All users will need to merge their MTGSalvation account with a new or existing Twitch account starting Sept 25th. You can merge your accounts by clicking here. Have questions? Learn more here.
Dismiss
 
Magic Market Index for June 8th, 2018
 
Ravnica: The Living Guildpact
 
Magic Market Index for June 1st, 2018
  • posted a message on Lifeline + Legendary creatures / Burn to PWs
    In the situation you've proposed (the first one), Lifeline's triggers will keep returning the Avacyns to the battlefield and they will promptly die from the Legend Rule, once a turn (at the beginning of the end step). And yes, if there are an odd number, one will stay on the battlefield. Whose it is depends on how the triggers get stacked (Lifeline's controller controls all of them, and will thusly get to "choose.").

    As for the second question, yes. Any non-combat damage you control that would be dealt to an opponent can be redirected a planeswalker that player controls. This includes mass-targeted or upkeep-triggered sources.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Cipher Spells and Thalia, Guardian of Thraben
    A pertinent clarification is that "cast without paying its mana cost" is, in the above rules quotes, an alternative cost rather than a cost reduction. Some people misinterpret these rules as "without paying its mana cost" meaning "a reduction of all mana." This is not the case, and as such, the additional cost is still applied, and there is no reduction to apply in this scenario.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Chronic Flooding + Unburial Rites
    You seem to think that you are only allowed to activate mana abilities when you have a spell to play, but Magic doesn't work this way. You can activate a mana ability whenever you like, and the mana goes to an imaginary location, your mana pool. You can later (in the same step!) cast spells using the mana that has been stored there. This is why you can tap the "flooded" land first, and choose what spells to cast later.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Disciple of Bolas
    117.10. Each payment of a cost applies to only one spell, ability, or effect. For example, a player can't sacrifice just one creature to activate the activated abilities of two permanents that each require sacrificing a creature as a cost. Also, the resolution of a spell or ability doesn't pay another spell or ability's cost, even if part of its effect is doing the same thing the other cost asks for.


    Here's the comp rules as well.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Disciple of Bolas
    No. Creatures (and permanents in general) that are sacrificed to pay one cost cannot satisfy the cost of a separate ability. The metaphor that most people typically use is that of a vending machine: You only have one dollar bill, that doesn't allow you to press two buttons on the machine, even though they each just cost one dollar.

    You can see this on some older cards, where weird phrases like "you cannot sacrifice cards that are already on their way to the graveyard" explicitly spelled out. Now it's all just implicit in the rules.

    (there's probably a rules quote, I'll edit it in or someone else will post it)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Cascade and additional costs
    Cascade doesn't apply a cost reduction, it provides an Alternate Casting Cost (of no mana). Additional costs (such as "sacrifice a creature") MUST be paid, and optional additional costs (like kicker or multikicker) CAN be paid, but have no "cost reduction" applied.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Is Rakdos Cackler a monocolored creature?
    No. The hybrid mana symbol makes the creature, for all intents and purposes, both colors that are represented.

    (The only exceptions being cards like Firespout from Shadowmoor that care which mana was used to cast it. Those will specify in the card text.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Resolving spells that allow for choice (such as a charm)
    I just edited those in, sorry about that.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Resolving spells that allow for choice (such as a charm)
    This is not the case. With cards like Izzet Charm, you must choose your "Mode" as a part of the initial casting of the spell. This is locked in to the spell once it's on the stack, and you can't change it later. This is important for things like copying spells (a copied spell has the same modes), and as you show in your example, knowing how to respond to one. Your opponent gets to know what mode you chose for charm before he or she responds.

    From the comp rules:

    (on how to cast a spell):
    601.2b If the spell is modal the player announces the mode choice (see rule 700.2).

    (on modal things in general):
    700.2a The controller of a modal spell or activated ability chooses the mode(s) as part of casting that spell or activating that ability. If one of the modes would be illegal (due to an inability to choose legal targets, for example), that mode can't be chosen. (See rule 601.2b.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on coping Miracle cards
    Correct and correct. A miracle is cast during the draw step, so Chandra can't be activated in time, but an instant like Increasing Vengeance (or Reverberate) can.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on YMTC 18: Salvation Card - Take Root
    Quote from Markwerf
    Sort of like a green oblivion ring


    Hence the flavor text! Woop woop.

    The flavor text that I LOVE, by the way. This card is neat.

    @damagecase: White, by virtue of the color pie, gets better removal than green. Also, Path to Exile is undercosted.
    Posted in: Card of the Month
  • posted a message on Reiterate clarification
    No, a card is only a "spell" when it is on the stack. In the graveyard, it would be an instant or sorcery "card," not a spell.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Memnarch Legal Tagets
    "Permanent" only refers to permanent cards that are currently on the battlefield.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Precursor Golem + Rite of Replication
    If you only have one precursor golem and the two token golems, a single kicked Rite (targeting a token golem) will leave you with 27 golems, 6 of which are Precursors.

    If you do it AGAIN, you get 4 Million. And that's that.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Is a planeswalker considered a creature or a player?
    Planeswalkers are NOT considered players, BUT you can deal damage to them with pillar of flame.

    If a source you control ever deals damage to a player, you have the choice of redirecting that damage to a planeswalker that player controls.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.