- Registered User
Member for 2 years, 4 months, and 4 days
Last active Tue, Jan, 19 2021 20:58:08
- 0 Followers
- 43 Total Posts
- 17 Thanks
Jan 18, 2021Hmm, as strange as a comparison I can think of to help evaluate this is Exalted Angel. Usually the opponent can suspect a morphed card (so few are fun in cubes these days), but the power level was worth it. A planned, telegraphed Wrath effect is still really good especially in tight mana situations (such as you were main decking Strip Mine, Wasteland, etc.).Posted in: Cube New Card Discussion
Jan 16, 2021Valley of Wandering GlowPosted in: Cube New Card Discussion
Snow Land C
Valley of Wandering Glow enters the battlefield tapped.
As Valley of Wandering Glow enters the battlefield, choose a color.
T: Add a mana of the chosen color.
New variant of Terramorphic Expanse/Evolving Wilds. Not sure how many cubes have room for this, but I figure it was worth discussing.
Sep 14, 2020Thundermare3 posted a message on Set (P)review - My top 20 Zendikar Rising (ZNR) cards for the cube!I am so curious how repeated reps with the MDFC bolt lands show how often they are played as land vs spells. The flexibility is insane. This set reminds me how much I love my cube and the evolution of the game. More wild MDFCs are coming in 2021 sets to really mix things up!Posted in: Articles, Podcasts, and Guides
Sep 14, 2020Thundermare3 posted a message on Set (P)review - My top 20 Zendikar Rising (ZNR) cards for the cube!Great write up. I will have to read it more than a couple times so it can sink in. BTW, if you didn't see the news, the remaining 4 Pathway lands are coming in the winter 2021 set Kaldheim.Posted in: Articles, Podcasts, and Guides
Sep 10, 2020From the release notes:Posted in: Cube Card and Archetype Discussion
Playing with Modal Double-Faced Cards
To determine whether it is legal to play a modal double-faced card, consider only the characteristics of the face you're playing and ignore the other face's characteristics. For example, you can cast Sejiri Shelter if you've already played a land for the turn, and you can play Sejiri Glacier even if an effect stops you from casting instant spells.
If an effect allows you to play a specific modal double-faced card, you may cast it as a spell or play it as a land, as determined by which face you choose to play. If an effect allows you to cast (rather than "play") a specific modal double-faced card, you can't play it as a land.
If an effect allows you to play a land or cast a spell from among a group of cards, you may play or cast a modal double-faced card with any face that fits the criteria of that effect. For example, if Sejiri Shelter / Sejiri Glacier is in your graveyard and an effect allows you to play lands from your graveyard, you could play Sejiri Glacier. That effect doesn't allow you to cast Sejiri Shelter.
The converted mana cost of a modal double-faced card is based on the characteristics of the face that's being considered. On the stack and battlefield, consider whichever face is up. In all other zones, consider only the front face. This is different than how the converted mana cost of a transforming double-faced card is determined.
A modal double-faced card can't be transformed or be put onto the battlefield transformed. Ignore any instruction to transform a modal double-faced card or to put one onto the battlefield transformed.
General Information on Double-Faced Cards
Each face of a double-faced card has its own set of characteristics: name, types, subtypes, abilities, and so on. While a double-faced card is on the stack or battlefield, consider only the characteristics of the face that's currently up. The other set of characteristics is ignored.
While a double-faced card isn't on the stack or battlefield, consider only the characteristics of its front face. For example, the above card has only the characteristics of Sejiri Shelter in the graveyard, even if it was Sejiri Glacier on the battlefield before it was put into the graveyard. Notably, this means that Sejiri Shelter is a nonland card even though you could play it as a land.
If an effect puts a double-faced card onto the battlefield, it enters with its front face up. If that front face can't be put onto the battlefield, it doesn't enter the battlefield. For example, if an effect exiles Sejiri Glacier and returns it to the battlefield, it remains in exile because an instant can't be put onto the battlefield.
If an effect instructs a player to choose a card name, the name of either face may be chosen. If that effect or a linked ability refers to a spell with the chosen name being cast and/or a land with the chosen name being played, it considers only the chosen name, not the other face's name.
In the Commander variant, a double-faced card's color identity is determined by the mana costs and mana symbols in the rules text of both faces combined. If either face has a color indicator or basic land type, those are also considered.
One or both faces of a double-faced card may include a reminder about what's on the other face. This reminder text has no effect on gameplay.
Each double-faced card has an icon in the top-left corner of each face. For modal double-faced cards in this set, these icons are a single triangle for the front face, and a double triangle for the back face. These icons have no effect on gameplay.
Sep 8, 2020Thundermare3 posted a message on [CUBE] [ZNR] Agadeem's Awakening // Agadeem, the UndercryptHere is our black mythic MDFC. Not sure it does enough. Hmm.Posted in: Cube Card and Archetype Discussion
Sep 7, 2020Thundermare3 posted a message on [CUBE][ZNR] Shatterskull, the Hammer Pass // Shatterskull SmashingFor what its worth, I can think of several red cards in my 400 cube that are worse than this. I agree with wtwlf123, this card is slam.Posted in: Cube Card and Archetype Discussion
Sep 7, 2020Interesting new mana rock. Too bad you can only have one mana available if you tap out to kick it. Not sure if this unseats any of our mana rocks, but its a nice design. Busted with Tolarian Academy and other metalcraft type strategies.Posted in: Cube Card and Archetype Discussion
Sep 6, 2020Thundermare3 posted a message on [SCD] - [CUBE][ZNR] Silundi Visions // Isle of SlilundiSilundi Visions 2UPosted in: Cube Card and Archetype Discussion
Look at the top six cards of your library. You may reveal an instant or sorcery card from among them and put it into your hand. Put the rest into the bottom of your library in a random order.
"Do you notice the current? Turbulent seas await us."
—Jori En, expedition leader
Silundi Island enters the battlefield tapped.
T: Add U.
"From the hedron fields of Agadeem to the faduuns of Jwar Island, the islands of the Silundi Sea hold mystery after mystery."
—Jori En, expedition leader
Good for spells matter decks and usually worth the mana at instant speed. Gosh, all these MDFCs are fun to ponder about.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.