2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Give//Take Question
    No, you will follow the instructions in order starting with Give and ending with Take.

    Upside, you draw 7 cards. Smile
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Using Knowledge to My Advantage
    Yes. You cannot go to any excessive means to obtain hidden information but if your opponent happens to accidentally reveal something, you are most certainly allowed to use the information.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on True-Name Progenitus
    Nothing has changed about Progenitus, it still cannot be damaged, enchanted/equipped, blocked or targeted.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Direct rules contradiction?
    Quote from Crimeo
    "Must be at the beginning"
    "Do not need to be at the beginning"

    ^ That is a contradiction, not an expansion. An expansion would be adding optional, additional rules that can coexist with the main ones. That's not what's going on there. These two things cannot both be true at the same time.


    The Rules Theory and Templating Forum is likely a better venue for your concerns. I suggest making a thread there if you consider this an issue.

    Edit: The word 'Must' does not occur in rule 603.1, I'm failing to see your point.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Direct rules contradiction?
    Delayed triggered abilities are a subset of Triggered abilities, hence why they are described later in section 603 of the CR.

    The rules do not contradict, they are merely expanding on a single concept.

    Your argument on replacement effects is not valid since delayed triggered abilities still must contain one of those three words, the only difference is the placement of said words.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Pit Fight in combat
    Quote from svoight
    During the declare blockers phase how would pit fight interact?

    Can I use it on an attacking creature to have it eliminate another creature that is not blocking it and (if it survives) still do damage to the blocking creature?

    Yes, fight does not remove creatures from combat.

    Willl damage received from pit fight stay on my creature when determining damaged from blocking creature?


    Yes, damage remains marked until the Cleanup Step at the end of a turn.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Notion Thief Ruling
    Quote from Titus0
    Opponent ends his turn. During end step, I cast Brainstorm. Asks for response. He has no response and passes priority back to me. I then cast my Notion Thief.


    You do not get priority back after your opponent if he does not respond. Brainstorm would resolve and you do not have an opportunity to cast Notion Thief. If you want to cast Notion Thief you would need to hold priority after casting Brainstorm or do so before casting Brainstorm.

    To answer the question you are asking though, yes you would get to draw three. If both players in a game control Notion Thief they effectively cancel each other out.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Bestow and Protection from Creatures
    Sounds like a bug.

    At the point during the process of casting a spell where you need to choose targets you already chosen to pay the Bestow alternate cost which means the bestow card is no longer a creature spell.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Mandatory trigger loops
    No, you are not required to stop a loop with a spell or ability from outside the loop.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Zealous Conscripts and Olivia Voldaren
    Quote from TheBlackCat
    Say you play Zealous Conscripts and you target Olivia Voldaren. Then you get back some creature Olivia bit as well. I assume your opponent doesn't get control of your old creature back once you return Olivia right?

    Correct, the effect ended when its duration was met (no longer controlling Olivia).

    I'm also assuming they don't have to bite that creature again just use the bottom ability by itself if they would want to take it back again, but just wanted to double check.

    Correct, that creature is still a vampire and can be targeted by Olivia's third ability.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Relentless Rats in EDH
    Yes, you can make an EDH deck out of up to 99 Relentless Rats if you wanted.
    (I believe the recommended is somewhere in the 30-40 range)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Persist vs. Infect
    You are correct, it would not come back because it had a -1/-1 counter on it when it died which means Persist will not trigger.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Trample vs Planeswalker
    No, trample only affects how combat damage interacts with blockers.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Question about "When Attacks" trigger
    Its too late, the trigger will have resolved during the declare attackers step which is when it checks the power of the Beastmaster. It does not continually check.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Glacial Chasm against Infect
    The damage is prevented so it is never dealt.

    Infect simply modifies what effect damage has, if the damage never gets dealt than infect does nothing.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.