Since Throne of Eldraine it seems Standard has been a roller coaster of "That seems cool, let's print that!" then "oops, turns out Oko, Thief of Crowns was really ******* broken, so ***** lets ban him". Then it's "Omnath, Locus of Creation decks are now literally 30% of the meta, so lets ban Uro, Titan of Nature's Wrath instead of him. And we ended up having to ban Omnath anyways. Oh well."
Yes, I'm pretty salty. I pulled an Uro and didn't get a chance to sell him before his ban, and now he's dropped $15.
Then again, I don't play standard anyways, and I pulled a foil borderless Oko at a draft and sold him right before I was banned and got $80 off him. So maybe I should be grateful to Wizards for making such a blatantly overpowered card.
I don't feel I'm alone with my general loathing of Wizards right now, with bans happening every other day and the new Walking Dead *****.
This isn't mindless rage posting, I'm just trying to figure out how everyone else feels. My playgroup is definitely on the "**** Wizards" side of things, but I don't know how everyone else is.
Also, I heard that Oko was a misprint, that his "target artifact or creature becomes a useless 3/3" was actually supposed to be "target artifact or creature YOU CONTROL becomes a 3/3 dork". Does anyone know if that's true?
- Registered User
Member for 1 year, 6 months, and 12 days
Last active Wed, Aug, 11 2021 12:34:18
- 0 Followers
- 41 Total Posts
- 2 Thanks
Jun 1, 2020So I have three movie quotes from movies I love. One is humorous, while two are rather harsh. All three are extremely true. Which do you think I should use?Posted in: Community Discussion
The funny one:
"You know, when life gives you *****, you make Kool-Aid."
-Sam Jackson, The Hitman's Bodyguard
And the harsh ones:
"Here's the thing. Life is an endless series of train wrecks with only brief commercial-like breaks of happiness."
-Wade Wilson, Deadpool
"I'd like to share a revelation that I've had during my time here. It came to me when I tried to classify your species and I realized that you're not actually mammals. Every mammal on this planet instinctively develops a natural equilibrium with the surrounding environment but you humans do not. You move to an area and you multiply and multiply until every natural resource is consumed and the only way you can survive is to spread to another area. There is another organism on this planet that follows the same pattern. Do you know what it is? A virus. Human beings are a disease, a cancer of this planet."
-Agent Smith, The Matrix
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Oct 22, 2020Rezzahan posted a message on Do you have to calculate damage for your opponent?At regular REL (rules enforcement level), derived information is treated as free information, so at FNM and similarly low level events you have to tell your opponent, yes, and it has to be true. At a higher REL, they have to figure it out themselves, though you are of course free to help them do that if you wish. However, the actual damage dealt must be correct, you cannot let your opponent take more or less damage just because they miscalculate, or you miscalculate. If they or you make a calculation error, the other player has to step in and correct it. Because the game state has to be kept clear and correct by all players.Posted in: Magic Rulings
Oct 21, 20203drinks posted a message on Looking for a good, big, cheap tablet to display the MTG Lifecounter AppPosted in: Commander (EDH)Quote from user-21171494 »So far, we have been playing with the commander life-wheels and used D20 to signal commander damage - while command tax was usually displayed by a d6. Now I'd like to upgrade our life/ tax / poison / storm / and so on counting to a tablet - but I realized our tablet is too old. Now, before I put the effort in researching tablets to go with the mtg life counter app - maybe someone can suggest something?
- Big Screen
- Long Battery life
- Fast enough to run the app
- Reasonable priced
- Whatever I forgot.
Onn branded (a Walmart in house brand) has a 8in tab for ~$59 and a 10.1 in for $79. There's also a 7in version of these running AndroidGO (a slimmed reskin of the Android OS for function, with slightly worse specs) for $40 if you can find it. Check your local stores for listings as not all Walmarts carry the same products on the floor. These tabs last ~5.5hrs (the 7in one lasting about 4hrs), which is more than enough for a game or two of commander. Otherwise they do come with an AC adapter you can plug into the wall.
If you have some kind of aversion to Walmart's unbranded electronics, you can also look into LG and Samsung, these are starting at $149 and are going up - Samsung's top tablet model for the current year, which to it's credit is boasting stats and hardware at least equal to, and in some cases greater than - Chromebook laptops. These top models, with all the bells and whistles, are running you just above $300 out the door.
