2019 Holiday Exchange!
A New and Exciting Beginning
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Cast From Graveyard
    With your current text, casting it from your graveyard accomplishes very little other than upping the Storm count by 1, since it's exiled before it can resolve.
    Posted in: Custom Card Rulings
  • posted a message on Red and green mana generators
    Surge of Mana as currently worded goes infinite with any color filter effects like Initiates of the Ebon Hand, Farrelite Priest or Skyshroud Elf. Definitely want to restrict it to tapping.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Trying to satisfy Now I Know My ABC's condition
    It just occurred to me that you'll never need to worry about W, or any of the other letters in "Now I Know my ABC's", since the enchantment counts itself.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Trying to satisfy Now I Know My ABC's condition

    Now I Know My ABC's only triggers off permanents.

    I've restricted myself to cards that match your Commander's colours (UW). "V" is actually really common, so I've left it out. Any snow-covered basic land in German, Italian, Portuguese or Spanish will have a V in its name.

    Deputy of Acquittals is "Adjointe aux acquittements" [J,Q, X]
    Jeweled Torque is "Torque orné de joyaux". [J, Q, X]

    Sunspring Expedition is "Expedition zur Sonnenquelle". [Q, X, Z]
    Alexi, Zephyr Mage is "Alexi Westwindzauberin". [W, X, Z]
    Sphinx of the Final Word is "Sphinx des Letzten Wortes". [W, X, Z]
    Jhoira's Timebug is "Jhoiras Zeitkäfer". [F, J, Z]
    Kami of the Tattered Shoji is "Kami des zerfetzten Shoji". [F, J, Z]

    Grafted Exoskeleton is "Exoesqueleto injertado". [J, Q, X]
    Gustrider Exuberant is "Exuberante jinete de ráfagas". [F, J, X]
    Fortress Crab is "Cangrejo fortaleza". [F, J, Z]
    Force Bubble is "Burbuja de fuerza". [F, J, Z]
    Everflowing Chalice is "Cáliz flujo eterno". [F, J, Z]
    Judge's Familiar is "Familiar del juez". [F, J, Z]
    Gwafa Hazid, Profiteer is "Gwafa Hazid, ventajista". [F, J, V, W, Z] <--- this has 5 of the letters you're looking for

    Auriok Edgewright is "Forja-Pontas Aurioque". [F, J, Q]
    Rusted Relic is "Relíquia Enferrujada". [F, J, Q]
    Jhoira's Toolbox is "Caixa de Ferramentas de Jhoira". [F, J, X]

    Another component to think about is using Rebel chains:
    Amrou Scout - Spanish (Exploradora de Amrou)
    Amrou Seekers - Portuguese (Perseguidores de Amrou)
    Aven Riftwatcher - English
    Ballista Squad - English
    Blade of the Sixth Pride - English
    Bound in Silence - Italian (Obbligato al Silenzio)
    Cho-Manno, Revolutionary - Italian (Cho-Manno, Rivoluzionario)
    Defiant Falcon - German (Trotzender Falke)
    Defiant Vanguard - German (Trotzende Vorhut)
    Errant Doomsayers - German (Herumziehender Schwarzseher)
    Fresh Volunteers - French (Volontaires fougueux)
    Jhovall Queen - English
    Lin-Sivvi, Defiant Hero - German (Lin Sivvi, trotzende Heldin)
    Ramosian Sergeant - German (Ramosischer Feldwebel)
    Riftmarked Knight - Italian (Cavaliere Provato dagli Squarci)
    Steadfast Guard - German (Standhafte Wache)
    Sword Dancer - German (Schwerttänzer)
    Thermal Glider - French (Planeur thermique)
    Zealot il-Vec - English

    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on The Four Horsemen (v2.0)
    Quote from Gashnaw »
    I may switxh it to exile. And fix tbe wordkng on death.
    The .ajn reason co quest white is due to tbe white horse

    Famine should be Black then, shouldn't it?

    Quote from Revelations 6:5-6 »
    5 And when he had opened the third seal, I heard the third beast say, Come and see. And I beheld, and lo a black horse; and he that sat on him had a pair of balances in his hand. 6 And I heard a voice in the midst of the four beasts say, A measure of wheat for a penny, and three measures of barley for a penny; and see thou hurt not the oil and the wine.

    Strangely, this means that Death should be green, not black. The Greek word used to describe the fourth horseman's steed is chloros, which can either mean ashen or green.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Is Force of Will a fair magic card?
    It may not have been fair back when it was in it's standard format, but it is totally fair in the formats where it's legal.

    As someone who was playing Standard back then, it was a completely fair card. All it really did was prevent Blue decks from auto-scooping to an untimely Armageddon. You didn't simply FOW something at the first opportunity, since it was inherently card disadvantage to do so.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Red Enchantment: Impulsive Minds
    It's only been re-visited recently, but Red has had this ability for a while now - Elkin Lair.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Help! Gisela, Blade of Goldnight keeps killing me
    Im new to the site and the game in general, so forgive me if this isn't the place to post this and help redirect me to where I should ask.

    Ok here it is, Im playing against my friend with a deck that I have put a ton of research and time into building(Upgraded to the gills my guided by nature and took out all the non synergistic cards, now its an elf producing machine, I digress. He purchased the "Wade into Battle" Commander Deck, and has the super OP card "Gisela, Blade of Goldnight(so annoying) as the commander for this deck. He brakes her out and a couple of swings later Im done.

    How can I defeat a card or work around a card that has such power? Is there anyway to counter it? take control of it? and if I did would it deal the same amount of damage back to the controller?

