2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on If all players are planeswalkers...?
    Quote from WizardMN »
    No, they in fact did not print a 2 mana "target player loses the game" spell.

    Yes, there is a lore thing where players are planeswalkers but while actually in a game they are not planeswalkers because that is not how it works in the rules (and because games would be pretty dumb to just end with the spells you have mentioned). The rules dictate how the game works, irrespective of the lore and planeswalkers are simply a card type, like creatures.


    Wait, really? I thought for sure my modern deck of nothing but "destroy target planeswalker" spells was a fantastic idea.

    Sorry haha when I'm bored it seems my brain ceases to function :/
    Posted in: Storyline Speculation
  • posted a message on Run Terminate or Dreadbore?
    I've seen a lot of decks run Terminate but not Dreadbore. They were competitive decks, so price wasn't an issue. Is that the right call?

    Here are my arguments for why you should run each card:
    Terminate is an instant, so you can end-step-remove annoying things. It can't be regenerated, so **** you Skithiryx, the Blight Dragon, and most Commander decks don't run Planeswalkers anyways.

    Dreadbore can get rid of Planeswalkers.


    Actually just now after typing those I'm not sure if I even need to post this but it can always help to get a second opinion. Or just run both.
    Posted in: Multiplayer Commander Decklists
  • posted a message on If all players are planeswalkers...?
    In MTG lore, all players are Planeswalkers. Thus the ads about "unleash your Spark!". Does that mean "destroy target Planeswalker" cards like Hero's Downfall and Dreadbore actually read as "destroy target player"?

    I asked this here because I figured I might get in trouble for trolling if I asked it in the Rulings section.
    Posted in: Storyline Speculation
  • posted a message on Some Stupid question about planeswalker's
    First of all, your first three questions should probably have been put under Magic Rulings. Also, I don't know if this is technically a necropost but I figured a late answer is better than no answer.

    And your questions:
    Planar Cleansing gets rid of all Planeswalkers (including yours).

    I don't know what "Do planeswalker exiled by Vraska's Contempt or Door to Nothingness?" means.

    If your opponent destroys your Prison Realm, they get their boyo back.

    I don't know whether Nicol Bolas is now a creature or Planeswalker, but it's rather immaterial since he's locked up in the Prison Realm. I would bet his card type would be "Sad, lonely bastard who has all of eternity to contemplate how badly he ****ed up"

    Since you could just read the card The Immortal Sun, I assume you're asking about the lore. The Immortal Sun is a magical artifact that prevents Planeswalkers from Planeswalking away. Bolas used it to trap Planeswalkers on Ravnica so he could kill them all without the risk of them running away. He didn't care about their abilities because he was such a cocky prick he figured they wouldn't be a challenge. Below is the description about Bolas's usage of the Immortal Sun during the War of the Spark, from https://mtg.gamepedia.com/Immortal_Sun

    Bolas used the Immortal Sun to trap many planeswalkers on Ravnica, after they had been lured there by the Interplanar Beacon, to harvest their sparks. Chandra, Nissa, Saheeli, and Lavinia (plus Lazav) were tasked with shutting off the Immortal Sun. At New Prahv, they managed to do so after defeating Dovin Baan, which resulted in a lot of planeswalkers fleeing the plane. Jace had taught Chandra Azor's nine words that would shut off the Sun, that he had dug up from the sphinx's mind. Chandra managed to shut it off with the spell after briefly being kind of possessed by its power.

    Afterwards, before the final battle with Bolas, they decided to reactivate the Immortal Sun to prevent Bolas from escaping. The Immortal Sun was shut off again at the very end after Bolas was defeated, but it was not destroyed in the event that it's needed again.
    Posted in: Storyline Speculation
  • posted a message on Do you have to calculate damage for your opponent?
    Quote from Rezzahan »
    At regular REL (rules enforcement level), derived information is treated as free information, so at FNM and similarly low level events you have to tell your opponent, yes. At a higher REL, they have to figure it out themselves, though you are of course free to help them do that if you wish. However, the actual damage dealt must be correct, you cannot let your opponent take more or less damage just because they miscalculate, or you miscalculate. If they or you make a calculation error, the other player has to step in and correct it. Because a player's life total is free information at every REL.


