Lord of the Lings?
- Registered User
Member for 14 years, 5 months, and 14 days
Last active Sun, Jun, 16 2019 23:32:45
- 0 Followers
- 2,534 Total Posts
- 483 Thanks
May 28, 2019Marek14 posted a message on 5/28 Mothership Spoilers Endling, Future Sight, Throes of ChaosPosted in: The Rumor Mill
May 26, 2019Marek14 posted a message on MPL weekly stream preview card - Sword of sinew and Steel (Rakdos sword)Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from RxPhantom »Sinew and Steel? What? Ew. And to those of you saying it should should be Death and Chaos: no. The correct name for this sword is/was:
Sword of Spite and Malice
EDIT: Apparently, Spite and Malice is some card game, but it still sounds cool as hell.
Nah, Spite//Malice is UB.
May 22, 2019Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from AtraxianShade »Can't shake the feeling I already saw the horned creature and the style of the podium(?) somewhere.
Can't really put my finger on it.
Nice how the "give indestructible" ability is not restricted only to a creature of the chosen type.
Reminds me of the Pillar Men in JoJo's Bizarre Adventure... specifically the scene when they are found turned to stone in Colosseum.
May 20, 2019Marek14 posted a message on Over 80% of Modern Horizon cards are completely newPosted in: The Rumor MillQuote from Evil Never Dies »https://markrosewater.tumblr.com/post/184996766838/can-you-give-us-an-idea-of-how-many-new-cards-vs#notes
Well, now that's a great news for me. MaRo says that the new cards are over 80% while reprints around 15%. So, since this set have 254 cards, that means that the reprints are no more than 40 cards basically, while the rest is all new. That's a pretty crazy percentage of new stuff for a supplemental set actually and explains also why this time they didn't choose to separate new cards from reprints in the number crunch list (since they are almost all new cards).
If that is the case, I'm excited for the 5% not covered by either.
Mar 31, 2019Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from Jason Justis »Quote from Marek14 »Have you noticed the rules change on proliferate? In Scars of Mirrodin block, you could add one counter to each permanent or player, of any one type that it already had. Here, proliferate automatically gives one counter of EACH kind. I guess they realized that permanents with multiple kinds of counters appear so rarely that it's not worth it. But it also means that if you have, say, a poison counter and an energy counter, proliferate will automatically give you both or neither -- so both you and opponent would have to decide whether you really want to do that.
Incorrect. Here's the reminder text on Tezzeret's Gambit regarding proliferate.
You choose any number of permanents and/or players with counters on them, then give each another counter of a kind already there.
Yes, that's what I'm talking about. Compare that reminder text to Flux Channeler.
Mar 31, 2019Have you noticed the rules change on proliferate? In Scars of Mirrodin block, you could add one counter to each permanent or player, of any one type that it already had. Here, proliferate automatically gives one counter of EACH kind. I guess they realized that permanents with multiple kinds of counters appear so rarely that it's not worth it. But it also means that if you have, say, a poison counter and an energy counter, proliferate will automatically give you both or neither -- so both you and opponent would have to decide whether you really want to do that.Posted in: The Rumor Mill
Mar 31, 2019Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from Deimos035 »Well, I hate to be *that* guy, but Vraska and Ajani are not too impressive to me. Tez looks okay. Of course, I'll wait for the rest of the cards over time, because I'm not going to bash the set based on those initial reveals
They are lower rarity... of course they are not as impressive.
Jan 18, 2019Since Azor sacrificed his spark to create a powerful artifact, would it be possible that something similar had happened before on Ravnica? That a planeswalker sacrificed their spark to create the original Guildpact? That would explain why Jace, a planeswalker, is able to serve as a Living Guildpact.Posted in: Speculation
So I realized: What if a spark imprisoned in an artifact was unaffected by the changes of Mending? What if it is still capable to transform someone in an old-type planeswalker if they were to merge with it? Wouldn't that explain Bolas's plan?
Sep 9, 2018Was Thantis, the Warweaver responsible for making In the Web of War?Posted in: Speculation
And will we eventually get spiders who made Aether Web, Decimator Web, Magnetic Web, Mana Web, Mantle of Webs, Sunweb and Web of Inertia?
(As for others, Arachnus Web is clearly made by Arachnus Spinner, Tsabo Tavoc is a part spider, so she probably made Tsabo's Web herself, and the simply-named Web was probably made by Giant Spider.)
May 24, 2018Posted in: The Rumor Mill
Once you master the mantra of "Strč prst skrz krk" (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Strč_prst_skrz_krk), a mere Zndrsplt will pose no challenge to you.
Seriously, the Zn combination at the beginning is a bit weird, but otherwise it's just a normal name with two syllabic consonants.
Dec 7, 2017Marek14 posted a message on Very Cryptic Command has Multiple (Randomized?) PrintingsPosted in: The Rumor MillQuote from Jhyrryl »
See rule 707. Face-Down Spells and Permanents in the comprehensive rules.Quote from Raptorchan »More important: does anybody know how to turn creature over?
Specifically, you want 707.2a:707.2a If a face-up permanent is turned face down by a spell or ability, it becomes a 2/2 face-down creature with no text, no name, no subtypes, and no mana cost. A permanent that enters the battlefield face down that wasn’t cast as a face-down spell also has these characteristics. These values are the copiable values of that object’s characteristics.
What's unclear is what happens when you turn over a DFC card. Technically you are not transforming the card (the keyword action has not been invoked), so still have a generic 2/2, but I can imagine that the Un-Rules manager might say otherwise.
The FAQAWASLFAQPAFTIDAWABIAJTBT says:
For the fourth mode, what does it mean to "turn over" a nontoken creature?
Physically turn the card (or cards, if the creature has more than one) over. If the result is a face-down card, it's a colorless 2/2 creature, the same as one would get from using the morph ability. Turning a face-down card over results in it being turned face up. Any abilities that trigger when it's turned face up will work. Turning a double-faced card over is the same as transforming it. Any abilities that trigger when you transform it will work. Turning a combined host/augment creature over will result in a big colorless 2/2 creature represented by two cards. Turning a melded creature over will result in the two cards breaking apart and forming two separate creatures, but they'll probably just get right back together even though she's too good for him. Man, we've made some weird stuff over the years. Oh, I guess turning B.F.M. (Big Furry Monster) over is the same as turning a combined creature over.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.