2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on [C20] More EDHREC previews - 3 new cards for the cycling deck
    Herald of the Forgotten is good. Expensive but good. As when you throw in Fluctuator or New Perspectives, Herald might as well be letting you draw a lot of cards for just the 6WW. With the new jeskai partners, that can also mean a lot of extra purphoros-esque damage and a lot of lifegain. As herald is more of your haymaker.

    Dismantling Wave makes a lot of since for its 6WW cost. 5 for cleansing nova, 1 for the uncounterability from cycling, 2 from the self-replacement card draw from cycling. Also again Flux and Perspsctives make this cheaper to clean house with while getting destroyed in the process. But perhaps destroying a stax lock from a bunch of enemy artifacts and enchantments is just what you need to reach lethal.

    Crystalline Resonance is very interesting and probably will have a lot of must-have utility.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Lutri, the Spellchaser preemptively banned
    While this might sound silly: I could run Keruga, the Macrosage with Umori, the Collector and either Obosh, the Burrower or Gyruda, Doom of Depths for the odd/even requirement. As Obosh is not part of your starting deck, hes outside of it, so he doesn't conflict with Umori. Just like how Gyruda doesn't conflict with Keruga.

    And the best way to fill a deck for the odd/even requirement is just the cards like Persistent Petitioners or Relentless Rats.

    Its outright hypocrisy to not allow wishboards but allow companions as you can have 3 companions in your companion-board, but having 3 cards in your wishboard is breaking the bank. And if Lutri, the Spellchaser wasn't preempetively banned, you could have 4 in the companion-board if you just went odd and actually built a deck that wasn't filled with Relentless Rats.

    3-card Wishboard: 103 cards.
    3-card Companionboard: 103 cards.

    One of these is considered heresy to the format, the other is allowed aside from one card.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Lutri, the Spellchaser preemptively banned
    Quote from Kamino_Taka »
    But while I don't have a particular stance for or against SB/Wishboards, allowing Companions while disallowing SB/Wishboards just Irks me to no end.
    Underlined for emphasis as we are on the same wavelength. It irks me as well.

    Banning just Lutri but keeping the companion rules intact creates unnecessary confusion for players unfamiliar with the rules regarding wishes.

    As the initial and primary argument against wishes is that it would mean you would have over 100 cards in your deck effectively if you had a wishboard. Yet for some reason you can do the exact same thing with companions and only Lutri gets banned.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Tuck rule
    Quote from Randuir »
    Quote from elvishbrain »
    I counterspell/destroy/exile/edict your commander. Over and over and over. To the point you now have such a high commander tax, that you can't cast your commander from the command zone. Do you have other cards in your deck that rip the commander from the command zone to your hand OR do you fold?


    There's a big difference between 'I play one spell to tuck your commander, I hope you didn't need him' and 'I play half a dozen spells to keep knocking him back in the command zone, I hope you didn't need him'. In the second case, at least it took a concentrated effort, rather than a single blue spell.
    Well it wouldn't be a dozen spells.

    Lets say your commander costs 1 mana.
    I exile it once, you return it to the command zone. That is +2 tax and your commander now costs 3.

    1st Time: +2
    2nd Time: +4
    3rd Time: +6
    4th Time: +8

    Which as we reach 4+ times, your commander now costs 9 or more mana. As we start climbing to possibly 11 or more mana, the only decks that actively get around that would be decks that actively pack a higher than average amount of ramp, mana dorks, or rock-ramp.

    And if your commander has an initial cost that is more expensive? The process gets acclerated for every 1 mana in its base cost.

    So Sen Triplets for example is 5 mana. Using the 4-strikes from before, Sen Triplets now costs 13 mana on a hard cast.

    If we wanted to use 12-strikes as per your version, even if its just to blow it out of proportion, that would be a +24 tax on the mana cost.

