- herbal T
- Registered User
Member for 2 years, 9 months, and 3 days
Last active Thu, Sep, 19 2019 08:15:35
- 0 Followers
- 16 Total Posts
- 8 Thanks
Jun 19, 2019Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from Xinrick »Quote from WizardMN »
While the answer is correct, the terminology is misleading. To be absolutely clear:Quote from Dusk707 »Quote from Xinrick »Okay, not fully sure if this is how it works but wouldn't Yarok and Panharmonicon go Infinite? Cause the way I see it is that you play a creature or artifact with an ETB effect, Panharmonicon goes off, then Yarok, and then it spirals out of control from their due to how they're wording.
No, only one permanent is entering the battlefield. Yarok and Pan will cause any etb trigger to activate two extra times. Example:
Acidic Slime enters the battlefield with Yarok and Panharmonicon out already.
Slime's etb trigger triggers, causing both other cards to trigger as well.
Slime's etb trigger activates a second time due to Panharmonicon
Slime's etb trigger activates a third time due to Yarok
Neither Yarok nor Pan have triggers. They have effects that just say a trigger triggers again.
And, triggers never activate; activated abilities never trigger. While it seems pedantic to mention, Rings of Brighthearth and Illusionist's Bracers are cards and mixing the two up leads to misconceptions about what those cards apply to.
I might be missing something but aren't Yavok and Pan's triggered abillities? Cause both of their wording is based on ETB Triggers, and both of them are being triggered right? Not to mention one of the rulings for Pan is, and I quote
Panharmonicon affects an artifact or creature’s own enters-the-battlefield triggered abilities as well as other triggered abilities that would trigger when an artifact or creature enters the battlefield. Such triggered abilities start with “when” or “whenever.”
triggered abilities always start with the words "when", "whenever", or "at." (It even says as much in the ruling you quoted)
neither Panharmonicon nor Yavok's ability are a triggered ability as defined by the game rules.
I know it can be a little confusing to those unfamiliar with the rules, because we tend to think "if-then" statements sound like a trigger, but that is not the case as far as the rules are concerned. the key is to always look for one of those three words, similar in concept to how activated abilities are always templated as "[cost] : [effect]".
May 23, 2019Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from ilovesaprolings »
You think they really can print a 254 card set where every rare is playable in modern?
Of course, they CAN. they CAN print anything they want. they can print a set where every card is pushed. they can abolish the reserved list and print a set where every pack has Power 9 if they want. It costs the same to print Jace, the Mindsculptor as it does Giant Spider.
The relevant question would be "WILL they?" (and I believe we all know the answer is "nope.")
Apr 10, 2019Posted in: The Rumor Mill
except for that whole Emrakul-is-banned-in-Commander thing...
Apr 10, 2019herbal T posted a message on Nissa, Who Shakes the World - @nissacosplay spoilerPosted in: The Rumor MillQuote from Flamebuster »I love these PWs with static abilities. This should've been done long ago a few blocks after their initial introduction.
Then we would've been bored of them by now.
from MaRo's article two weeks ago:
"I've talked many times in this column about how planeswalkers are the most popular card type yet have the smallest design space. As such, I've spent a lot of energy slowing down how often we innovated on planeswalker design...."
"Back in Hour of Devastation, we had to design a Nicol Bolas planeswalker card. This was the end of Act I of the Nicol Bolas arc where Nicol Bolas shows up and easily defeats the Gatewatch. This was us reintroducing the character and establishing what a major villain he was. That meant we wanted a cool planeswalker card. A bunch got designed, but one of the most popular was one that had a static ability. Now, I'd been holding back from planeswalkers having static abilities because I knew once we let that cat out of the bag, it would be hard to put back in. Planeswalker innovations had to be doled out slowly, and this was a big one. (And yes, there are a few narrow examples of old planeswalker cards having static abilities—in this context, I'm talking about enchantment-like static abilities.) I made a compromise. Let's just make a four-loyalty ability Bolas in Hour of Devastation (we hadn't made one yet) and then when we made the next one in War of the Spark (we knew our major villain had to have a planeswalker card in the climatic set), we'd let that one be the starting point of static abilities on planeswalkers."
tl;dr: each set typically has 3+ planeswalkers. at 4+ sets per year, that's a lot of pw's printed; and there is only so much design space for the card type, so innovative designs have to be treated as a finite resource and released slowly over time or else they'll have exhausted all their tricks in a relatively small amount of time and struggle to come up with new pw designs.
Apr 10, 2019Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from thatmarkguy »Quote from EasyLover »I have no idea why this would need haste. If i got 6 mana, i'll simply awaken a land that was previously played.
I'd guess Arena. On Arena, while players CAN pick and choose which lands do and don't get tapped to pay a cost, they don't want to have to code the not-full-control logic "Always use this turn's land to pay the mana" nor do they want to have to deal with complaints from not-full-control players claiming the interface hosed them by default-paying costs with the wrong lands. Easier to just make it idiot-interface-proof.
Also, don't forget Arena's obnoxious tendency to make lands swap positions around as you tap them for mana.
Apr 5, 2019Heartfire seems like it could be one of the missing sacrifice outlets Aristocrats was waiting for. Sure, it's not a creature and it only works once; but it could push the deck in a more aggressive slant and burn the opponent out faster (also gets around teh issue of your sac outlets being creatures that are vulnerable to removal before your engine gets online). Two mana and a token for 5-6 damage to the face ain't too shabby.Posted in: The Rumor Mill
Mar 20, 2019Posted in: The Rumor MillQuote from WarMachinePrime »I was hyped for last years. (I bought 3 of the 4 for myself) This one I am not. I may pick up one or two tops. Its a letdown.
If you feel that a product is a let-down, why buy "one or two" anyway? That's not how you make your feelings known to a company. They can't read your minds, and likely won't see or care about your criticisms on some web forum. The only thing they understand is the bottom line, sales. If people buy a (theoretically) crap product, all they see is the money coming in regardless. If you feel a product is not worth the money, then don't buy it. That is the only sure-fire way to voice your criticism.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.