A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on Ilharg and sundial of the infinite
    Can creatures put into play by Ilharg, the Raze-Boar be kept into play using sundial of the infinite at the beginning of your end-step?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Scavenger Grounds vs. Ghost Quarter
    No, they could not. The cost to activate scavenger grounds is not 2, but '2, tap and sacrifice', all of which has to be paid at once. This does mean that if an opponent casts stifle or a similar effect in response, the desert is still sacrificed, even though the ability has been countered.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Verifying non-native language cards
    Maybe not what you're looking for, but I personally would consider it rather rude if someone was running non-english cards without having some kind of translation ready, even if it was just a paper proxy of the english version for people to check, so maybe ask the people running these cards if they have something like that?

    Otherwise, do they still make those booklets with every single card from a set in there (they got generally included with those boxes with 10 boosters and some lands and stuff)? Since the japanese cards would be mostly from the war of the spark set, if you had a booklet like that you might be able to look up stuff quicker in there.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on [C19] Tahngarth, First mate (new and improve Tahngarth)
    Quote from HighHolder »
    You do not get to choose which player tangarth attacks, but I did miss the may statement. Still a very situational ability that is just not worth it.


    "If you do, choose a player or planeswalker that opponent is attacking. Tahngarth is attacking that player or planeswalker." These are the last two sentences of that ability, so you definitely can choose to some degree.

    I'd say this commander can be made really nasty with equipment and/or enchantments to swing for lethal commander damage multiple items per round if your opponents don't go full arch-enemy on you.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Brawl 2019 - Chulane, Teller of Tales
    Quote from Draymore »
    Brawl ... Frontier ... Oathbreak....

    I rather they looked at expanding the player base in each formats wit the reprints and reexamining the ban / restricted lists rather than making pointless new formats.


    You are are ware that both frontier and Oathbreaker are not official formats, but formats created by players, right?
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [C19] Mandate of peace
    Huh, that's potentially very useful, especially if an opponent decides to do combat first, as it'll basically deny them their turn.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on New Judge foil: Isolated Watchtower
    Quote from gupp7 »
    remember that scry 1 by itself is pretty solid for 3.


    What makes you say that? A quick check on gatherer shows that all 3cmc cards that do scry 1 tend to have that as a side-effect to something more useful. Crystal ball is a 3cmc artifact that gives scry 2 for 1. Darksteel pendant is a 2cmc artifact that gives scry 1 for 1. I'm really not seeing the scry 1 effect being worth 3 on its own.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on EDH color identity and transformation
    Alright, thanks for the clarification!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on EDH color identity and transformation
    Let's say that I've got a deck running an Azorius commander. Could I play archangel Avacyn in that deck? The card itself is in color identity, but it transforms into avacyn, the purifier, which has a red color marker.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Bag of Holding (Saving Throw Show Preview)
    I am fairly certain you can't, as the new bag of holding is seen as a different entity than the one you had on the field previously, so it would not consider the exiled cards to be exiled by itself. Someone will probably drop by with all the proper rule references though.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Lotus Field - Weekly MTG
    Quote from pinkmex »

    Nope, you would have to sacrifice It. It enters, asks for the sacrifice, does it to self being the only land available.

    Ah, thanks. Yes, that makes a lot more sense!
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Lotus Field - Weekly MTG
    I might be wrong, but this card seems to lack any text for what would happen if you are unable to sacrifice two lands ('if you do not, sacrifice this permanent'), nor is it worded as an additional cost or some such. Does that mean that if you play this as your first land, you wouldn't loose any lands at all?
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Omnath, Locus of the Roil - TCGPlayer
    Hmm, persistent late-game card advantage is nice for EDH. It lacks Omnath, locus of rage's combo-potential though.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [M20] Creeping Trailblazer
    This card gets the Omnath, Locus of rage seal of approval.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Spiteful Sliver Facebok APAC
    How does this interact with Blasphemous act or similar high-damage boardwipes? Would I get to shoot someone for 13 damage for each sliver I have, or would it be capped to the sliver's toughness?
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.