    There is also the probability that you get mana screwed. So after being hit by a single counterspell you may not have enough mana for an unknown variable of turns to cast your commander again. There is also the possibility that before that counterspell, someone might have blown up all the artifacts such as mana rocks very early on, and you managed to topdeck a land to cast your commander. If it gets countered, you now need to scrape two mana together.

    Remember one of the main reasons for tuck being banned? That U/W/x was mandatory? Guess what becomes mandatory? B/x because of Netherborn Altar. Whether or not someone is actively gunning for your commander, that altar provides a cheap and abusable method to skirt around standard commander tax at the cost of only 3 life per activation. And as everyone knows in commander, the only life total that matters is really 1. So as long as you 4 or more life, you can activate it, even if just once, to play your commander and make a comeback.

    You know what was mandatory when tuck existed? Tutor spells. Even a Mwonvuli Beast Tracker is a tutor that could be used to grab your commander if it had the requisite keyword.

    All thats been traded is one removal spell for another, and one retrieval method for another.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on [C20] EDHREC - 4 Reprints for the cycling deck
    Well I know I'm buying the jeskai deck then. Certainly wasn't going to pay $30 for that artifact.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Tuck rule
    Quote from Dausuul »
    I played Commander for years when tuck was a thing. I included tuck cards, and anti-tuck defenses, in my decks, because that was what you had to do. I was happy when it left and I don't want to see it return.

    The new rule is simpler and cleaner: Any time your commander is kicked off the battlefield, you can pull it back to the command zone. Magic is a super-complex game and Commander adds another layer on top of that. Anything that adds further complexity has a high bar to meet to justify its inclusion, and "I hate dealing with other people's powerful commanders" does not come close to meeting it IMO.

    The people who run Problem Commanders and do so in a problematic way are the sort of people who had no trouble playing around the tuck rule. It's the casual player whose deck collapses when the commander gets blown out. Tuck just makes life harder for the casual player and puts another weapon in the hands of the pubstomper.
    I counterspell/destroy/exile/edict your commander. Over and over and over. To the point you now have such a high commander tax, that you can't cast your commander from the command zone. Do you have other cards in your deck that rip the commander from the command zone to your hand OR do you fold?

    All commanders are problematic if a player wishes to view it as "everything looks like a nail if you got a hammer".
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Lutri, the Spellchaser preemptively banned
    Only Lutri though? Is it because of the "each nonland card must be a different name" requirement? So what they are saying is I can play the rest of the companion cards? Wouldn't the simpler answer just be ban "All companion cards"? As otherwise that just means for a Sultai deck for example I could just play Keruga, the Macrosage which would easily get jammed into any u/g/x deck.

    And also in regards to wishes. If they allow the rest that means they allow wishes. As the companions are cast from outside the game. So for example, you could just Living Wish the Keruga, the Macrosage to your hand. Not that it would be game breaking, but that the wish can actually be used now and that there could be a situation where other cards care if the card could be cast from the hand or from elsewhere. Such as that new Drannith Magistrate which would normally prevent Keruga from being cast as a companion, but with a Living Wish you actually skirt around the rule.

    ???
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on [C20] Sawtusk Demolisher— player.it preview
    Quote from trolonge3 »
    Quote from elvishbrain »
    Quote from Creedmoor »
    Quote from elvishbrain »
    Seems pretty powerful if you start mutating with the Sawtusk devourer as the base. As each mutation onto it would result in more destroyed permanents. Lets say you mutate a Sawtusk onto a Sawtusk, you destroy one noncreature permanent. Lets say you mutate with a different card after that. You now destroy two noncreature permanets as it gains the effect text of second Sawtusk.


    Wait... what? To my understanding you just destroy a second noncreature permanent... you don't get two triggers from a second mutate. It's just one mutation triggers all of the mutations once.


    Sawtusk (no mutation): No triggers.
    Sawtusk (mutated with Sawtusk 2): 1 trigger.
    Sawtusk (mutated with Sawtusk 3): 2 triggers.
    Sawtusk (mutated with Sawtusk 4): 3 triggers.

