2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Is there any way to stop annihilate
    Assuming you mean annihilator the ability on some eldrazi, there are ways. There are several creatures such as Sigarda, Host of Herons or Tajuru Preserver. Effects like these stop annihilator from effecting you.

    Card tags added. -MadMageQc
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Cost reduction and Kicker


    Yes, controlling two would drop the cost to 4.


    Quote from peteroupc »
    It would be reduced to 4B. Like any other cost reduction effect, Edgewalker's applies after additional costs such as kicker are applied (C.R. 601.2f, 702.32); the difference here is the Edgewalker looks only at the colored mana portion of the resulting cost (see also the reminder text).

    For example, if you cast Nullpriest of Oblivion while you control Edgewalker, and decide to apply kicker, that spell's cost becomes 1B plus 3B (kicker), which is reduced by B (Edgewalker, which considers only the BB in the cost up to this point, so it reduces it only by B), for a total of 4B.



    Peter he said he had two edgewalkers.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Lazav, the Multifarious + Myr Welder
    Quote from Funk Pirate »
    Also just as an addition here, even if Lazav, the Multifarious becomes a copy of Myr Welder (or any permanent with 'imprint'), it will be unable to make use of 'imprint' as it only takes effect when that object enters the battlefield, and Lazav is already on the battlefield when it copies and therefore cannot 'imprint' anything.



    This isn’t entirely correct. Myr Welder has an activated ability. The imprint works fine. On the other hand something like chrome mox wouldn’t work because it does have an etb triggered ability.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Eye Of The Storm and Mind's Desire
    Quote from peteroupc »
    Can I opt to put that instant into the stack then and there?

    If you exile a card with Mind's Desire, you choose whether to play that card only right after you exile it (C.R. 608.2f), and not later; playing that card is a one-shot effect



    I think you mean exile with Eye of the Storm. Mind’S Desire let’s you cast it til end of turn.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Dominus of Fealty and Defense of the Heart
    No, you cannot gain control of the defense and then trigger its ability as the beginning of your upkeep has already passed.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Need a little info on tomorrow, Azami familiar (spirit)
    Quote from peteroupc »
    If Narset keeps you from drawing a card, Tomorrow's ability can't replace that with looking at the top three cards of your library and its other effects instead. In general, if something is impossible, it can't be replaced (C.R. 614.7, 101.2, 101.3; see also C.R. 614.17c).

    If you control Tomorrow and an opponent controls Narset, and you haven't drawn a card yet this turn, and—
    • if you would draw one card, then you can still choose to look at the top three cards of your library, etc., instead. Once you do draw a card, however, it would be impossible for you to draw any further card in the same turn (while an opponent of yours controls Narset), so Tomorrow's replacement effect won't be invoked further.
    • if you would draw more than one card at once—
    • —as a cost or as a choice (for example, Consecrated Sphinx or Sylvan Library [C.R. 118.12]), then you can't pay that cost or make that choice (C.R. 121.2b).
      —other than as a cost or choice, then you draw them one at a time (C.R. 121.2). You can apply the replacement effect of looking at the top three cards of your library, etc., multiple times this way (C.R. 121.2b), but once you choose not to and actually draw a card, any further card draws you would do would be impossible, so they can't be replaced and are ignored (C.R. 614.7, 121.6b, 101.2, 101.3; see also C.R. 614.17c).
    For example, if you control Tomorrow and an opponent controls Narset, you haven't drawn a card yet this turn, and an effect makes you draw three cards other than as a cost or choice, you have the following choices:
    • Apply Tomorrow's effect three times. You will not have drawn any cards.
    • Apply Tomorrow's effect twice, then draw the third card.
    • Apply Tomorrow's effect once, then draw the second card. The third card can't be drawn, so nothing further happens.
    • Draw one card. The second and third cards can't be drawn, so nothing further happens.

    See also this thread.

    If you control Possessed Portal and Tomorrow, and would draw a card, you choose whether to skip that draw entirely or to replace it with looking at the top three cards of your library, etc., due to Tomorrow (C.R. 616.1).




    How are you choosing to not apply Tomorrow’s ability? It’s a replacement effect without a may in it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Dauntless Aven Attacking
    No, it is not a cost of attacking. Note, it can untap itself when it attacks, so you generally will have one creature that you can target with it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Modular Monstrosity questions
    True Name Nemesis wouldn't work, as it wouldn't have a player linked to it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Questions about Sunbird's Invocation
    1. Not relevant, invocation only triggers if you cast from your hand.
    2. 0, you didn't cast anything from your hand.
    3. 1, you only cast one spell, the other was simply placed on the stack, not cast.
    4a. No.
    4b. No, even if you could cast it off the Invocation overload is an alternate casting cost and you are already doing an alternate cost through the Invocation.
    5a. Not in this situation, but if you did cast a 4cmc+ spell from your hand, you could pay the buyback as this is an additional cost.
    5b. Not in this situation, but if you did cast a 4cmc+ spell from your hand, yes, Melek can copy any instant or sorceries cast from your library, regardless of how they are cast.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Polymorphist's Jest+Clones
    It would enter as a normal Progenitus. Copy effects only copy what's on the card and other copy effects, and the Jest isn't a copy effect. Note that clone does not target and you can always select Progenitus for your clone.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Quick dominating licid question
    Are you asking if you can activate the Licid and somehow make another creature be the creature that is being attached to something? No that is not how willbender works at all, it changes targets, the only thing it would do to the licid's ability is enable you to change what it is targeting with it's ability.


    Also of note, phasing out a token no longer causes it to cease to exist as off the release of Commander 2017.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mairsil and Graveyard Abilities
    Quote from Rezzahan »
    No. The Mairsil in the graveyard is a different object then the one that caged the exiled cards. It has no connection to them. Only that specific Mairsil on the battlefield that exiled the cards can use the caged cards' abilities. But because ablities that move cards out of a zone other than the battlefield only work while the card with the ability is in that zone, you cannot activate unearth and other "from the graveard" abilities that the Mairsil permanent might have.


    This isn't right. Any caged cards will work with any Mairsil's you control. However the ability that gives Mairsil abilities doesn't function in the graveyard, so it still won't work.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Wildfire Eternal
    Wildfire Eternal casts the spell from your hand, not your graveyard.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Felidar Guardian + Restoration Angel infinite loop
    Felidar is a may trigger, so at some point you will either have to target another permanent you control or decline to use the trigger.

    As to an actual infinite loop that creates a draw, yes there are some, the most notable being 3 oblivion rings with no other legal permanents.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Goblin Dark Dwellers and Twinflame
    This doesn't work, gdd exiles the card when it resolves, so it won't be back in the graveyard.

    Misread the question.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.