2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on So Power Creep, much awful
    Quote from Trancebam »
    Funny how no one considers fetchlands trash even in environments without shocklands, but somehow these are bad. Guess that's how power creep gets by.

    You’re really bad at evaluating power level.

    Quote from Trancebam »
    Yes, but MORE useful than a basic land.

    And? What are you even talking about? You think non-basic lands should always be worse than basic lands? That makes no sense and suggests you don’t know anything about Magic.


    You've clearly never read articles about how WotC designs cards.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on So Power Creep, much awful
    Other dual lands have a condition to have them enter the battlefield untapped. Shocklands enter untapped if you take 2 damage. Fetchlands deal 1 damage to you and effectively result in the same thing as these new duals. M10 duals required that you already have a basic (in standard), while Scars duals needed to be one of your first two land drops. These have no real drawback. It's the color you need when you play it. If you have one of these and a basic land in your opening hand, you have both colors you need with no drawback, much like M10 and Scars duals. You could play 12 of these in a 3 color deck, and there's no reason you shouldn't. Who wouldn't play these over any of the other lands I've mentioned? There's no drawback. And in a set that will inevitably have land bounce to promote landfall effects, you're not even stuck on the first color you picked.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on So Power Creep, much awful
    How do you not see power creep? Look at Ruin Crab. Look at Nighthawk Scavenger. Tell me those aren't just better versions of the cards they're calling back to. You all look at the set as a whole and see that it's packed with trash, and because of that you can't see the power creep for what it is.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on So Power Creep, much awful
    Yes, but MORE useful than a basic land.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on So Power Creep, much awful
    Funny how no one considers fetchlands trash even in environments without shocklands, but somehow these are bad. Guess that's how power creep gets by.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on So Power Creep, much awful
    Am I the only one that is put off by the blatant power creep? I remember making custom lands that people criticized for not ETB tapped because they were "strictly better" than basics. Now Wizards is just straight up printing dual lands that don't ETB tapped but you have to settle on one of the two colors. How are these not instantly slotting out basics? Especially with recent duals being harder than ever to have enter untapped? Am I missing something, or is the power creep on display just massive for this set?
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Chance For Glory Twice??
    The only feasible way to counter that game loss is with an effect like that of Time Stop.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Dash cost & Commander tax
    I would note that you can’t cast a commander from the command zone using Ninjutsu. That ability does require the card to be in your hand, and casting a commander from your hand neither invokes nor increases the commander tax.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Recurring Nightmare, Summoning Sickness
    Quote from the_jevry »
    you can however sacrifice the creature during the end step before your turn begins since there isn't a tap ability involved (like svannahlion said, this is assuming reccuring nightmare somehow isn't restricted to sorcery speed)


    No, you can’t. The card itself restricts the ability to sorcery speed, and thus can only be activated on your turn during a main phase while the stack is empty and you have priority.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Destroying a new creature before blockers?
    Yeah, keep in mind it is still in beta. Bugs like this are bound to come up. It is strange though that it wouldn't allow you to do that, as the game forces you to click a button to continue the turn whenever you have an instant you can cast with valid targets. It might be a coding issue specifically with Assassin's Trophy.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Boreas charger, searching for less plains
    You can fail to find any of the 5 since the search is for a specific card, or in this case set of cards. So yes, if you do only wish to find 1, then you can find just 1.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Vedalken Humiliator and Akroma's Memorial
    Yes, the memorial continues to apply. The Humiliator only affects your creatures, not your artifacts. Nevermind, Rezzahan is correct.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kaalia and Aurelia
    Quote from Comp Rules »
    508.4. If a creature is put onto the battlefield attacking, its controller chooses which defending player or which planeswalker a defending player controls it’s attacking as it enters the battlefield (unless the effect that put it onto the battlefield specifies what it’s attacking). Such creatures are “attacking” but, for the purposes of trigger events and effects, they never “attacked.”

    In short, no. Using only those three cards, Relentless Assault would not untap Aurelia, who entered the battlefield tapped because of Kaalia. If you find some way to untap Aurelia, then yes, that would work.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Urza's Incubator and X-costs
    Yes, Urza’s Incubator would do just that. When you cast a spell with an X in its mana cost, you declare the value for X before paying mana. So if you play, for instance, Apocalypse Hydra, you can declare X to be 2, and with the Incubator on the field and Hydra as the chosen creature type, you would only have to pay RG.

    EDIT: It would seem mana symbol tags have changed since I last frequented these forums. Could someone educate me in how to post mana symbols? Thank you.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Gather Specimens /Containment Priest
    Quote from Comp Rules »
    616.1. If two or more replacement and/or prevention effects are attempting to modify the way an event affects an object or player, the affected object’s controller (or its owner if it has no controller) or the affected player chooses one to apply, following the steps listed below. If two or more players have to make these choices at the same time, choices are made in APNAP order (see rule 101.4).


    616.1b If any of the replacement and/or prevention effects would modify under whose control an object would enter the battlefield, one of them must be chosen. If not, proceed to rule 616.1c.

    616.1d Any of the applicable replacement and/or prevention effects may be chosen.

    616.1e Once the chosen effect has been applied, this process is repeated (taking into account only replacement or prevention effects that would now be applicable) until there are no more left to apply.

    You have to choose to first apply the effect that makes it enter the battlefield under his control, which is irrelevant as then the exiling effect would still apply, exiling both creatures entering the battlefield from the graveyard.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.