    Feels kinda cheap to get knocked out by a single card in a deck that had no effort put into it. Just looking for ways to expand knowledge, thanks for any help.

    Green isn't the colour for gaining control or countering opposing threats. Traditionally, Green's solution to any given problem is running it over with something larger, which you can do in an Elf deck by combining mana-producing Elves like Priest of Titania with mana outlets like Ezuri, Renegade Leader.

    Another option is the toolbox approach. Use creature tutors like Worldly Tutor, Chord of Calling and since you have an Elf deck, Skyshroud Poacher and Wirewood Herald. You can use these to search for silver-bullet answers to artifacts/enchantments (Viridian Zealot,Viridian Shaman, Elvish Lyrist) or large opposing flyers (Elvish Skysweeper).
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Instruct (and French Vanilla creatures that go well with it)
    Couple of questions:

    1. Are the Instructed copies meant to be "learnable" as well? The current wording suggests that with 9 untapped Goblins I could deal 20 damage with Practice Bolt.

    2. Are token creatures able to learn Instruct spells? The reminder text states in part that this "card" knows the spell.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on One With the Void (legendary)
    Quote from Legend »
    It should also say "no mana in your mana pool".

    Presumably, the mana would have emptied from your mana pool as you moved to the end step.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Urza's block pre-constructed decks advanced deck lists
    No, that's not what the OP was asking for.

    When you bought the preconstructed decks, you received a booklet which also gave you the decklist for an upgraded version of your deck. You can see examples for the Exodus preconstructed decks here.

    If I recall correctly, the Sleeper decklist was upgraded into a G/W deck with 4 copies of Argothian Enchantress.
    The decklists on the Wizards website contain at least one mistake. The mono-white Sleeper decklist contains Darting Merfolk, which is (i) the wrong colour and (ii) not from Urza's Saga.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on [L2] Wall Triballistic
    Quote from void_nothing »
    The rares are the standouts here, but what the hell is Nemesfém doing? Can you, officially, see your sideboard in-game? Cast him from the battlefield?

    Section 3.15 of the Tournament Rules:

    During a game, players may look at their own sideboard and the sideboard of any players they currently control.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on "Counter"/"Negate"/"Marker"
    Why not chips?
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on G/U/W - Free Stuff Midrange
    Quote from blackcat1300 »
    Quote from lajube »
    Oath of Gideon works. I would like to call a judge about Oath of Ajani. I was pretty sure you are required to choose 0 for X if you aren't paying the mana cost.

    107.3b If a player is casting a spell that has an {X} in its mana cost, the value of X isn’t defined by the text of that spell, and an effect lets that player cast that spell while paying neither its mana cost nor an alternative cost that includes X, then the only legal choice for X is 0. This doesn’t apply to effects that only reduce a cost, even if they reduce it to zero. See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”

    601.2e The player determines the total cost of the spell. Usually this is just the mana cost. Some spells have additional or alternative costs. Some effects may increase or reduce the cost to pay, or may provide other alternative costs. Costs may include paying mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards, and so on. The total cost is the mana cost or alternative cost (as determined in rule 601.2b), plus all additional costs and cost increases, and minus all cost reductions. If the mana component of the total cost is reduced to nothing by cost reduction effects, it is considered to be {0}. It can’t be reduced to less than {0}. Once the total cost is determined, any effects that directly affect the total cost are applied. Then the resulting total cost becomes “locked in.” If effects would change the total cost after this time, they have no effect. #

    So you have to say the you are casting the spell for X of 1 and then the cost get reduced but the stated cost was 1 so you get 1 loyalty counter, even if you are not spending any mana you still technically cast the spell for 1. Unless you stated that you were casting it for 0. The it is 0.

    I don't really have a dog in this fight, but you can check the Amonkhet Release Notes here. I've bolded and underlined the relevant ruling, which also gives a concrete example.

    Quote from Amonkhet Release Notes »
    As Foretold
    At the beginning of your upkeep, put a time counter on As Foretold.
    Once each turn, you may pay 0 rather than pay the mana cost for a spell you cast with converted mana cost X or less, where X is the number of time counters on As Foretold.
    • If you cast a card for an alternative cost of 0, you can't pay any other alternative costs, such as emerge costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, such as that of Tormenting Voice, you must pay those to cast the card.
    • A card's converted mana cost is determined solely by the mana symbols printed in its upper right corner. The converted mana cost is the total amount of mana in that cost, regardless of color. For example, a card with mana cost 1UU has converted mana cost 3. Ignore any alternative costs, additional costs, cost increases, or cost reductions that could apply to it. A card with no mana cost has a converted mana cost of 0.
    • If you're casting a split card, only the converted mana cost of the half you're casting is compared to the number of time counters on As Foretold.

    • If the card has X in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it for another cost that doesn't include X. For example, if there are five time counters on As Foretold and you choose to use its effect to cast Pull from Tomorrow, X must be 0. X can't be 2, even though the spell's converted mana cost would be 4.
    • If you control multiple As Foretolds, you may cast one spell for each of them paying 0.
    • All counters with the same name are indistinguishable from other counters with that name. Cards from the Time Spiral block that interact with time counters will interact with As Foretold.

    Posted in: Standard Archives
  • posted a message on Help with a ruling on a weird card!
    Quote from Roccovsky »
    "Mimetic Virosa has all abilities of all creature cards in all graveyards, except its base power and toughness can't be changed by abilities gained this way."

    I think this covers everything.

    Doesn't quite address the CDA issues that Thought Criminal brought up.

    If you have Transguild Courier and Barrage Tyrant in your graveyard, is the Virosa all colours or none of them?
    Posted in: Custom Card Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.