Seems like your -3 shouldn't require you to lose 2 life. The +1 is pretty powerful for a +1 (maybe target opponent instead of each?) so it makes sense to lose 2 life, but for the most part any 3-drop or less won't be that powerful in most games. Yeah you could end up cloning a Dark Confidant or Drannith Magistrate, but it seems rare that that would happen.
Maybe you could add something with Rogues? It just seems to fit the Dimir Rogues deck. Maybe the +1 could be "Each opponent discards a card and you draw a card. If you don't control a Rogue, lose 2 life." Just an idea. Maybe that isn't where you were going with him.
- Registered User
Member for 10 months and 11 days
Last active Sat, Dec, 12 2020 20:18:40
- 0 Followers
- 39 Total Posts
- 2 Thanks
Oct 26, 2020Lightningtow123 posted a message on Xout, Existence Thief (UB identity thief planeswalker)Posted in: Custom Card Creation
Oct 25, 2020I liked reading about the lore in those little booklets they put in the fat packs. Then Wizards went to ***** and changed the name to bundles, took out the book and mini boxes, put in an unnecessarily large die, and cut the corner off the box. I started playing in the original Theros and couldn't wait to see what happened with TBD and then I got nothing. Just a little thing saying Elpeth busted out of hell and came back up to start kicking somebody's ass, but it never really shows who. I mean they killed off Xenagos, so who's the baddy? That's what I hate most about fat packs these days. I still use the term fat pack, rather than bundle. I do it to remind myself of when Wizards cared less about making money and more about making the game fun for their players.Posted in: Magic Storyline
RIP Spacegodzilla, Death Corona
Oct 25, 2020First off, Brago, King Eternal is a better commander for a flicker deck as he flickers everything once per turn, not just once. If you don't want him as a commander, at least run the card.Posted in: Multiplayer Commander Decklists
I'm a shameless netdecker and found these decks that look good at first glance:
Those decks seem to put more emphasis on controlling than flickering, though, and I'm not sure if that's the style you're looking for.
Oct 25, 2020I have a friend who did the same thing with Lukka as his Oathbreaker, and Transmogrify as his Signature Spell.Posted in: Multiplayer Commander Decklists
Can Lukka even be your commander? I thought Planeswalkers could only be commanders if they had the "This Planeswalker can be your commander" thing at the bottom of it.
Anywho, try Thud and Fling, so you can hit them with combat damage and then again with instant damage, usually winning in one turn instead of two.
Satyr's Cunning is a horrible card in pretty much every deck except this one, here it's good because of the escape.
Mimic Vat would be just rude in this deck.
Avatar of Slaughter gives double strike, and forcing your opponent's Dark Confidantand Drannith Magistrateto swing doesn't seem so bad.
Emblem of the Warmind and Fervor for haste.
Transmogrify to get out two creatures per turn.
Hammer of Purphoros for the haste, and Golem tokens to -2 on if you're desperate
You seem to be a better deck maker than me and probably already considered then rejected this, but Chaos Warp gets rid of enchantments. Alternatively you can manipulate your library, bounce your commander (so your library doesn't get shuffled), and drop a big boy.
Oct 25, 2020Skulk refers to the power and toughness, not the base power and toughness. If it was referring to base P/T, your hydra would be considered a 0/0 and thus unblockable by a 4/4, but since it's P/T adjusted by +1/+1 counters and the like, it can still be blocked by a 2/2.Posted in: Custom Card Rulings
Oct 25, 2020Lightningtow123 posted a message on Have not played Standard in 20 + years - I am looking for suggestions on a Budget Standard deckMTGGoldfish usually has some cool ideas for budget decks. I made a $30 boros Heroic deck back when the original Theros was in Standard, and it won about half the games I played. Really good considering many were $100+ decks. It was a MTGGoldfish brew.Posted in: Budget (Standard)
Alternatively, look for a tier 1 deck that's a bunch of commons and uncommons, and trade out the expensive cards for not-so-expensive cards. Just make sure the deck doesn't rely on those cards you traded out.
Oct 22, 2020Posted in: Storyline SpeculationQuote from WizardMN »No, they in fact did not print a 2 mana "target player loses the game" spell.
Yes, there is a lore thing where players are planeswalkers but while actually in a game they are not planeswalkers because that is not how it works in the rules (and because games would be pretty dumb to just end with the spells you have mentioned). The rules dictate how the game works, irrespective of the lore and planeswalkers are simply a card type, like creatures.
Wait, really? I thought for sure my modern deck of nothing but "destroy target planeswalker" spells was a fantastic idea.
Sorry haha when I'm bored it seems my brain ceases to function :/
Oct 22, 2020I've seen a lot of decks run Terminate but not Dreadbore. They were competitive decks, so price wasn't an issue. Is that the right call?Posted in: Multiplayer Commander Decklists
Here are my arguments for why you should run each card:
Terminate is an instant, so you can end-step-remove annoying things. It can't be regenerated, so **** you Skithiryx, the Blight Dragon, and most Commander decks don't run Planeswalkers anyways.
