2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Scrap trawler and 2 other artifacts, can they all return?
    Thanks to everyone who replied so quickly and correctly! This explains and confirms what I thought, but wasn't 100% sure as I wasn't confident scrap trawler could work the way it did. Thanks again to all involved.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Scrap trawler and 2 other artifacts, can they all return?
    Thank you for replying, I understand that all their abilities resolve but I guess for more clarity would they be able to resolve in the way I listed? As in would all three be able to return to my hand if i ordered it right? Really I just have trouble grasping scrap trawler returning itself.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Scrap trawler and 2 other artifacts, can they all return?
    So I have Wurmcoil Engine, Scrap Trawler, and Myr Retriever on the field at the same time. I use some card or ability to send all three to the graveyard at the same time (they all enter at the same time since in this case the effect would have been "sacrifice", "Destroy" or otherwise). Now my question is, can I stack their abilities like this?

    1) Wurmcoil died so it creates the tokens as it goes to the graveyard, then all three are in the graveyard.
    2) Myr retriever returns Wurmcoil engine to my hand.
    2) Scrap trawler senses itself going in so returns the myr retriever to my hand, and wurmcoil engine so it returns itself to my hand.

    Final result is all three are back in my hand. The way I understand it is that because they all go into the grave at the same time their effects all go off, but I can choose the order? I'm sure I'm missing a step or rule, so could someone help me figure this out or suggest a solution/ example?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Sharkto crab and counters.
    So I'm a tad confused by the wording of this card (Sharktocrab) and when / how many times it triggers. I understand that if I use a Utvara Hellkite its ability triggers for each dragon attacking, so three dragons attack get three tokens. But when it comes to Sharktocrab the "or more" part throws me off. As far as I understand, this means if the crab has three counters on it already, and I use Vorel of the Hull Clade to double them (6 total) the effect only triggers once? Further more, Would an effect like Pir, Imaginative Rascal's cause a second activation or is it instantaneous with the other counters on it? Thanks.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Priority of copy spells and Possibility Storm.
    Ok, Thanks to everyone for the many answers. I guess what I can take away from this is that with Possibility storm on the field it can give me two casts of a spell as each part of it resolves, and with thousand year storm, intelligence swarm, and the goggles I can dish out a ton of copies if played right. Costly but fun.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Priority of copy spells and Possibility Storm.
    To clarify, I understand what each card does, and that a copy is just that, "1 copy". My question to be clearer i guess would be what if swarm, thousand-year storm and possibility storm were both on the field, and i cast a Lightning Bolt. I get swarm copies it and then it goes back into my library after exile and the new instant from storm is cast with it being copied as well by swarm and TY storm (Cast is in their descriptions). But if i were to then use the goggles to cast another bolt, how is it organized then? Do i get three (or more) bolts from the goggles, swarm and TY storm, followed by the new instant and copies of the new instant from swarm and TY storm? Illustration to see if it clears (or muddles) things up, Malek removed as was stated his effects don't work well in this scenario.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Priority of copy spells and Possibility Storm.
    So I found the combo of Possibility Storm and Swarm Intelligence, where the result is the spell cast after both enchantments are on the field (on controller's turn) is copied then exiled and replaced by Possibility Storm's effect. Essentially you get the original and substituted card's effects. My question is what happens if you say have Thousand-Year Storm, Melek, Izzet Paragon and Pyromancer's Goggle's on the field too. Basicaly all mentioned are on the field, then I use the goggles to say cast a red instant from my library using Melek's ability. What is copied and how many times?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mind's Dilation and permanents after removal.
    So a friend and I were arguing about the effects of Mind's Dilation, more specifically if it is removed. I cast it, a turn goes by and he casts his first spell, exiles the top card of his library and reveals Lightning Greaves. It's not a land card so i cast them and put them on my field. Either after it resolved or on his next turn he exiled/ destroyed mind's dilation. He says once it leaves play I lose control of his greaves but if I go by rule 611.2a, I can keep it since there is no statement on how long the effect lasts. Whose correct?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Attacking with encoded Cipher card count as casting during/ after attack?
    So I've looked all over for a concrete answer to this question but so far every answer has just been related to "can I Cipher an already Ciphered card?". My question is, if I cast Hands of Binding and have it ciphered onto Akki Drillmaster, and I have a card like Aven Wind Mage (or similar), every time I attack with Drillmaster does it count towards Wind Mages's effect? If not, is there a card that does work with cipher in a similar way?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.