- Haile Selassie II
- Registered User
Member for 2 years, 1 month, and 17 days
Last active Tue, Sep, 28 2021 08:09:28
- 0 Followers
- 35 Total Posts
- 0 Thanks
Sep 23, 2021Chance for GloryPosted in: Magic Rulings
Sundial of the Infinite
The combo's pretty obvious. Gatherer says once and done, but it was the understanding of myself and a few other people that the trigger for losing the game is delayed further, thus requiring Sundial's activation perpetually. Which is right?
Apr 7, 2021Haile Selassie II posted a message on Hilariously overzealous bans and restrictions throughout historyI know there are a lot of them, so discuss. Off the top of my head, I have Regrowth, Fork and Dingus Egg.Posted in: Magic General
I think the idea there was Regrowth could get Black Lotus, Fork could copy Ancestral Recall, and Dingus Egg mattered because you'd be surprised how common blowing lands up was back then.
Jan 7, 2021Haile Selassie II posted a message on Varragoth, Bloodsky Sire, Ashiok, Dream Render, Opposition Agent and semanticsSo basically yes. These questions are going to come up a lot most likely, so please move and archive this thread in card rulings proper for the future. I'll translate peter's analysis from super-lawyer to semi-understandable tomorrow.Posted in: Rumored Card Rulings
Edit: I believe they can see the card you exiled after the search resolves.
Jan 7, 2021Haile Selassie II posted a message on Varragoth, Bloodsky Sire, Ashiok, Dream Render, Opposition Agent and semanticsMulto beno. I thought these would be the outcomes, but since I'm not an actual judge and this is a fairly deep matter, I wanted to double-check to be very sure.Posted in: Rumored Card Rulings
Edit: if they control Ashiok and I control the other two? I don't mean to be pedantic, but the logic I followed on my own a few hours ago says I can dig from any library that isn't my own in this case. This was actually the most confusing scenario for me.
Jan 7, 2021Haile Selassie II posted a message on Varragoth, Bloodsky Sire, Ashiok, Dream Render, Opposition Agent and semanticsThat answers a lot of questions, and I really appreciate it. What about the most probable scenario however, when I control all three and target an opponent?Posted in: Rumored Card Rulings
Jan 7, 2021Varragoth, Bloodsky Sire 2BPosted in: Rumored Card Rulings
Legendary Creature- Demon Rogue
Boast - 1B: Target player searches their library for a card, then shuffles their library and puts that card on top of it.
So how does this interact with Ashiok, Dream Render and Opposition Agent in a game of Commander? If I control both, if my opponent controls the last Opposition Agent to come into play, if the Opposition Agent is mine and someone else has Ashiok, etc.
Edit: not sure if it matters, but I know that unlike conditional tutors, this kind of tutor actually requires the player searching to find a card. And forcing someone else to do that is fairly unprecedented.
Nov 2, 2020Haile Selassie II posted a message on [CMR] Good Morning Magic 10/29— Dargo, the ShipwreckerPosted in: The Rumor Mill
Mana Crypt, Jeweled Lotus, hi how's it going I'm a 7/5 on turn one. Or use your land drop to cast Sol Ring or Mana Vault instead of the Crypt. This is the kind of jank I love- pretty unlikely to get an explosive start like you or I have suggested but very worth partnering it with something better for those hilarious rare occasions. Ain't bad in the 99 either.
Nov 2, 2020Posted in: Rumored Card RulingsQuote from Teysa_Karlov »
Correct, you could file this in civil court as a violation of a verbal agreement. After the hundreds of dollars you've spent filing this claim in court, hundreds if not thousands of dollars on lawyers to assist you in this, and your playgroup's knowledge that you are willing to go to litigation over a card game with presumably zero stakes, you have to decide if it was all worth it.
So basically don't do it if my opponent is Alpha Investments, got it.
I actually would like advice on if the basic concept works rather than the super dumb legal hypothetical. It seems like an obvious oversight to me to make Wheel of Fortune But Better and I'm not the smartest Magic player.
Nov 2, 2020Wheel of Misfortune 2RPosted in: Rumored Card Rulings
Each player secretly chooses a number. Then reveal those numbers. Wheel of Misfortune deals damage equal to the greatest chosen number to each player that chose it. Then, each player who didn't choose the smallest number discards their hands, then draws seven cards.
Let's say I propose this: I tell everyone I have this in my hand, then we make an agreement that everyone who doesn't want to Wheel chooses -1 and everyone else chooses 0. Anyone who breaks the agreement upon resolution of the spell forfeits the game. Is there any reason this shouldn't work from a rules perspective? If one were to literally rules lawyer this, my states allowed for legally binding verbal contracts, and Wizards has issued a statement before that the law supersedes the rules of Magic.
(people would take off their pants to block Hurloon Wrangler, pretty funny story)
Oct 17, 2020Posted in: Magic GeneralQuote from TheOnlyOne652089 »If the best deck becomes so oppressive that no other deck can realistically beat it in good numbers and that special deck loses to anything else in large numbers, then its a de-functional format that cant fix itself.
That is literally the definition of broken.
Back around Mirrodin block, when they explicitly set out to make the cards powerful enough to affect Eternal formats, at least they had the excuse of "everything we print must be legal in Standard". Not so much these days. Your salt is reasonable and I'd think whatever they call the FFL these days should be able to catch most of the broken that gets through. I can see them not catching Lucky Clover, but Omnath and Oko are just embarrassing. Did they really learn nothing about upticking cheap planeswalkers on great abilities with Wrenn and Six?
Sep 1, 2020Haile Selassie II posted a message on How USPS Will Impact E-Commerce Sales for Local Game Stores (LGSs)Hi! I for one rely on the USPS not being a wholly privately-owned entity, because I'm very rural. Private companies would not and will not deliver to or from my location, and as such, I need the USPS to stay around in order to engage in e-commerce with Magic. Should I get back into paper Magic (which is a real thing that may happen soon), or just plain sell the *****load of Animation Modules I have, I rather need this service. In my case, delays would go from expected to slightly more than expected. In the event of its death, I'd be ****ed.Posted in: Magic General
Sep 1, 2020So one of the old combat tricks I used to like to do back when combat used the stack was attack with Volrath's Shapeshifter, get her blocked, discard into Phyrexian Dreadnought, get trample damage assigned, and shift to Phage the Untouchable before it was dealt. Is there any clever way to still do this?Posted in: Magic Rulings
While I'm at it, I'm pretty sure Phage with trample and lethal combat damage will kill the opponent and Phage simultaneously. Would like rules reasons for this.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.