    Thank you!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Do you have to calculate damage for your opponent?
    First of all, I know this is a dirty way of playing, and I'll only do it if I really need to.

    I play Bogles, where you take a 1/1 hexproof and stack a bunch of auras on it to make it really scary, with Ethereal Armor, Daybreak Coronet, Rancor etc. As a result, the power and toughness are kinda hard to calculate, especially with Ethereal Armor counting other auras and Rancor adding power but not toughness. It's pretty common for people to not realize Ethereal Armor counts Leyline of Sanctity or forget about Kor Spiritdancer's passive buff. All of the online guides I read said "never calculate it for your opponent, because if they declare no blocks then die instantly that's game, and the judge will back you up."

    The battlefield is public information, but do I have to do the math? If I refused, I'd have to let them pick up my 7-card stack of auras and figure it out for thmeselves, but is it still possible? The first time I tried that stunt, my opponent got very frustrated and said "okay, then I take 5" when my boyo was clearly stronger than that.

    And I assume it's a big no-no to lie about his power to get them to block badly.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Rancor and Rest in Peace?
    Quote from willdice »
    Rest in Peace is a replacement effect. With RIP out, Rancor never goes to the graveyard, it goes to exile instead.

    Rancor's ability is triggered. It needs Rancor to actually be put into the graveyard to trigger. As Rancor goes to exile rather than the graveyard, the ability never triggers. Rancor stays in exile.


    Damn, that sucks. Thank you for answering!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Rancor and Rest in Peace?
    So if I have a Rest in Peace out, and the creature that my Rancor is attached to dies, does my Rancor get exiled or go back to my hand?
    Thanks
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Brainstorming ways to weaponize Kenrith
    Although it doesn't weaponize his abilities, the three of these reduce the cost to just the one colored mana, making it cheap and easy to keep pissing off your opponents.

    Biomancer's Familiar
    Heartstone
    And the best, Training Grounds
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Looking for a good, big, cheap tablet to display the MTG Lifecounter App
    Find an old tablet that's selling for like 50 bucks, and it should work, but don't sue me. Maybe ask the seller to install the app and see if it works?

    Most life total apps aren't especially life-draining or lag-causing. The vast majority of battery that gets drained by a device is used by the screen, so turn down the brightness and it'll live longer. If it's the only thing you're using on it, starting at 100% battery, it should last several hours, especially if you have the brightness down and airplane mode on so it's not wasting battery sending and receiving wifi and roaming signals.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Anyone else salty at Wizards?
    Since Throne of Eldraine it seems Standard has been a roller coaster of "That seems cool, let's print that!" then "oops, turns out Oko, Thief of Crowns was really ******* broken, so ***** lets ban him". Then it's "Omnath, Locus of Creation decks are now literally 30% of the meta, so lets ban Uro, Titan of Nature's Wrath instead of him. And we ended up having to ban Omnath anyways. Oh well."

    Yes, I'm pretty salty. I pulled an Uro and didn't get a chance to sell him before his ban, and now he's dropped $15.

    Then again, I don't play standard anyways, and I pulled a foil borderless Oko at a draft and sold him right before I was banned and got $80 off him. So maybe I should be grateful to Wizards for making such a blatantly overpowered card.

    I don't feel I'm alone with my general loathing of Wizards right now, with bans happening every other day and the new Walking Dead *****.

    This isn't mindless rage posting, I'm just trying to figure out how everyone else feels. My playgroup is definitely on the "**** Wizards" side of things, but I don't know how everyone else is.


