A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on [ELD] lovestruck beast
    Quote from thatmarkguy »
    Quote from 5ColorsEDH »
    Is Faerie Noble in the reserved list?


    It is.

    Quote from KolbaneX »
    4 mana for 6/6 across 2 bodies...is it good enough?


    If it was as simple as that it would be. But 5 of that attacking power is so vulnerable. I mean Beauty can be easily destroyed (she's a 1/1), which shackles the Beast... but Beast can even be neutered by someone putting a +1/+1 counter on her!


    Funny. Beast can't love a fatty.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [ELD] Garruk, Cursed Huntsman
    Quote from leslak »
    Quote from Gutterstorm »
    Somebody correct me if I’m wrong but Rosewater said there were only three planeswalkers in the set. I guess maybe he wasn’t counting the BaB promo or something?

    As some have said: Garruk can be a Brawl commander or Will can be a Brawl commander. And again Rosewater said that will and Rowan are in the set, confirming Rowan is one of the walkers of the set, but never said Will would appear as a walker (could be the big bad wolf as people had speculated).


    Ha, I'd be interested in seeing the theory where he is the big bad wolf!
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [ELD] Garruk, Cursed Huntsman
    Quote from Gutterstorm »
    Somebody correct me if I’m wrong but Rosewater said there were only three planeswalkers in the set. I guess maybe he wasn’t counting the BaB promo or something?


    He's definitely the kind of guy who thinks picayune crap like that is the height of clever.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [CUBE][ELD] Embereth Shieldbreaker
    Quote from Zetsu_Sensei »


    Classic Manic Vandal type of a creature! Seems great!


    Do we know if this would count as a creature if you cast it in Adventure mode? Fairly significant vs things like Thorn of Amethyst or Vryn Wingmare in Cube
    Posted in: Cube New Card Discussion
  • posted a message on [CUBE][ELD] Flaxen Intruder
    Quote from Cythare »
    Quote from wtwlf123 »
    Quote from asmallcat »
    Do we even know how adventure works?


    You can cast the card's adventure mode from your hand, and it goes to exile when you do. Creatures with "adventure" can be cast from exile.

    So if you cast the adventure spell first, you can get both the adventure effect and the creature. And all creatures with an adventure spell attached to them are essentially immune to being exiled, since you can simply re-cast them from that zone.
    Aaron Forsythe clarified this - creatures with adventure gain the ability to be cast from exile as the adventure resolves. If the creature ends up in exile for any other reason, it'll be stranded like any other creature would be.


    Probably not a major issue but an annoying quirk to potentially keep track of.
    Posted in: Cube New Card Discussion
  • posted a message on [ELD] Faeries : Eye Collector, Maraleaf Pixie, Faerie Vandal, Tome Raider
    Quote from JinxedIdol »
    Faerie Vandal is too fair a Chasm Skulker. Wish it triggered on each draw beyond the first.


    This one has flying and costs less than the Stalker fwiw.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [CUBE][ELD] Flaxen Intruder
    Quote from wtwlf123 »
    Quote from asmallcat »
    Do we even know how adventure works?


    You can cast the card's adventure mode from your hand, and it goes to exile when you do. Creatures with "adventure" can be cast from exile.

    So if you cast the adventure spell first, you can get both the adventure effect and the creature. And all creatures with an adventure spell attached to them are essentially immune to being exiled, since you can simply re-cast them from that zone.


    We don't know the bolded part to be true. For instance, if a Rebound spell is exiled in some other way you can't cast it from exile.

    Granted, the two abilities work differently, but it is loose speculation to simply add a static "You may cast this from exile" to every Adventure card. Worse than that, to only add it to the creature side of the card.
    Posted in: Cube New Card Discussion
  • posted a message on [CUBE][ELD] Oko, Thief of Crowns
    Quote from willdice »
    Quote from Marl Karx »

    Does that mean you can put the ultimate on the stack exchanging control of your Food for your opponent's card, sacrifice the Food, and still get their card?


