2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Can a 1/1 effectively block multiple creatures
    Thank you!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Can a 1/1 effectively block multiple creatures
    I have Brave the Sands out. Can my 1/1 creature block both a 3/3 and a 4/4 and take all 7 damage for me?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Question about Devotion
    Thank you for answering! Disappointing on Part 1, but so it goes.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Question about Devotion
    Idk if this is good if it works, even with my group not being even '75%,' but I want to find out if I could do this.

    Could I take Kruphix, God of Horizons, and then use Mind Bend or similar to make it say 'green and green,' would my green creatures count twice, and I could focus on green 'dorks' and blue draws or whatever?

    Also, is Kruphix's last ability forever or is there like an 'until end of turn' implied? I think it would say it, but just to be safe.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Question about Grief Tyrant and Hapatra
    That's what I figured. Thanks for the assistance!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Question about Grief Tyrant and Hapatra
    Ok, so, I know by the official rules I can't technically play Grief Tyrant in Hapatra, Vizier of Poisons because of hybrid color identity. But my bestie and I think that format rule makes no sense and ignore it. It was a delight the other day to see Mr. Rosewater agrees with us! Anyway, onto the rules question, cause we do want to have the game rules right!

    When Grief Tyrant says on its second ability 'for each' of the -1/-1 counters, does that mean Hapatra, Vizier of Poisons would trigger four (or whatever) times or just the once. I thought once, which would be not worth it, but maybe four is?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Question about revealed cards
    Okay. Thank y'all for the very thorough responses!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Question about revealed cards
    So my friend is playing Nissa, Vastwood Seer Nissa, Sage Animist, which means she reveals a card most turns. Its a creature deck, so a lot end up on the battlefield, but some stuff doesn't. Our other friend is playing Kynaios and Tiro of Meletis, which means, combined with the fact that we're being nice to him, both that she's drawing more nonrevealed cards and that the game is going on and on. So we're kinda forgetting which cards we know the Nissa player has. Especially him, being new. Are there rules requiring her to keep revealed cards separate in some way? If I forget, am I allowed to ask her? If I am, but she forgets what got revealed, what happens?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Question about Fiery Justice
    That is indeed what I was thinking of! Thanks for the further clarification!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Question about Fiery Justice
    Thank you!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Question about Fiery Justice
    So my friend is playing Fiery Justice to kill my 5/5. I have no way to stop this, but I can get a minor bonus by sacrificing the 5/5 to another creature, which I'm 99% I can put on the 'stack' and will 'resolve' first. But my question is, normally Fiery Justice alsos give me 5 life, and so if the deal 5 damage part can't resolve, does that mean none of it resolves? Cause I think I'd rather have the 5 life than the sac bonus.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Can someone please explain Banding to me like I'm an idiot?
    Okay, I got it now! Thank you for your help!!!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Can someone please explain Banding to me like I'm an idiot?
    The thread you linked was very helpful! Thank you! I think I understand enough to manage now. But now I have four questions to make sure I understand. But don't worry, these are much more yes or no than my original open ended post.

    1. If I attack with Daggerback Basilisk and Hypnotic Specter banded somehow, and my opponent blocks with a 2/7. I could have Daggerback do and take 1 damage, then have Hypnotic Specter take the other, so both my creatures live, but the Deathtouch from Daggerback kills the 2/7. Correct?

    2. If a band of creatures goes unblocked, I would only bring one creature back to my hand for Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow and the rest would go thru as normal and deal their damage, correct? I realize that's an esoteric question, but Yuriko is my very favorite nongreen Commander.

    3. If both attacking and blocking creatures have Banding, who gets to choose what damages what. Would it neutralize and go back to the attacking or would priority cause something else to happen? Let's say the attacker has a 1/1/ and a 3/3 banded together, and the defender is blocking with a 2/2 Banding and a generic 2/2. No other abilities unless one makes it easier for you to explain.

    4. If the attacker has a 4/4 White creature with Protection from Black and a generic 1/1 banded, a Black 2/2 could block the band, due to the 'if you can block anything, you can block the band' rule, correct?

    5. If that Black 2/2 had Deathttouch, would the White creature's Protection overrule the Deathttouch? And therefore the generic 1/1 and the Black 2/2 die, but the White 4/4 lives?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Can someone please explain Banding to me like I'm an idiot?
    Ok, so the situation, my friend and I play Commander against each other using online stuff and pseudoproxies. I hope that's not frowned upon here?

    Anyway, she wants to make a bird deck, which is important to her, because in real life back when the economy was better, her and her parents were like actual birdwatchers. Originally, she was going to use Derevi, Empyrial Tactician. But after doing research and some thought, she now believes that he might be too strong, even ban-able, with certain other effects, and also 'not really about birds anyway, just anything with a mechanism for getting thru.' That's fine, if she thinks we should ban something for annoying combos, I'm not complaining!

    But the issue is her next choice is Soraya the Falconer. I've been trying to talk her into Kangee, Aerie Keeper, but she has her mind set. The problem, as my title implies, is that Soraya can give Banding to any bird for 1W (her card says falcons, but it's really all birds). Now, we've also played some of what I guess would be called Old School Limited. So we have experience with banding, and everytime it hits the board, I immediately get confused. I don't know how to attack with or against it, how to block with or against it, how to assign damage, anything. She claims to understand it, so I would try to copy what I remember her doing, but that was rather hit or miss. I've tried reading various online sites, and I just get more confused. Literally the only thing I understand is that only one card in the band is allowed to not have Banding.

    So, ok, I maybe understand how to block with it. The blocker instead of the attacker gets to choose how to assign, yes? So I could block a Trample 7/7 with a 0/5 and 0/3 banded together, and I pick which dies, yes? But a 1/1 with deathtouch has to actually deal damage, and therefore be damaged and die? Could a 1/2 with deathtouch do its necessary 1 damage and then be protected for as long it could with band with something. I don't think are White Deathtouchers, so not relevent here specifically, but I know she wants to add for instance, Helm of Chatzuk, to other decks. I realize I can't just list all 100 mechanics in the game, but one thing even she doesn't understand is its interaction with Rampage. Does something with Rampage blocked by a band of two get its Rampage points?

    Then for blocking it, as long I can block one thing in the band, I can block all of it? If 4 2/2s band, one with flying, one with shadow, one with fear, even if I don't have those things, none of that matters as long as I can block the vanilla one, right? But then who assigns the damage? The attacker, yes? If I block with a 4/4, can she put one damage each on all four of her Banded attackers, keeping them all alive?

    But I really do not understand attacking with it. If it spreads out the damage, maybe that's its function? But its on a lot of 1/1s, so how does that work? This is where I'm totally lost. Please help!!! I mean, I won't be building a banding deck, but I need to understand her available moves, you know?

    I know this is a long and convoluted question, but I would really really appreciate it if someone explained it to me like I'm a five year old space alien!!!

    Also, for anyone, who might think, if OP doesn't understand the mechanic, her friend should chill and just not use it. Well, the thing is I've already convinced her to use much less Wrath of God type stuff then she could. I pretty much only like playing with creatures and other fun stuff. She could focus on stuff that counters that, since we only play each other. But I've convinced her to mostly build as if she's facing unknown decks, even though we both know the real solution is for me to become better and more varied.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.