, 2017I don't think Rezzahan is right. This hinges on the meaning of "It happens as soon as the player leaves the game." in 800.4a. If you interpret it to mean "this is a separate one-shot effect that occurs immediately after the player leaves the game," then Wurmcoil would trigger. If you interpret it to mean "this is part of the event of a player leaving the game," then Wurmcoil would not trigger. I believe it has to be the latter. Under the former interpretation, the Wurmcoil would be in P1's graveyard immediately after the SBA check (which is a necessary condition for it to trigger), but P1 has already left the game. I don't think a player who is not in the game even has a graveyard. Especially given the parallel usage of "as soon as" in 800.4c, I don't think the Wurmcoil moves to the graveyard.Posted in: Magic Rulings
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.