2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Shroud vs Hexproof
    What is the difference between shroud and hexproof.

    What effect would this have if I play Sakashima's Will using it to make my creatures become a copy of Terror of the Peakswhile having one of the previously mentioned affects on Magda, Brazen Outlaw
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Sakashima's will
    It's a "choose one" and yes, the creature would wreak havoc, might I interest you in a 13/13 Emrakul, the Promised End that became a dragon with Maskwood Nexus and was found by a bounced Magda, Brazen Outlaw, Aphetto Alchemist, and a Imagecrafter infinite combo. (Thank you Commander's Quaters, you created a turn 3 win)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Sakashima's will
    Say your board state is Terror of the Peaks, Lathliss, Dragon Queen and like 14 other creatures, hardly any exaggeration there.
    Then you cast Sakashima's Will targeting Terror. Does Lathliss keep her ability of creating 5/5 tokens or no?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Transformers...the weirdest legal cards
    I tried to get Elbrus/ Withenger to work but they wouldn't load so quick summary:
    Elbru is an artifact that cost 7 to play and 1 to attach it. Whenever the creature it's attached to transform it.
    Withenger Unbound is a 13/13 creature with "Whenever an opponent looses the game Withenger Unbound get 13 +1/+1 counters"
    So for 8 mana and a flyer, you get a flying, 13/13 trampling, imitating demon that gets bigger when a player dies.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Transformers...the weirdest legal cards
    How is it that I can spend 5 white mana to cast Archangel Avacyn then her transformers cog, or her ability, triggers and she becomes a "red" Avacyn, the Purifier. What changes her color and why can't I put her in my Avacyn, Angel of Hope deck.
    Why can't I put Elbrus, the Binding Blade into my M.I.A. deck(Magda, Imagecrafter, and Aphetto). How come it goes from colorless to black.
    You might say "well the rules say that the border determines its color." I'll believe the "the cmc is equal to the amount paid for the front" but not the border. Why not "1{b}: transform Elbrus, the Binding Blade into Withenger Unbound" or make Avacyn cost a red. Wouldn't that be better than the side choosing the color it makes no sense. Although I think EB would be a bit more expensive to transform like maybe 7 or 13, IDK.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Possible dumb question about planeswalkers
    I know this is the second post I've made today, if I need to I'll take a break.

    Okay that aside, saying a single turn, you play a planeswalker, either + or - them, and then get rid of it somehow, shuffle your library and then grab it again play it, all in one turn. Can you activate it again

    For example play Ral, Izzet Viceroy do his +1, then destroy it with Universal Solvent. Then, grab Ral again. Can you +1 him again
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Balduvian Hydra and the long lost +1/+0 coumters
    Anybody remember Balduvian Hydra from Ice Age from 1995.
    How does he work in today's rules. He wants +1/+0 counters. Last time +1/+0 counters was printed on a card was in Coldsnap, in fact 9 cards have this text. However, things that want a single boost of power keeps it until the end of your turn. There's countless of cards that have "x gets +1/+0 until end of turn" where x is either a card or all cards you control

    But back to the question at hand.Balduvian Hydra does he still get +1/+0 counters or does he upgrade and get +1/+1 counters.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Coat of Arms
    Would Coat of Arms be extremely broken with Maskwood Nexus if the rules for Coat of Arms didn't state that it was one +1/+1 counter for each other creature. So like 3 goblins are on field, 2 are warriors and 1 is not. It only counts the goblin piece giving them +2/+2 and the two warriors don't get an extra +1/+1.

    Using card tags is mandatory in the Magic Rulings forum. Please check your private messages to learn how to use them. I've added them for this post.
    -MadMage
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on End step and Treasure
    What about this:
    -Oppent moves to end step
    -You then create 5 treasures, sacrifice them and grab the Hellkite
    -Then create 20 more tokens before your upkeep
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on End step and Treasure
    And I've been partially working on the list and found a few more combos
    Leyline Tyrant says that when it dies you can pay however much red mana and it does damage equal to the amount paid. This with Goldspan dragon, because it makes treasures produce 2 instead of 1, and Toralf because you make as much mana as you think you need to do lethal plus however much damage to a creature or planeswalker to activate Toralf

    Then there's Lathliss and Terror of the Twin Peaks. When you start off the combo you want to find Lathliss, then go get Twin. Because Twin does not exclude tokens, everything you play comes in with a 5/5 dragon buddy, which Terror then throws it for an additional 5 damage. Just need to ensure that the next thing after Terror that you grab is Maskwood Nexus. You could even do this past piece with a sac outlet and Elixer of Immortality.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on End step and Treasure
    Can you even do it to find Hellkite Tyrant and then the 20+ tokens to win
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on End step and Treasure
    So I've been watching The Commander's Quaters lately and I found a combo that I like. Magda, Imagecrafter, and Aphetto Alchemist is a three card combo he was talking about that results in infinite mana. Trying to make something around this, I started to add Hellkite Tyrant
    The question is, at the beginning of the player's end step, the one before you, can you do the infinite loop creating 20+ artifacts to meet Hellkite Tyrant's requirements of 20+ artifacts you win the game
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Question on Model-Double faced cards
    Thank you
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Question on Model-Double faced cards
    So I was looking at Tergrid and seeing how gross she is. I started wondering if there was a way to get both sides of the card instead of just the one side you casted. I mean if Tergrid is on the battlefield and you play Mirage Mirror, can you pick which side you want or does it just copy the side in play

    Tergrid, god of Fright: 3[swamp][swamp]( 5 cmc)
    Menace. Whenever an opponent sacrifices a nontoken creature or discards a permanent, you may put that card from the graveyard onto the battlefield under your control. [4/5]
    Tergrid's Lantern: 3[ swamp] (4 cmc)
    Tap: target player loses 3 life unless they sacrifice a permant or discards a card.
    3[swamp]: untap Tergrid's Lantern

    Mirage Mirror: 3 (3 cmc)
    2: Mirage Mirror becomes a copy of target artifact, creature, enchantment, or land until end of turn
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.