2019 Holiday Exchange!
A New and Exciting Beginning
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Incandescent Soulstoke and Copies
    The first Exemplar will be exiled by the copy-Exemplar, and the thing exiled by the first Exemplar will return to the battlefield. The delayed triggered ability from Soulstoke can't make you sacrifice the first Exemplar, because it's not even a permanent on the battlefield anymore.

    If that first Exemplar eventually returns to the battlefield, it's a new object with no memory of or relation to its previous existence. It won't need to be sacrificed, because it has no knowledge of Soulstoke (or vice versa).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Ugin, the Ineffable

    (If a replacement makes Ugin create two Spirit tokens instead of creating one, maybe that would make the return instruction fail? I forget how that kind of situation works...)
    You'll make two tokens, but they'll both be linked to the exiled card. If either leaves, the exiled card would be returned.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Ugin, the Ineffable
    There are exactly zero situations I can think of where making the 2/2 Spirit token leave the battlefield wouldn't return the card to your hand.

    It isn't an ability granted to the token. It's just a thing that is Simply True. The entire ability of Ugin's +1 (a) makes the token and (b) sets up the delayed trigger that returns the exiled card to its owner's hand if the token ever leaves the battlefield.

    The rest of the rules work just fine. Misreading them doesn't make them any less correct.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Spark Double with another Spark Double interaction
    Hard confirmation that this does work, for now, but will be patched. Straight from the rules manager:


    Quote from Eli Shiffrin »
    We're aware of a rules loophole allowing Spark Double to copy another Spark Double that isn't a copy of anything and repeat more times than 140 characters allow me to properly express, growing quite large. This is correct under current rules, will change in the future. #WotCStaff

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Spark Double with another Spark Double interaction
    When you apply the Spark Double's copy effect, it overwrites the previous copy effect that was there. This is the same situation as Progenitor Mimic, really: You can't just copy a Mimic with a Mimic over and over and get an arbitrarily large number of triggers. Here, you can't get an arbitrarily number of counters.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Bolas's citadel and cards with no mana cost
    Every card has a CMC; if it has no mana cost, its CMC is 0. You can pay 0 life to cast Lotus Bloom or any of the other suspend cards with no mana cost.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Foil wurmcoil question
    A card being foil in and of itself a problem. It becomes an issue if the card is warped so badly that it's easily detectable. If I shuffle your library and cut to the same card every time, that's No Good.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Ruling with Etrata, the Silencer
    Quote from piotr672 »
    OK but then I can use Consecrate to bring it back to the command zone or Saving Grasp to play it again without paying extra 2. Am I correct ?
    Sure. If your commander is in your graveyard and you target it with Consecrate, you can choose to put it in the command zone instead of exile when the spell resolves.

    Saving Grasp would return it to your hand if you want it to, and since you'd be casting it from your hand you wouldn't be affected by commander tax. Commander tax only applies when you cast it from the command zone.It's too early for reading cards apparently
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kefnet's Reveal?
    Yes, that is what it says. However, the option to "decline" in Arena ONLY appears once the card has reached my hand, not AS I draw the card... So therefore, on Arena, the option does not occur AS I draw, but WHENCE I have completed drawing said card..
    The rules work the same on Arena. The thing is, Arena doesn't care about putting it in your hand, because you literally can't manipulate or cheat Arena -- it 100% knows that that is the card you drew.

    The reason we want you to do the "very definitely draw the card but not actually put it with the rest of your hand" for Kefnet (and Miracle before it) is that, if you do, there's no way your opponent can verify that the card you reveal is, in fact, the one you just drew.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Danitha, Capashen Paragon question
    Yes. Danitha's ability doesn't specify that it can't reduce the costs to 0, so it'll happily do so. Shuko costs 1, Danitha reduces that cost by 1, and 1-1=0. So that's what you pay!

    Compare that to something like Heartstone, which says it can't reduce the cost to less than one mana.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Frost Titan and who is controlling it
    Straight from Gatherer:
    Quote from Gatherer »
    If the permanent affected by Frost Titan’s second ability changes controllers before its old controller’s next untap step, Frost Titan’s second ability will prevent it from being untapped during its new controller’s next untap step.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Venser flickering wellspring
    Wellspring's Oracle text should probably make that clearer:

    "When Wellspring enters the battlefield, gain control of enchanted land until end of turn.
    At the beginning of your upkeep, untap enchanted land. You gain control of that land until end of turn."

    If you flicker Wellspring and re-attach it to another land, you'll gain control of that second land. However, both lands will go back to their previous controller at the end of the turn.

    Edit after re-reading Venser: Wellspring will return and attach to a land in your end step, but since that's before the cleanup step when "end of turn" effects end, you aren't going to have that land for very long.

    Then, at the beginning of your next upkeep, only the currently enchanted land will come under your control.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Oblivion Ring
    When you leave the game, everything you own goes with you. This includes your Oblivion Rings.

    Even though they left the battlefield, the triggers they created are also objects you own, so they leave too. This means that they won't return the things the Oblivion Rings exiled, so the exiled cards are just stuck in exile.

    Compare this to something like Banishing Light. Since that isn't a trigger, but rather just an immediate end of an effect, the exiled card would go back to your opponent.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Death Triggers, Trample and losing on the Stack
    All combat damage is dealt simultaneously. Then, the creatures that have damage marked on them greater than their toughness die to State-Based Actions. After that, triggers go on the stack.

    Your opponent has a Borborygmos Enraged trigger wanting to go on the stack, and you have your Blood Artist triggers. They go on the stack in active player, nonactive player (APNAP) order. Since it isn't your turn, your triggers are on the stack after his, which means your Blood Artist triggers will resolve first.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on 2 questions (about Najeela and about vigilance)
    Quote from Mihejra »
    I have one more question about Najeela, the Blade-Blossom.

    When she is attacking and there is Silent arbiter on the battlefield.

    And now it's Najeela's ability with warrior tokens vs. Silent Arbiter's ability. How to resolve this situation?
    It's effectively the same thing. Silent Arbiter only restricts the number of creatures you can declare as attackers. If you attack with Najeela, that's a legal declaration of attacks. The token that's created isn't restricted by Silent Arbiter since it didn't "attack," it just shows up already attacking.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.