Lastly, if you have a flagship phone (mine is an s8+ I got on launch day) those typically have good, long lasting battery life. I use MTG Tracker on mine, and it is a beautiful interface with no ads, and has paid functionality (I don't use it, but others might care for those services). This you can find on the Google Play Store, though I don't have any idea if it's on the App Store because I refuse to use any iOS products. If you have an aversion to Google products, then instead of the Play Store, you can find MTG Familiar on the F-Droid repo, which is a fully free and open source program and is a great life tracker app. Being open source and free of course, means there's never any intrusions or awful screen covering ads, or developers trying to shill their patreons or whatever at you.
Oof, this is great advice. We forget just how frequently devices are phoning home and constantly searching for wifi, airplane mode is a terrific suggestion to preserve battery life. And also a great way to not get distracted with any obnoxious interruptions in random texts or discord servers during your game. Quality.
Aug 27, 2020Posted in: Magic RulingsEidolon of the Great Revel doesn't say "may", but I heard about some guy losing a world championship because he mistriggered on it. Once you miss your opportunity, is it too late, even if it's listed as mandatory?
In this situation in a sanctioned tournament, if players notice that the game was handled improperly, they should call a judge (see also M.T.R. 1.10).
In sanctioned tournaments, how a forgotten triggered ability is handled depends on what the ability's effect is and the rules enforcement level of the tournament, among other things (M.T.R. 4.5; J.A.R., "Common Issues"; I.P.G. 2.1).
In sanctioned tournaments at Regular rules enforcement level, if a triggered ability with no optional effects (such as Neheb, the Worthy's last ability) (see also C.R. 603.5) is forgotten, and a judge is called, a judge will generally "put the ability on the stack unless [they] think it would be too disruptive [and unless] significant decisions have been made based on the effect not happening" (J.A.R., "Common Issues").
In sanctioned tournaments at Competitive or Professional rules enforcement level, in general, if a triggered ability with no optional effects (such as Prized Amalgam's delayed triggered ability) (see also C.R. 603.5) is forgotten, and a judge is called in the same turn, a judge may assess a Missed Trigger infraction against the player responsible for remembering that ability (I.P.G. 2.1). If so, then with limited exceptions, "the opponent chooses whether to put the triggered ability is added to the stack. If it is, it's inserted at the appropriate place on the stack if possible or on the bottom of the stack" (I.P.G. 2.1).
In sanctioned tournaments in general, players who intentionally ignore "their own triggered abilities" have cheated (M.T.R. 4.5).
See also this thread and this thread.
In this situation in a sanctioned tournament, if players notice that the game was handled improperly, they should call a judge (see also M.T.R. 1.10).Or what about people forgetting about "creatures you control get +1/+1" or similar effects? There are times I've attacked with a creature, then my opponent tells me "wait that should be dead from combat damage last turn, put it in your graveyard". Does my creature belatedly die? Or does nothing happen and the game just goes on?
In any case, an ability that reads "Creatures you control get +1/+1" is not a triggered ability (C.R. 603.1), so the tournament rules and policy relating to triggered abilities and the Missed Trigger infraction don't apply here. (In this case, there is a mandatory action, namely a state-based action [such as C.R. 704.5g], but it arises out of the rules, not from a triggered ability.) In sanctioned games, however, an object's power and toughness is considered "derived information" (or "free information" in Regular rules enforcement level) (M.T.R. 4.1), and every player is entitled to know an object's power or toughness and "players may not represent derived or free information incorrectly" (M.T.R. 4.1). In games sanctioned under Regular rules enforcement level, "judges are encouraged to help players in determining" an object's power or toughness, which is considered free information, but in other sanctioned games, "must avoid assisting players with" this information (M.T.R. 4.1). See also this thread.
Oct 15, 2020Rest in Peace is a replacement effect. With RIP out, Rancor never goes to the graveyard, it goes to exile instead.Posted in: Magic Rulings
Rancor's ability is triggered. It needs Rancor to actually be put into the graveyard to trigger. As Rancor goes to exile rather than the graveyard, the ability never triggers. Rancor stays in exile.
Oct 3, 2020Posted in: Commander (EDH)Quote from Shadow345 »Because banned as companion was 'too complex' which is a complete underestimation of the intelligence of the average player.
When the average player figures out deodorant I'll have more faith in bans like that.
Oct 1, 2020bobthefunny posted a message on What is the biggest, scariest creature you can think of?Blue will give you additional polymorph effects, as well as so additional token producers. Green will likely give you some of the better Big Scary Creatures, as well as the ramp to cast them should you accidentally draw them. Black has some powerful creatures as well, though they usually scream more "Combo!" Black also gives you good rez effects that works with big creatures, as well as discard outlets. White will give you powerful recursion and protection options, as well as prime removal.Posted in: Commander (EDH)
Here's a few ideas that jump immediately to mind, I'll try and keep them by color, with red first.