    Also, I heard that Oko was a misprint, that his "target artifact or creature becomes a useless 3/3" was actually supposed to be "target artifact or creature YOU CONTROL becomes a 3/3 dork". Does anyone know if that's true?
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Mono-Colored Fetch Lands
    I play a Bogles modern deck, where you stick a bunch of auras on a 1/1 hexproof and make it very scary. Pretty much the only way they can get rid of it is by making you sack it, with something such as Liliana of the Veil. One way we Bogles players counter that is by running Dryad Arbor which is a Forest creature, which means you can fetch for it. So all of my fetches have to be green fetches. I run 4 selesnya and 2 gruul fetches, but the nongreen color doesn't even matter. So I've come up with this, which would hopefully only go for about $5 if actually printed. I have no idea how a price is exactly determined, just by supply and demand, but hopefully it'd be cheaper.

    Andelain
    Land
    {T}, Pay 1 life, Sacrifice Andelain: Search your library for a Forest card, put it onto the battlefield, then shuffle your library.


    If anybody is wondering, Andelain is a place in one of my favorite series, The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on What is the biggest, scariest creature you can think of?
    I mean, there are a lot, but worldspine wurm is pretty good here. When it's killed, you still have 15 trample power on the board and your opponents have 3 more creatures to deal with. Plus, since it shuffles back into your library, you will be able to keep "cheating it out" with similar spells.

    I'll be willing to give more suggestions, but I'd like to at least know what colors you're running first. Is it just red?


    I'm not sure yet. It'd definitely be red, but I'll figure out what commander to use once I know the creatures I'm running so I can match the color identity well. So just any big creature will work.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on [Primer] G/W Auras (Bogle)
    Mainboard Lurrus of the Dream-Den or Leyline of Sanctity?

    So my entire deck is CMC 2 or less, except for the 4-drop Leyline of Sanctity. I've seen some decks where all 4 are mainboarded, some where all are sideboarded, and some with Leylines in both boards. In order to use Lurrus as my game 1 companion, I'd need to sideboard in my Leylines in later games if needed, like if I'm fighting a burn deck.

    I guess my question is for the first game of the match, and I don't know what other deck I'm playing, should I run Lurrus or my Leylines? Because Leylines will shut down a burn deck but don't do much against Infect, for example. Whereas Lurrus can help in most any match (late game, at least.)

    Even without Lurrus, I usually keep a few Leylines in to buff Ethereal Armor. Is that a mistake? Should I just replace those Leylines with more auras like Gryff's Boons and Spider Umbras?

    It seems like Lurrus could be funny gimmick to have as a companion, but wouldn't do much good except in drawn-out games, as he takes 6 mana to get out. Is he worth it, compared to the risk of a fast loss to a game 1 burn deck?
    Posted in: Aggro & Tempo
  • posted a message on How to properly word an awkward ablity?
    So I'm trying to make a Vampire tribal commander. Whenever he attacks, I can pay some mana and sack any number of Vamps I'm attacking with. Then I can destroy a nonland permanent with CMC equal to the total power of the sacked creatures. How would I phrase that?

    Would I word it using "Vampires", or "Vampire creatures"? I've seen both ways used.


    I think I have the "may pay mana" thing right based off Alesha, Who Smiles At Death.

    So like this:

    Whenever ~ attacks, you may pay {W/B}{R/B} and sacrifice any number of attacking Vampires you control with total power X. If you do, destroy target nonland permanent with converted mana cost X.

    or like this? ~ represents the card name.

    Whenever ~ attacks, you may pay {W/B}{R/B}. If you do, you may sacrifice any number of attacking Vampires you control. If you do, destroy target nonland permanent with converted mana cost equal to the total power of the sacrificed creatures.

    On The Gatherer (Wizards' card database) the oracle text for Sword of the Ages uses the X method. Is this how it would work?



    Also, I'm trying to make him not too broken as a Mardu Vamp tribal commander (about the level of Edgar Markov. Should it be destroy or exile? What about nonland perm or creature?

    Either way, it's definitely going to be nonland, so you can't just sack 0 creatures and then wipe all their lands.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.