    Exchange is a keyword action, with specific rules preventing that.

    701.10a: A spell or ability may instruct players to exchange something (for example, life totals or control of two permanents) as part of its resolution. When such a spell or ability resolves, if the entire exchange can't be completed, no part of the exchange occurs.

    Example: If a spell attempts to exchange control of two target creatures but one of those creatures is destroyed before the spell resolves, the spell does nothing to the other creature.




    Ah, thanks. I think I do remember when "exchange" was added to the lexicon actually. Was it in m13 with Switcheroo?
    Posted in: Cube New Card Discussion
  • posted a message on [ELD] lovestruck beast
    Quote from Flamebuster »
    In fairness Noble used to be a creature type way back in the day, see Faerie Noble as an example.

    'buster


    Ironically, if they were to print a card named Noble Faerie in this set it likely wouldn't be a Noble Smile
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [ELD] 3 Adventure cards (with rules) and Uncommon Legendary (Syr Konrad)
    Why doesn't Syr Konrad, the Grim's first ability just read:
    Whenever a creature card is put into your graveyard from anywhere or leaves your graveyard, do ~x~.

    Why do they list both parts of dying or putting in the graveyard from anywhere else. Seems like a step back in templating.
    Is it really just so it doesn't count himself when he dies? Also, counter to Ashiok, Dream Render and Kaya, Orzhov Usurper!


    Knowing Wizards it's another case of missing the forest for the tress (ie lets not stress about important things and worry about going over minutiae with a fine-tooth comb).

    Which means it's probably because "Whenever another creature card..." is technically incorrect since permanents are creatures while in play/exile but creature cards in every other zone. Think dumb, really dumb.

    (Since the distinction CAUSES far more confusion to people than glossing over it ever would, you might think they just introduce a fudge rule that "creature" = creature except in cases where another zone is referenced and then it equals "creature cards")
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [ELD] 3 Adventure cards (with rules) and Uncommon Legendary (Syr Konrad)
    How do Adventure creatures work when they end up in exile normally (e.g. Path to Exile, graveyard exile effects)? You can't cast them from exile in this case...or can you?


    Interesting question as to what happens if the card is otherwise exiled as it is going to take some extra baggage to clarify this point either way.

    However, it appears that under no circumstances will the Adventure side be castable from exile leading me to suppose that part of the ability is "Adventures can only be cast from your hand" although there would be different ways to stipulate this.

    What concerns me is that if they try to bury this question in the official rules (mostly opaque to players) without issuing a clarification it's going to be a major point of confusion. And it looks for all the world like they are going to do exactly that.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [CUBE][ELD] Oko, Thief of Crowns
    On most cards if a spell or ability has multiple targets and then one of them is removed before resolution, you continue with as much of the effect of the spell as possible.

    Does that mean you can put the ultimate on the stack exchanging control of your Food for your opponent's card, sacrifice the Food, and still get their card?
    Posted in: Cube New Card Discussion
  • posted a message on [ELD] Rankle, Master of Pranks via TCGPlayer
    Agree, "choose any number" is definitely ??? wording
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [C19][CUBE] Scroll of Fate
    Besides which, there is an entire step for "after blocks before damage"
    Posted in: Cube Card and Archetype Discussion
  • posted a message on [C19][CUBE] Ohran Frostang
    WotC logic never fails to amaze. "We don't want to put extraneous things like the "snow" type on cards unless its a #*now set* -- so let's make patently obvious snow cards and just not put SNOW on them instead because otherwise there's a slippery slope. Not that we ever have to go down said slope but existentially it would exist and that alone is an issue.."

    They're literally holding themselves hostage to a buzzword (slippery slope) while walking directly into another one that is just as bad if not worse (striking the unhappy compromise)
    Posted in: Cube Card and Archetype Discussion
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.