2019 Holiday Exchange!
A New and Exciting Beginning
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Zarath San the Trickster (activating ability from hand)

    just wanted to clear up some confusion I’ve had lately about the activated ability on Zareth San.

    The text reads:


    {2+I+S}, Return an unblocked attacking Rogue you control to its owner’s hand: Put Zareth San, the Trickster from your hand onto the battlefield tapped and attacking.

    Whenever Zareth San deals combat damage to a player, you may put target permanent card from that player’s graveyard onto the battlefield under your control.”

    So, when activating this ability from the hand, does that activated ability cost override the cards combined mana cost? Essentially, it seems like I can attack with a creature, then once my opponent declares that it won’t be blocked, I can return that attacking creature to my hand and pay 4 mana, and bring out Zarath San instead; is that correct though?

    If that is the case, can my opponent then block his attack? And also, does Zareth San then remain on the battlefield as a permanent?

    One of those rules that seemed to make sense at first but the more I play it, the more I question it.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.