    Each trigger of course being the "destroy a noncreature permanent" in response to being mutated.



    you are wrong. it's actualy:

    Sawtusk (no mutation): No triggers.
    Sawtusk (mutated with Sawtusk 2): 2 trigger.
    Sawtusk (mutated with Sawtusk 3): 3 triggers.
    Sawtusk (mutated with Sawtusk 4): 4 triggers.
    Oh wow that is actually more fun. All aboard the mutate train!
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [C20] Cartographer's Hawk— Sheldon Menery preview
    Quote from FlossedBeaver »
    Quote from elvishbrain »
    Quote from wallycaine »
    This card is not legal in Standard.
    Quote from Elvishbrain »
    or standard for example where I potentially have four?


    I'd say that experience easily counts for as much as context. Have you played EDH before? I don't have 7 turns to waste doing absolutely nothing but fetching plains, and my opponents are typically making very aggressive - and potentially game winning - plays by then, especially when they have access to real ramp.
    Well you aren't necessarily wasting 7 turns. Unless you are playing cutthroat edh, but then thats cutthroat edh. Even if you swung, bounced, replayed, you would still have leftover mana. So building a deck a low average cmc would actually mean you could do multiple things a turn.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [C20] Cartographer's Hawk— Sheldon Menery preview
    Quote from wallycaine »
    This card is not legal in Standard.
    Quote from Elvishbrain »
    or standard for example where I potentially have four?
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [C20] Barracuda of the Tide — The Mana Vortex preview
    Its also a fairly hefty fish what with being a 3/4 for 4.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [C20] Daring Fiendbonder — MTG APAC preview
    Quote from Ryperior74 »
    Hey look at this



    I’m talking permanently indestructible

    Now I need to hope it’s a reprint in the keyword counters deck
    Make sure to also get a hexproof counter on their somehow.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [C20] Sawtusk Demolisher— player.it preview
    Quote from Creedmoor »
    Quote from elvishbrain »
    Seems pretty powerful if you start mutating with the Sawtusk devourer as the base. As each mutation onto it would result in more destroyed permanents. Lets say you mutate a Sawtusk onto a Sawtusk, you destroy one noncreature permanent. Lets say you mutate with a different card after that. You now destroy two noncreature permanets as it gains the effect text of second Sawtusk.


    Wait... what? To my understanding you just destroy a second noncreature permanent... you don't get two triggers from a second mutate. It's just one mutation triggers all of the mutations once.


    Sawtusk (no mutation): No triggers.
    Sawtusk (mutated with Sawtusk 2): 1 trigger.
    Sawtusk (mutated with Sawtusk 3): 2 triggers.
    Sawtusk (mutated with Sawtusk 4): 3 triggers.

    Each trigger of course being the "destroy a noncreature permanent" in response to being mutated.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [C20] Capricopio
    Quote from Gutterstorm »
    You're half an hour late but no worries.

    This creature gives me a good hardy laugh. "No I don't want it you take it!"
    Gives new meaning to "pass the buck"
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [C20] Cartographer's Hawk— Sheldon Menery preview
    Quote from FlossedBeaver »
    Quote from wallycaine »
    I just wanna point out that nothing prevents you from dropping the hawk again the same turn it bounces itself. If ramping becomes that important, you can just keep hitting people, bouncing the hawk, and replaying it that same turn. So it doesn't have to ramp on turns 3, 5, and 7, it can ramp on turns 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 if you can keep connecting and want to invest in it.


    The point was already made that, while you're busy fiddling with Glacier Hawk, any player ramping with green is already going off and winning the game.
    Hmm not necessarily. Context is king afterall. Out of context skews things.

    Are we playing commander where I only have one hawk, or standard for example where I potentially have four? Do I have access to a haste enabler such as Crashing Drawbridge? How many ramp spells have been played by my opponent? How many more lands are they ahead? What turn is it? Does my opponent have reach? Does my opponent have an anti-air spell?
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.