Dreadbore can get rid of Planeswalkers.
Actually just now after typing those I'm not sure if I even need to post this but it can always help to get a second opinion. Or just run both.
Oct 22, 2020In MTG lore, all players are Planeswalkers. Thus the ads about "unleash your Spark!". Does that mean "destroy target Planeswalker" cards like Hero's Downfall and Dreadbore actually read as "destroy target player"?Posted in: Storyline Speculation
I asked this here because I figured I might get in trouble for trolling if I asked it in the Rulings section.
Oct 22, 2020First of all, your first three questions should probably have been put under Magic Rulings. Also, I don't know if this is technically a necropost but I figured a late answer is better than no answer.Posted in: Storyline Speculation
And your questions:
Planar Cleansing gets rid of all Planeswalkers (including yours).
I don't know what "Do planeswalker exiled by Vraska's Contempt or Door to Nothingness?" means.
If your opponent destroys your Prison Realm, they get their boyo back.
I don't know whether Nicol Bolas is now a creature or Planeswalker, but it's rather immaterial since he's locked up in the Prison Realm. I would bet his card type would be "Sad, lonely bastard who has all of eternity to contemplate how badly he ****ed up"
Since you could just read the card The Immortal Sun, I assume you're asking about the lore. The Immortal Sun is a magical artifact that prevents Planeswalkers from Planeswalking away. Bolas used it to trap Planeswalkers on Ravnica so he could kill them all without the risk of them running away. He didn't care about their abilities because he was such a cocky prick he figured they wouldn't be a challenge. Below is the description about Bolas's usage of the Immortal Sun during the War of the Spark, from https://mtg.gamepedia.com/Immortal_Sun
Bolas used the Immortal Sun to trap many planeswalkers on Ravnica, after they had been lured there by the Interplanar Beacon, to harvest their sparks. Chandra, Nissa, Saheeli, and Lavinia (plus Lazav) were tasked with shutting off the Immortal Sun. At New Prahv, they managed to do so after defeating Dovin Baan, which resulted in a lot of planeswalkers fleeing the plane. Jace had taught Chandra Azor's nine words that would shut off the Sun, that he had dug up from the sphinx's mind. Chandra managed to shut it off with the spell after briefly being kind of possessed by its power.
Afterwards, before the final battle with Bolas, they decided to reactivate the Immortal Sun to prevent Bolas from escaping. The Immortal Sun was shut off again at the very end after Bolas was defeated, but it was not destroyed in the event that it's needed again.
Oct 22, 2020Lightningtow123 posted a message on Do you have to calculate damage for your opponent?Posted in: Magic RulingsQuote from Rezzahan »At regular REL (rules enforcement level), derived information is treated as free information, so at FNM and similarly low level events you have to tell your opponent, yes. At a higher REL, they have to figure it out themselves, though you are of course free to help them do that if you wish. However, the actual damage dealt must be correct, you cannot let your opponent take more or less damage just because they miscalculate, or you miscalculate. If they or you make a calculation error, the other player has to step in and correct it. Because a player's life total is free information at every REL.
Oct 22, 2020Lightningtow123 posted a message on Do you have to calculate damage for your opponent?First of all, I know this is a dirty way of playing, and I'll only do it if I really need to.Posted in: Magic Rulings
I play Bogles, where you take a 1/1 hexproof and stack a bunch of auras on it to make it really scary, with Ethereal Armor, Daybreak Coronet, Rancor etc. As a result, the power and toughness are kinda hard to calculate, especially with Ethereal Armor counting other auras and Rancor adding power but not toughness. It's pretty common for people to not realize Ethereal Armor counts Leyline of Sanctity or forget about Kor Spiritdancer's passive buff. All of the online guides I read said "never calculate it for your opponent, because if they declare no blocks then die instantly that's game, and the judge will back you up."
The battlefield is public information, but do I have to do the math? If I refused, I'd have to let them pick up my 7-card stack of auras and figure it out for thmeselves, but is it still possible? The first time I tried that stunt, my opponent got very frustrated and said "okay, then I take 5" when my boyo was clearly stronger than that.
And I assume it's a big no-no to lie about his power to get them to block badly.
Oct 15, 2020Posted in: Magic RulingsQuote from willdice »Rest in Peace is a replacement effect. With RIP out, Rancor never goes to the graveyard, it goes to exile instead.
Rancor's ability is triggered. It needs Rancor to actually be put into the graveyard to trigger. As Rancor goes to exile rather than the graveyard, the ability never triggers. Rancor stays in exile.
Damn, that sucks. Thank you for answering!
Oct 14, 2020Although it doesn't weaponize his abilities, the three of these reduce the cost to just the one colored mana, making it cheap and easy to keep pissing off your opponents.Posted in: Commander (EDH)
And the best, Training Grounds
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.