- Goblin Slide - probably a good token maker for this idea.
- Goblin Assault[/c] - consistent token maker.
- Rite of the Raging Storm - consistent tokens.
- Desecrated Tomb - if you go black with a reanimation back swing, this could be a house.
- Minion Reflector and Flameshadow Conjuring - What's better than one big scary thing?
Big Scary Creatures
- Etali, Primal Storm - While not huge in his own right, Etali can certainly take over a game with insane advantage. Getting him out early via poly would be a massive play.
- Avatar of Slaughter - A bit risky perhaps, but is certainly a go big or go home card.
- Drakuseth, Maw of Flames - Big flyer that locks down things, or just does more face melty damage.
- Molten Primordial - All the creatures.
- Hamletback Goliath - stupid big, stupid fast. Hope you've got trample for him.
- Magmatic Force - zap. zap. zap. zap. zap...
- Utvara Hellkite - if you double down on big dragons...
- Dragon Mage - card draw in big creature form
- Godo, Bandit Warlord - go get an Embercleave, and watch people die.
- Homura, Human Ascendant - fun to polymorph into, fun to polymorph... Oh no, he died!
- Avacyn, Angel of Hope - While not offensively terrifying, the potential that Avacyn represents can be backbreaking.
- Zetalpa, Primal Dawn - Big, scary, hard to remove. Any sort of additional buffs get terrifying.
- Angel of Serenity - removal or recursion. I've been surprised at how versatile she is.
- Bruna, the Fading Light - two for the price of one?
- Emeria Shepherd - if you have big things in the graveyard...
- Diluvian Primordial - All the spells.
- Deep-Sea Kraken - easy enough to get out if it ends up in the hand.
- Jin-Gitaxias, Core Augur - ew.
- Scourge of Fleets - one sided board bounce?
- Abhorrent Overlord - massive token army?
- Sepulchral Primordial - All the army.
- Sheoldred, Whispering One - another Praetor.
- Kuro, Pitlord - a lot of life, but you can kill anything.
- Razaketh, the Foulblooded - Stupid amount of tutors with your tokens?
- Balthor the Defiled - If you're running black and red, you may want a slot in your deck for him. Quick button to return a massive army of giant scary things to play.
- Vilis, Broker of Blood - Stupid amounts of card draw. Practically an "I win" button.
- Apex Altisaur - The first rule of Fight Club is...
- Terastodon - now super cheap to get!
- Craterhoof behemoth - I hate even saying its name, but... it IS effective.
- Worldspine Wurm - Just.. Big...
- Stonehoof Chieftain - Big. Indestructible. Trample. Makes other things big, indestructible, trample. Check.
- Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger - yeah. Praetors.
- Woodfall Primus - Terastodon #2?
- Spearbreaker Behemoth - more indestructible.
- Paleoloth - hey, get them back!
- Various Eldrazi and Blightsteel - you lose the eldrazi cast triggers, but they're usually still beefy and terrifying.
- Mayael the Anima - Pretty common for this Strategy. Effective colors, but may overshadow the polymorph aspect of the deck.
- Purphoros, Bronze-Blooded - Sneak attack in the command zone. You know, in case you draw this things. Could also be in the deck.
Sep 28, 2020The template depends on if you want to target before you pay or after. Also, you probably want to make it so you can "over pay" on the vampires power or you will run into situations where you can't target the permanent you want, especially if you have any lords out.Posted in: Custom Card Creation
Whenever ~ attacks you may pay (W/B)(B/R) and sacrifice any number of attacking vampires. If you do destroy targrt nonland permanent with converted mana cost X or less where X is the total power of vampires sacrificed this way.
This asks for the payment on attack then you target.
Sep 23, 2020Posted in: Magic Rulings
If they try to counter my Fury Storm, could I use a Fury Storm copy to copy the counter, and at least get two Opts?
No. Any copy trigger is still on the stack waiting to resolve, which they cannot do while the counterspell is on top of them. And the counterspell is on top because the copy triggers go on the stack before any player gets priority. You passed, and they cast their spell. So without some other spell to copy the counterspell, or a counterspell of your own, that counterspell will counter your Fury Storm before any copies of it are created.
(Alternatively, they could wait until the copies are created and then counter the original Fury Storm for example to leave you only with the original Opt. But then there is no counterspell to target with your copies yet.)
However, even without the original around, you will still get copies of Fury Storm via its own trigger, and thus can still opt to copy Opt. If you get two copies off that trigger, you can make the first target Opt and the second the other copy to keep your loop going.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.