I've managed to pull a few dual lands from guilds of ravnica that share the same name however the artwork and flavor text is completely different.
If I'm building a commander deck do these cards count as separate from each other or are they considered the same land thereby not allowing me to have more than one?
- Registered User
Member for 1 year, 3 months, and 21 days
Last active Wed, Oct, 24 2018 14:20:04
- 0 Followers
- 27 Total Posts
- 0 Thanks
Jul 4, 2018Posted in: Magic Rulings
We only have one judge, who is a co-owner and one of the problem players.
It may be something to report to wizards, but it's not exactly a completely legal store. It frequently runs out of stock and will rely upon some players acquiring booster packs from local sellers and getting store credit or discounts.
Jul 4, 2018Posted in: Magic RulingsRescue right after attacker declaration, but you can also wait until after blocker declaration.
What/who is being attacked is decided when the attackers are declared as part of the attacker declaration in the declare attackers step. You know who they are going after, and that cannot be changed anymore.
That's what makes playing at my local store a nightmare. The elitist players expect quick reflex responses ie you need to counter permanents before the card touches the table or it's too late I haven't memorized enough to know triggers offhand thus I prefer seeing the card in play before casting responses but it's not acceptable.
Jul 4, 2018Posted in: Magic RulingsRescue like any other instant any time you have priority. It will resolve during the same step and phase in which you cast it. To rescue Teferi from those attacking creatures, you can cast it in the declare attackers step after attackers have been declared, or in the declare blockers step after blockers have been declared. You cannot cast it in response to combat damage (not since M10), at least not at Teferi, since Teferi will have been dealt combat damage and been put into your graveyard before you even get priority in the combat damage step. So there's plenty of opportunity to negate the attack this way and save your planeswalker. If you do, the attackers will still be attacking, but there will be nothing/noone being attacked by them. Their combat damage will be "wasted", your opponent cannot redirect them to you or another planeswalker.
Thanks. That's another interesting point as I have been declared dead in previous situations when I cast peel from reality or other removal type spells on my creature or an opponent did so to negate my blocker "the combat damage is redirected to me"
I assume that if they kill my blocker with an instant I take damage from attacking creatures, however if I or they play a removal spell on my blocker the damage is wasted?
Jul 4, 2018Posted in: Magic RulingsQuote from peteroupc »Rescue can target any "permanent you control", including a planeswalker being attacked, and you can cast Rescue any time you have priority, not just before combat damage is dealt. However, if Teferi runs out of loyalty counters (whether by combat damage or otherwise), Teferi will go to the graveyard before any player has priority to cast spells, including Rescue.
Perhaps it's the order of events. I have learned that with this particular store and judge the overly competitive players require quick and snap decisions. Although we have around 80% rookie players they have not tolerance for misunderstanding, incorrect phrasing or lack of immediate response with casting instants.
I recall that he stated "do you have any blockers" and I said no and then said "but in response I cast rescue"
I am assuming that I need to state casting rescue as an immediate response to an attack
But one question, do I need to cast rescue before he declares targets for his attackers?
Jul 4, 2018Heres the situation, my opponent entered his combat phase and targeted three creatures at teferi, hero of dominaria in response I cast rescue targeting teferi to return it to my hand, at that point yelled "you cant do that Teferi is dead already"Posted in: Magic Rulings
I stated that I played an instant which is on the stack before the damage hits teferi, he responded that it not how the spell works. "You can use rescue to remove a permanent before the combat phase or during your turn however it's not a counter spell or a healing spell healing grace it's a removal and therefore you can't cast it now" apparently combat damage will occur before the rescue resolves meaning that teferi is in my graveyard and thus hes no longer "in my control"
The Judge overheard our argument and walked over after hearing both sides he stated that teferi would be placed into my graveyard because combat damage hits teferi and he loses his loyalty thus removing him from the battlefield meaning that when I cast rescue hes no longer in my control.
With this being the case does that mean I have been playing the game wrong? In previous combat phases before the dominaria release I successfully used peel from reality to return creatures to my hand and my opponent's hand.
To me it doesn't make sense that the card is entitled "rescue" if it's only intended for use in non combat or non damage situations
Apr 28, 2018Looks like they survived, I've been able to carefully wipe them off with a cloth but I find it odd that they would brush clay onto them. Looks like they mostly brushed the outsides of the cards and separated some to coat them entirely with semi wet clay. In Google searching I've come up with that clay apparently reacts with C4 and such, some of my other possessions have clay as well.Posted in: Community Discussion
I guess it's a lesson that if your going overseas make sure to carry your most valuable possessions on your person.
I'm still wondering if anyone else has experienced this and if your cards are still legally playable? Some of the worst of them feel as if they are possibly heavier. Others just have some blemishes or scratches from the clay dust but most of it isn't noticeable without a closer look.
