2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on What allows me to play Zendikar Rising double-faced cards as lands the back face up?
    Thank you, the thread you linked answers that the Comprehensive Rules do not currently address this. I should have found that recent thread, but I was looking for "double-faced" rather than the abbreviation "MDFC".
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on What allows me to play Zendikar Rising double-faced cards as lands the back face up?
    Dear forum, I'm trying to understand the new rules for modal double-faced cards. Suppose I have Akoum Warrior in my hand, it's the main phase of my turn, and I haven't played a land yet. What rule says that I'm allowed to play Akoum Warrior as a land with its back face (Akoum Teeth) up?

    I'm looking at the Comprehensive Rules dated September 25, 2020. Rule 711 talks about double-faced cards in general, and it doesn't mention anything about playing lands. Rules 116.2a allows me to play a land per turn as a special action, but it doesn't mention double-faced cards. 305.1/3 and 701.14a also talk about playing a land, but they also don't mention anything relevant. 711.4a says that while the land is in my hand, only the characteristics of the front face matter, and the front face isn't a land, so that doesn't allow me to use the special action for playing a land. Perhaps the special action cares about whether the permanent will be a land? But 711.9 says that when I put the card onto the battlefield from my hand, its front face will be up, and I don't see what overrides this. There's probably a rule or combinations of rules hidden in the Comprehensive Rules, but if so, I can't find it.

    Note that I'm not just asking whether I'm allowed to play the back face as a land. I'm sure that I can. My original motivation was to find out how the modal double-faced cards interact with the effects of Shelldock Isle, though the Zendikar Rising release notes answers that, and how it interacts with Isochron Scepter.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.