2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Erratic Portal + Creature ETB ability + Portcullis
    Thank you. When an ETB ability takes place in multiple steps such as I would describe the case with Massacre Girl, the whole of her ability text goes on the stack, correct (i.e. including "Whenever a creature dies this turn, each creature other than Massacre Girl gets -1/-1 until end of turn.")? In a recent game, I controlled Portcullis and there were a couple of creatures on the battlefield and my opponent brought out Massacre Girl. Active player's triggered abilities go on the stack first (in the order of their choice) then the non-active player's. So the last on the stack (first to resolve) is Massacre Girl being exiled under Portcullis. Then, each creature gets a -1/-1 counter. And then, even though Massacre Girl is in exile, if any creature dies, each remaining creature gets an additional -1/-1 counter (and so forth)?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Erratic Portal + Creature ETB ability + Portcullis
    If I control both Erratic Portal and Portcullis and I cast a creature such as Man-o'-War with an ETB trigger, can I have the Man-o'-War's ETB ability resolve, then activate Erratic Portal to return the creature to my hand thereby avoiding exile by Portcullis (assuming there are already at least 2 creatures on the battlefield)?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Cards that make "bombs" more dangerous to play
    Narset's Reversal is quite nice, thank you.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Cards that make "bombs" more dangerous to play
    Are there are any cards that make "bombs" like Torment of Hailfire a little riskier to play? Any color(s). The only card that comes to mind is Fork, can anyone think of another? Just to be clear, I'm looking for something above and beyond a counterspell (i.e. something that could cause the spell to backfire on the caster).
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Reflector Mage
    Quote from Rezzahan »
    The scenario as described is a shortcut proposal, since the target for the ability is prematurely announced.
    Ah, right... I remember reading that in some cases the target is not (need not be) announced immediately. So in this case, because it's a triggered ability, the target need only be announced after the trigger takes place, is that it?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Reflector Mage
    If the target creature is no longer on the battlefield when Reflector Mage resolves, the target creature's owner is still prevented from casting spells with the same name, correct?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on If a creature flips after being targeted, does the target change (become invalid)?
    So the same would hold true if Thing in the Ice was targeted by a card that affected a target creature such as Swords to Plowshares? That is, if Thing in the Ice was targeted by Swords to Plowshares and it transformed into Awoken Horror before Swords to Plowshares resolved, it would still be exiled even though the original target creature, at least in name anyway, no longer existed?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on If a creature flips after being targeted, does the target change (become invalid)?
    If my opponent targets a "flippable" creature such as Thing in the Ice with a targeted spell such as Beast Within and while that spell is on the stack, I manage to flip the creature (by casting an instant and removing the last counter), does Beast Within fizzle because the original target (Thing in the Ice) is not on the battlefield (at least not in its original form)?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Welding Jar
    Found the card I was thinking of, it's Debt of Loyalty. The distinction made with this card was applying the regeneration shield vs "using up" the regeneration shield. In order to successfully take control of the targeted creature with Debt of Loyalty, the targeted creature has to actually "use up" the regeneration shield (i.e. be destroyed).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Welding Jar
    That's what I thought. The reason I asked is because I thought I saw a card recently that made the distinction where a certain ability depended on a creature having regenerated in response to being destroyed although I don't remember any other details. The Gatherer ruling for the card I am thinking of said something along the lines that you couldn't trigger the ability simply by activating a regeneration shield. Or was the restriction that you weren't allowed to regenerate your opponent's creature. I'll see if I can find the card I am referring to.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Welding Jar
    If my opponent plays a card that would destroy Welding Jar, can I respond by sacrificing it and putting a regeneration shield on another artifact I control? Or can Welding Jar's regeneration ability only be used on an artifact that is about to be destroyed?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on When a creature with Persist returns from the graveyard, is it "immediate"?
    If a creature with Persist (and no counters on it) is killed, does it return "immediately" from the graveyard to play or, because it's a triggered ability that goes on the stack, would an opponent have an opportunity to exile it from the graveyard, for example by activating Tormod's Crypt before the triggered ability resolved?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Portcullis
    Thanks. As the creatures return to play one by one when Portcullis is destroyed, players have the opportunity to play instants during the process, correct? So if one of the creatures returning to play was False Prophet (owned by me), could I have my opponent's creatures return to play first, then False Prophet, then destroy False Prophet with an instant like Go For The Throat, then have False Prophet's triggered ability destroy all the creatures on the battlefield, and then have my remaining creatures exiled under Portcullis return to the battlefield?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Portcullis
    OK, well, I guess I was misled by a Reddit thread I was looking at which stated the creatures returned from exile simultaneously. So, if they enter one at a time, if one of the creatures was Crater Hellion for example, and I put his triggered ability on the stack last (i.e. his triggered ability would resolve first), none of the other creatures returning from exile would take 4 points of damage because they are entering the battlefield AFTER Crater Hellion? The Reddit thread I was looking at mentioned something about creatures "seeing each other" which confused me I guess.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Portcullis
    OK, I think I see what caused my confusion. What I was thinking/asking was when Portcullis is destroyed and the creatures exiled by it return to play, whether they came into play simultaneously or whether they enter the battlefield one after another in succession in the order chosen by the controller of the Portcullis. And I believe what happens, which is what you were saying indirectly (or directly and I missed it) is that the creatures return simultaneously but if any of the creatures have ETB abilities (e.g. Nekrataal) the controller of the Portcullis can choose how those ETB abilities are placed on the stack. Sound right? And yes, assuming the Portcullis was controlled by the same person the entire time it was on the battlefield.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.