Apr 27, 2018gonti lord luxuryPosted in: Casual & Multiplayer Formats
tetzimoc primal death
Dont forget these crowd pleasers, if you can afford it you might want a planeswalker, you probably don't need 2 diabolic tutors considering they're expensive mana and with smaller decks they won't always be needed, if you can find a vampiric tutor perhaps, you can run two but you can find a fair amount of draw discard cards for finding your specific creatures and use macabre waltz to bring discarded cards back with mono black it's good to play nasty
Apr 27, 2018Erenoth2002 posted a message on Returning to MTG, searching for a tutor (not that kind)You might have better luck if your interested in someone who can meet up and play at a local store with you.Posted in: Community Discussion
At our local store we have an English tutor who uses mtg to teach a few of his students who also are interested in getting into the game. The store communities can be a lot more fun than via online and you would learn a lot more
Apr 27, 2018This is something I have wanted to do for a long time. I kept buying innistrad and eldritch moon for werewolfs and kept pulling Angel's. I don't have a proper commander yet but perhaps a modern deck.Posted in: Community Discussion
kaalia the vast
aurelia, the warleader
iona, shield of emeria
akroma, angel of fury
bruna, the fading light
gisela, the broken blade
thalia, heretic cathar
There's numerous enchantments instants and sorceries that can give you extra Angel's red spells to beef up or give haste black spells to destroy opponents creatures or bring back your Angel's and or demons, you can combine Angel's to give all your Angel's protection and exile them and return them for extra buffs such as exiling and returning the angel who gives your creatures protection from colors. Save your sunblast Angel's until your opponent's have a large number of creatures trapped and board wipe another angel can give all your angel's vigilance strategize to continue board wipes until you can play your angels that combine and drop a huge eldrazi angel onto the field and boom!
You could possibly play daxos the returned if your playing a lot of enchantments and beef him up to drop a 10/10 spirit which your angel's can give flying lifelink and vigilance to.
Apr 27, 2018oath of gideonPosted in: Community Discussion
oath of ajani
the chain veil
Take extra turn cards, I believe theres a planeswalker who adds loyalty to other planeswalkers or something of that nature, once dominaria comes out it has a card that gives planeswalkers 2 loyalty counters. Theoretically he could possibly gain 9 loyalty by turn 3, if you have enough mana he becomes a 13 by turn 4 or 5.
Apr 27, 2018Good to know that I'm not the only one dealing with an odd player like this one, turns out that the judge is very good friends with him apparently they attend Grand Prix together, it seems that he and other players at this store are compulsive liars and cheaters making tournaments boring, I am hoping to set my phone to record them at some point to send it in to Wizards, it took a couple commander tournaments to figure it out, but nobody can possibly open with the same set of cards every single time you play against them, I suspect at least 5 players are stacking their decks or playing with multiples of the same cards, I believe that they are doing so in order to win booster packs and the occasional rares offered in tournaments. They change their decks for tournaments enough to confuse most but still the same combo cards continue to come out in the first few turns repeatedly, one plays a dragon deck and always manages to start with a sol ring or chromatic lantern, I kid you not every time its either of those.Posted in: Community Discussion
I think because its a small store in a small town in the middle of nowhere they think they can get away with it, the judge is the owners brother and also is very unreliable but he can use the store stock to build up decks.
Apr 26, 2018I shipped a large amount of of my magic cards home via the airlines and when they finally cleared customs and arrived I found them covered in clay dust?? Very odd... perhaps customs had to make sure that none of them were laced with explosives O.oPosted in: Community Discussion
Anyhow I was wondering about how I can properly clean them off as not to damage them any further. Unless perhaps they're just far too damaged to consider for trading at this point. But at least I should be able to carefully remove the clay enough for playing them
Apr 14, 2018Posted in: Commander (EDH)Quote from ilovesaprolings »Quote from LouCypher »Calling people who have those experiences liars is a very poor way of going about the discussion.
But it's a lie. Even at 10 poison straight, 100% infect aggro decks have no chance. Simple as that. Look at the creatures with infect, things like blackcleave goblin, blightwidow, contagious nim, flensermite have a chance in EDH even with only 10 poison? Even more pushed infect creatures like chained throatseeker, phyrexian swarmlord and phyrexian vatmother are mediocre.
Put together an aggro deck with only infect creatures at it will still struggle with the 10 poison rule. It is simple not viable. Telling that such a deck can become viable is like telling that a Starfish tribal deck is viable. Meanwhile, cheesy combo and interactions will flourish thanks to that rule.
10 poison is actually probably a completely reasonable number in any format unfortunately I'm growing more certain that I am playing against stacked decks.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.