2019 Holiday Exchange!
A New and Exciting Beginning
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Fling in the new standard
    I like the concept, but I dislike using an inherently weak card like Immolating Souleater. Fling works just as well with the out-of-bolt-range Myr Superion.
    Posted in: New Card Discussion
  • posted a message on I guess I'm stupid
    I'm really not sure where your confusion is coming from, so I'll try and break it down.

    I want you to forget the "-1/-1" part.

    A "counter" is merely something that is marked on a card. That's all a counter is, something that keeps track of the number of a kind of mark on a card. A counter is use for, unsurprisingly, counting.

    Let's take Everflowing Chalice for example. When you cast it and it comes onto the battlefield, it gets counters. It then references those counters for its ability.

    Then there are creatures. If a Runeclaw bear receives a single -1/-1 counter, then it has a single -1/-1 counter on it. Whenever anything tries to reference the bear's power and toughness, it will see that it is a 1/1 because of the counter instead of a 2/2.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Tapping abilities on the stack.
    I think it's important to point out here that there is no such thing as a "tap ability" or "tap effect." All that has been described in this thread so far are activated abilities.

    In order to stop activated abilities, you would need another spell or ability which says that it counters activated abilities.

    Other than that, refer to the previous posters for their answers.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Cookie Monster [B/R/W Control]
    Quote from DaGarver
    Revoker goes on the stack and resolves. When it enters the battlefield, its ability triggers. Priority is passed to the opponent. Before the ability resolves, activated abilities of those permanents can still be activated. So, if you name Sparkmage, I can kill it before the ability resolves.

    This is wrong, and it's the exact same kind of misconception that people had with Iona, Shield of Emeria. Neither Iona nor the Revoker have triggered abilities (which are indicated with the words "when" or "whenever").

    Revoker has a static ability which is always in effect the moment it is on the battlefield. If the Revoker names your Sparkmage, you will not be able to use Sparkmage to kill it.

    If you wish to disagree, take your question to the rulings forum and ask there. If I'm wrong, I'll apologize.
    Posted in: Standard Archives
  • posted a message on What Does "All Colors"/ "Pick a Color" Mean?
    In Magic, the only colors are: Black, red, blue, green, and white.

    Edit: Afraid I can't help with citations. Someone else should be along shortly to help with that.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Standard banlist?
    Quote from weise guy
    Nothing is currently banned in the standard format. However, here is a link to the banned/restricted lists for all formats in case you would like them for future reference.

    That's perfect, thanks. And thanks everybody else. Guy tried telling me that Overrun and Overwhelming Stampede were banned in Standard. In my head, I laughed at how ludicrous the statement was (I was around for the Lin Sivvi and Skullclamp bannings).

    Edit: Bah! Technicalities.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Standard banlist?
    Not sure where to look to find such a thing, I'd just like to see if there is anything banned in Standard at the moment. Almost got into an argument with a guy today about it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Old Player Back into Magic some rules questions
    If I may hijack: I have no idea what "batch rules" are. Can anyone enlighten me?

    Edit: Ah, I see. Thanks guys. As luck would have it, I started playing just a couple months before sixth edition was released.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on cursecatcher: sac without countering?
    Any spell or ability that requires a target cannot be cast or activated without a legal target. You need a spell on the stack in order to do what you ask.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Gideon
    Did you turn Gideon into a creature the turn you played him? Are creatures affected by summoning sickness the turn you play them? Is Gideon a creature?

    Your opponent is right on this one. All permanents have summoning sickness, but only creature permanents get affected by it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Consume Spirit on Planeswalker?
    Consume Spirit can deal damage to Planeswalkers by first targetting the player who controls the Planeswalker and then, during resolution, redirecting the damage to the Planeswalker. The choice to redirect is an all or none option, so you can't split the damage between the two. If you cannot target the player, then you cannot redirect the damage. Attacking Planeswalkers is different, but I won't go into it here.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Channeler ruling
    If I'm not mistaken, the Channelers have three static abilities. This means that they are always in effect as soon as it is on the battlefield. So, no, Lightning Bolt won't help unless the top card of your library is a land.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on double strike
    Your confusion isn't as much about double strike as it is about blocking. A blocked creature will remain blocked even if you Terror the blocker. Even if you Unsummon the blocker. Even if you Path to Exile the blocker. Once a creature is blocked, it's blocked period. It doesn't matter if it has First Strike, Double Strike, or even Quintuple Strike, it's still blocked.

    But, as you noted, Trample will allow that damage to go through the blocker, depending on the power and toughness of each creature. And you are correct in your second question, an unblocked Double Strike creature will deal two times its power to the defending player.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Convincing others that you are correct
    Way back when, before I was known at my store for being a rules guy, I would actually ask questions on a site (before this one existed), print it out and show it to them.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on several issues
    1: The two scenarios are not similar. It was also incorrect of the judge to back the game up in the first scenario. Playing a Giant Growth after the defending player chooses not to block is perfectly legal.

    In your second scenario, casting a Mana Leak on your Giant Growth is also perfectly legal.

    2: Unless your opponent cast Dispense Justice after he takes damage, then no, he will not take damage. Assuming your opponent is playing optimally, he will play DJ after the attackers are declared and cause you to sacrifice them well before damage happens.

    Secondly, Smite destroys a blocked creature, not a blocking creature. No damage will be dealt in either case, unless your opponent decides to allow damage to happen for some strange reason, but if we assume optimal play then no, there will be no damage.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.