2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on How to Factor Haktos' Random Protection Values in Your Favor
    When you choose a number at random the possible outcomes are supposed to be equally likely. This is cheating.



    EDIT: Not to mention the probability of getting one head is the same as the probability of getting one tail which is the same as the probability of getting two heads, so this isn't even clever.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Octuple Lifelink
    Quote from monroe8 »

    This is also really helpful. I have the Mirrodin version in another deck and didn't know it had been updated. Now I know that if the Loxodon Warhammer is equipped to a creature with Spirit Link, those two instances of Lifelink are redundant. Thanks guys!


    Actually Spirit Link does not grant lifelink, it grants a triggered ability (see its Oracle text). So it DOES give double life with Warhammer or something with lifelink.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mana Henge
    Quote from peteroupc »
    When figuring the cost to cast The Great Henge, you determine the greatest power among creatures you control before you pay that spell's cost (C.R. 601.2f, 601.2h). Here is how this can work:
    • It's your main phase and you have no mana. Assume Omnath is the only creature you control and you control eight Forests.
    • You tap six Forests for G each. Now you have GGGGGG and Omnath is now 7/7.
    • You start casting The Great Henge (C.R. 601.2).
    • While casting that spell, you figure its cost (C.R. 601.2f). Since Omnath's power is 7, The Great Henge costs 7 less, so that The Great Henge now costs GG. This cost is locked in.
    • Now you can activate mana abilities (since the cost includes mana) (C.R. 601.2g). You tap two more Forests for GG more.
    • You spend GG to pay for The Great Henge (C.R. 601.2h), then that spell is cast (C.R. 601.2i).




    Do you need to tap lands to get more mana? Can't you use some of the GGGGGG you have floating?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Burning-Tree Emissary and Devotion count
    You have two tomatoes.
    How many fruits do you have? Two.
    How many vegetables do you have? Two.
    How many fruits and/or vegetables do you have? Two. Not four.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Multiple "Skipping"
    Depending on what you meant they do not stack. Two "does not untap during the next uptap" effects do NOT stack since the next untap only happens once. Two "skip the next untap" effects DO stack.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Interactions Between Melira, Sylvok Outcast or Solemnity and Persist
    The above two answers are different in what happens to Melira herself. It is my understanding that she will return with a -1/-1 counter since her replacement effect doesn't apply until she is on the battlefield, by which time she will already have a -1/-1 counter. Please explain who is right.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Looking for ideas for an Omniscience deck
    Off the wall commander suggestion: Rasputin Dreamweaver. He lends himself to a big mana Azorius deck, and you can hardcast Omniscience the turn after you cast him. White lets you run Rector and Idyllic Tutor. His mana lets you cheat out the big things you'd be trying to get with Omniscience.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Martyr's Cause oracle text: Why does it say "target?"
    So I cannot prevent damage that would be dealt TO a creature with shroud? Because that is a change from the written functionality of the card.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Martyr's Cause oracle text: Why does it say "target?"
    I play Martyr's Cause in my Saffi Eriksdotter Commander deck as a free sacrifice outlet. I noticed today that the Oracle text of this card differs from what the card says.

    Sacrifice a creature: The next time a source of your choice would deal damage to any target this turn, prevent that damage.


    1. Does this ability target? If not, why does it say "target?"

    2. Can this prevent damage from a source that does not target? Can I sacrifice a creature to prevent all damage that would be dealt by Blasphemous Act even though Act does not "deal damage to any target?"
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Azusa vs. Rule of Law vs. Muldrotha
    I cast Azusa, Lost but Seeking in my first main phase. I play two additional lands. Second main phase, I sacrifice Azusa to Ashnod's Altar and use the mana to pay for a second Azusa. I CANNOT play two additional lands, because the game knows how many lands I've played this turn, even though the second Azusa was not around to see them.

    I cast Rule of Law. I CANNOT cast additional spells this turn, since the game knows how many spells I've played this turn, even though Rule of Law was not around to see them.

    I cast Muldrotha, the Gravetide in my first main phase. I cast a creature card from my graveyard. Second main phase, I sacrifice Muldrotha to Ashnod's Altar and use the mana to cast a second Muldrotha. As I understand it, I CAN now cast a second creature card from my graveyard, even though as we've seen the game knows how many spells I've cast from my graveyard this turn, even if this Muldrotha was not around to see it.

    This seems backwards to me. Why does Muldrotha work differently from Azusa and Rule of Law?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Adapt and The Great Henge
    Quote from from="SavannahLion »" url="/forums/magic-fundamentals/magic-rulings/814421-adapt-and-the-great-henge?comment=1 »


    Am I misunderstanding something here? Shouldn't I be able to adapt a creature while whatever it is adding the counters is still on the stack? For instance, if I theoretically have six mana, I should be able to adapt the Guardian, then, in response to the adapt and while it's still on the stack, adapt again?


    You can do this but the second Adapt ability to resolve will do nothing.

    Adapt 2. (If this creature has no +1/+1 counters on it, put two +1/+1 counters on it.)

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on What Are you using for a Deck Box?
    I use an old holiday gift box from when they used to sell them. Fits nine decks. I'm sure someone else will know more about this than me but there's a specific brand of fishing tackle box / tool box that has compartments that perfectly fit several commander decks.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Advice for Ultimate ANTI-Combo/expensive players
    You're thinking of Stax. It's an established archetype, but is just as expensive as the combo decks to build, with the added bonus that you'll lose friends because nobody likes playing against stax.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Happily Ever After
    Scuttlemutt and Scrapbasket don't work because Happily Ever After is an intervening if. It doesn't even trigger unless you control 5c of permanents at the beginning of your upkeep.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Obsolete rules tricks
    You used to be able to Momentary Blink a token and it would return to the battlefield, because tokens ceased to exist off the battlefield only as a state based effect, which was not checked during the resolution of Momentary Blink.

    There were various rules tricks before Reach was a thing, where creatures were able to block "as though they had flying." Giant Spider could block Treetop Rangers because it blocked "as though" at had flying, so as far as Treetop Rangers was concerned it had flying.

    "Substance" was an ability that the Oracle texts of various cards had to make them work under the rules. Newer templating has eliminated the need for it, and it was never printed on a card. Spider Climb used to gain substance if you cast it as an instant.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.