If we are dreaming about lands, I'd like to see the enemy version of the slow fetches, like Rocky Tar Pit.
Too slow for modern/legacy, still playable in commander.
- Boromir of Borg
- Registered User
Member for 8 years, 9 months, and 11 days
Last active Sun, Mar, 13 2016 12:25:53
- 0 Followers
- 100 Total Posts
- 11 Thanks
Sep 28, 2015There are only 2 artists that I can think of in Magic art that consistently strike me a "bad" or jarring enough that I wonder why this art was used, then I look at the artist and it's the same names:Posted in: Magic General
The Foglios (Way too cartoonish, like newspaper comic style art) and Wayne Reynolds. Some of his are even horrible, but if there is one creature, it is almost always in an action pose with the chest thrust forward and the arms angled behind.
Aven Fleetwing, Bane of Hanweir, Call to Glory, Facevaulter, Goldmeadow Stalwart, ect.
Sep 27, 2015Boromir of Borg posted a message on Would you still buy booster packs if the cards inside were worth nothing?You know what kills the value of cards more then reprints? Not having people to play with. If formats get too inaccessible due to staples being too hard to get, people won't play. People don't play, and the format dies.Posted in: Magic General
Lands especially should be cheap and easy to acqure.
But as to your original question, I don't think of EV when buying sealed product. I get it because it's fun to collect. As I've siad before, Magic is not an investment. It's a game. I've played and spend thousands on many other card games (Star Trek, Star Wars, Lord of the Rings mainly.) I regret none of it. Why? Because I have a 4 year old and a 5 month old. When they get older, there's going to be lots of fun games. I don't buy cards looking to sell them to make a profit, or even get my money back later on.
I've had some financial ups and dons, and it was nice being able to liquidate some of my magic cards. But that's not why I buy them. If it was, I'd play the stock market instead.
When I was playing standard regularly, I get 2-3 boxes of each set. The EV doesn't enter in. The only why it might, is if I could buy complete sets for cheaper then boxes AND get them in 1-2 weeks of the set being out. That's not a thing.
Aug 30, 2015Posted in: The Rumor Mill
NWO *only* deals with complexity at common, not power level, not uncommon.
Also pretty much every burn spell ever interacts directly with PW and those are frequently common.
Aug 11, 2015When building a multi-color deck, I always include the main 3 land cycles:Posted in: Commander (EDH)
From there I fill as needed the rest of the lands, but I was curious, what does the rest of the community consider the 4th best land cycle?
Obvious contenders are:
- Checklands (M10/Inn)
- Pain lands
Aug 8, 2015Marchesa is a delayed trigger, if that makes a difference.Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
She returns it at end of turn, but it triggers on death, so even if she's gone it still comes back.
So to be clear:
Resolve undying first, he's there.
resolve marchesa first, exile move him, ca he still return from exile?
Jun 14, 2015I have a Cytoplast Manipulator with 1 counter on it. I play Marchesa, the Black Rose and graft the counter on to her. The manipulator dies. Now, does the manipulator count as having the counter on it when it dies (due to last know info shenanigans).Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
I know that if a +1 and a -1 counter are present, then annihilate each other, but if the creature would die because of the -1 counter, the game still sees the +1.
I doubt it works the same way, but wanted to make sure.
Mar 23, 2015Precursor Golem seems fine, but Myr Battlesphere is a very powerful rare, especially in a cube level without sweepers.Posted in: The Cube Forum
Maybe Colossus of Akros, since when reanimated he's just an amazing wall, Stuffy Doll can be interesting to build around.
Feb 21, 2015Boromir of Borg posted a message on For those of you who run Powered cubes, what cards do you not play because of power level?Jace, memory adept is the main one. He was in the cube then removed because too strong. (And one of my regulars detests mill. )Posted in: The Cube Forum
I've never run channel or the eldrazi. I'm adding Kozilek, agent of Kozilek and possibly the 8-drop with this next update.
I run time vault, but no voltaic key. Rez and ral zarek both enable the uncapping for I fine, but are (slightly) later in the game.
I don't run contract, but if I did I'd say the ante card goes with the winner of the game for the rest of the draft.
I did run blacker lotus (with the understanding that tear up meant put back in the cube box)
Aug 25, 2014Posted in: SpeculationQuote from Tupie-San »Making the command zone official ie. emblems go there and they can be dealt with. Game changing yes, exciting not really.
If I recall correctly, Emblems already *do* go to the command zone. They just still can't be dealt with. (Except Karn reset.)
Aug 11, 2014So, from what I know the bot software on MTGO works by ORC - scanning the screen and triggering things appropriately. Is there any software anyone is aware of that one could set to recognize the start of a round the same way and send an email to a designated account?Posted in: Other Formats
Aug 6, 2014Boromir of Borg posted a message on After filling a motion to dismiss the copyright infrignment case against HEX, WOTC has responded with 107 examples of copyrightPosted in: Magic GeneralQuote from Thenerdyswede »Isn't it so that you have to defend your copyright to be able to keep it, that if Wotc didn't do anything about this in the long eun they could lose some of their copyrights?
Or am I completly upside down?
I believe that is true for *trademarks*, not copyright.
Aug 5, 2014Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from naimeyers »It says "you can use the activated abilities of planeswalkers you control on any turn at any time you could use an instant." and the planeswalker rule states "Each planeswalker has a number of activated abilities on it. You can play one of these abilities only at the time you could play a sorcery, and only if none of that planeswalker's abilities have been played yet that turn." Does that mean you can activate it once on your turn then on the next players turn and the next... and so on and so forth?
We honestly don't know yet. As the rules are currently written, yes I would say you can activate once every player's turn. BUT, we don't know if that rule will be 'clarified' until we get the release notes for commander 2015.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.