It's exactly what it says - it counts as both an artifact and a land. Yes, this means it can be removed by anti-artifact cards. But it also means it counts for your own cards that reward you for having artifacts. For example, it makes Frogmite cost 1 less due to Frogmite's affinity for artifacts ability, and it makes Master of Etherium bigger. You may actually be surprised to know that Seat of the Synod, along with the artifact lands of the other colours, were actually banned in several formats for being too powerful due to such interactions.Quote from Elahrairah »
1) Artifact lands. Ok, I get it, cards that act as both. Some offer two land types, some have a special "spell" you can trade for, but Seat of the Synod came up and I don't get it. What is the advantage of a card like this? Why not just a basic island? How is this in any way different (except that you can remove it with an "anti-artifact" card)? Did I just answer my own question? If so, this card is worth less than a basic island.
Because your flier can fly lower to the ground. If his 2/2 ground creature attacks you, you can order your flying creature to land and intercept.2) I know Flying can defend and be hit, but I don't see a real explanation and I don't understand. If I have creature A with flying and you have creature B with no flying or reach, and we are both 2/2: I attack and you take 2 hit off your dice because you cant defend (Because I am basically doing an air strike over your guy). But when you attack me, and I use my creature to defend, we both do damage and take each other out. How did you get the reach or flying to get up to me to inflict damage? The only way I can explain to my boy is to say "it's like a sneak attack and you didn't get a chance to take off" but then he counters, so how do I do damage back to you then? Can this be ELI5?
If the card doesn't specify a duration, then it's permanent. It ends only when the creature leaves the battlefield.3) When you have a spell that says "take control of opponent creature" is that for the life of the creature? No more text given. Do I just physically take that creature and put it in my field?
Yeah, that's pretty much right. Do note that blocking an attacking creature is the defending player's choice. He can certainly use it in the way you described - upping his 1/1 to a 2/2, then doing 2 damage to your 4/4, then attacking with his 2/2 - but you can always choose not to block it with your 4/4, take 2 damage yourself, and have your 4/4 be healthy again at the end of the turn. The better way to use cards like Nissa's Judgment is to have your creature kill off your opponent's creature, then attack with your bigger creature. For example, if you have a 3/3 and your opponent has a 4/4, you can use this card to pump your 3/3 to a 4/4, deal 4 damage to your opponent's 4/4, killing it, and then attack with your new 4/4.4) Nissa's Judgement: This question in general to a card like this: So my boy has two of these cards. He has two creatures so he ups each +1/+1. Ok I get it, but the damage part. Since this is not a creature attacking, if the damage I take is not enough to kill me off, on my next turn, I get back to full health, right? So the strategy would be to only play this card right before battle so I take double damage? For example, if I cast a 4/4 creature and the turn passes to my son, he casts this on a 1/1 guy, making him 2/2. The spell does 2/2 damage to me instantly, then he declares an attack with this guy and being 2/2 he can take me out? This is how we played it last night, I let him twice use a guy who was half of my strength take me out in one turn? Hopefully we did it right, but it sure hurt, especially when he pulled this card again later... Tough card.
Though they're similar, being tapped and suffering from summoning sickness aren't quite the same. Summoning sickness means that the creature can't attack or activate tap abilities. It can still block, however. Entering tapped means it won't be able to block until it untaps on your turn. That's the main difference, at least - there are a few other more specific ones that might crop up from time to time (such as cards that only affect tapped creatures).5) enters tapped. So when a creature or land says it "enters tapped" that basically means you can't use it this turn and have to wait until you have the ability to untap right? So for a creature, how is this different than just summoning sickness? You can't use them first turn anyway...again for this, please ELI5.