Just went over to EDHREC. Looked at the decks and most had a Legendary as Commander, not a Planeswalker.
I'm new to this game and wondering why that is?
What's the advantage to using a Legendary?
- Registered User
Member for 5 months and 16 days
Last active Tue, Feb, 26 2019 10:06:21
- 0 Followers
- 8 Total Posts
- 1 Thank
Jan 30, 2019Hi, very, very new to MTG. Got the Exquisite Inventions Commander deck. Have played it many times now. Did a Goog search for and upgrade to it. Got a page on WoTC. There are a LOT of "upgrade this deck" postings, web pages and advice. It there some advice that is better than other? I figured that WoTC would be good advice and it was not "keep 5 cards and rebuild the rest of the deck," yes I've seen that now more often than not. WoTC advice was to replace about 7 cards. I do not want to rebuild my deck, I can't afford that right now. Where do you go for Upgrade Deck advice?Posted in: Commander (EDH)
Thanks from a total Newbie.
Jan 24, 2019Your answers and your explaining and helping me are really great and much appreciated. I have this card in my Commander Deck, I am so VERY new to this game that some of it is confusing to me. Thank you very much.Posted in: Magic Rulings
Thank you both. I understand that when I Exile it I will do so Face up.
IF I leave it face down as and it's considered 2/2 creature, but it is an enchantment and I do NOT turn it up for it's mana cost. Then I MUST Exile it, face-up.
If I pay it's man cost I turn it face-up and can use the Enchantment, it's no longer face-down so I don't Exile it, it goes in my graveyard as a used Enchantment.
IF I leave it face-down as a 2/2 creature and let's say I can't pay it's mana cost to play it then I MUST Exile it, and I do so face-up. All during the "beggining of your end step."
IF it's a creature and I can't pay it's mana cost, it's still face-down and NOW I must Exile it (face-up.)
IF it's a creature and I CAN pay it's mana cost then I turn it face-up and it's NO LONGER face-down then I don't have to Exile anything.
Is this correct?
And so, what if it's NOT a Permanent? An Instant and/or Sorcery are not permanents. So if it's an Instant, now face down, I can't pay it's mana cost does it just stay there as a 2/2 creature or does it get Exiled?
Is there some other possibility that I missed?
I just want to play the game correctly.
Jan 24, 2019In order to not duplicate a post I put in the wrong forum let me give an example and then my questions.Posted in: Magic Rulings
On the board I have 8 lands. I have "High Priest of Penance" showing.
I play Primordial Mist. I "Manifest" (play face down) the top card of my library.
It becomes a 2/2 creature. I look at it and it's an Enchantment Card. I can turn not turn it up for it's mana cost because it's not creature.
Here is what I don't understand: Exile a face-down permanent you control face up: You may play that card this turn. (You still pay its costs. Timing rules still apply.)
To "Exile" a card means 701.11a To exile an object, move it to the exile zone from wherever it is. It IS Face Down, it is a permanent. How do EXILE a"face-down permanent I control face-up." My Enchant is face-down and I have to Exile it. How do I Exile a "face-down permanent I control FACE UP?" How do I get rid (Exile) of a face-down permanent (my Enchantment) I control "FACE UP"? Do I Exile a face-up card?
How does the face-down permanent I control become face-up, it's not a creature card so I can't turn it face up?
I am a total Newbie, but I love this game.
Jan 24, 2019Have researched this for 2 days. This part I understand, "Posted in: Magic Rulings
At the beginning of your end step, you may manifest the top card of your library. (Put it onto the battlefield face down as a 2/2 creature. Turn it face up any time for its mana cost if it's a creature card.)"
This is what I don't understand, "Exile a face-down permanent you control face up: You may play that card this turn. (You still pay its costs.)
How do I Exile a permanent I control face up? Does that mean I can Exile a permanent card that is face up? "Exile a face-down permanent" How did it get face down?
I have looked for Examples of this card all over the place. If someone can give me an example I will be forever grateful.
Also, it says, "You MAY manifest the top card of your library" And when do you get to turn it face up for it's mana cost, at the beginning of your End Step? So does it play the next turn if you turn it up?
Thanks so muhc, T
Jan 17, 2019TL;DR am looking for some resources to help me learn to build and use decks with synergy.Posted in: Magic General
Am new to MTG, first experience was MTG Arena on December 30th. Now have several Paper decks so am learning. I see decks where one card helps another card become stronger, example Ajani's Pridemate and cards with LifelInk. Some of the decks I've played against have been ruthlessly fantastic at using cards to create other cards that are killers. Have seen the posts of Mana Curve (am familiar from HearthS) and formulas such as 40% land, 40% creatures, 20% spells and that's good advice.
I'd like to be able to build some decks where the cards work with each other.
Have read Reid Duke's "Level One."
Thanks so much for helping out this total Noob.
Jan 9, 2019Hi, very newbie here. Been playing MTGA. Want to play for reals.Posted in: Deckbuilding/Playtest Groups
Have 2 decks at MTGA that I'd like to make into paper. They're both Pauper Decks and my local store has a Pauper night.
Where will I go to do that? Is there an online source that you trust?
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.