2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on "Phase out" vs "Gain Phasing"
    Quote from xecel »
    Quote from Kamonohashi »
    Phasing instants (like Reality Ripple) would seem to be the cards that are distinctly different, in functional terms. If I understand correctly, an instant like Reality Ripple would cause permanents to phase out just once, and then they would phase in permanently on the controller's next untap step. That's very different from cards that "have phasing" and cards whose phasing is controlled by a global enchantment or the abilities of a creature card-- where the phasing continues ongoingly.
    Not quite, "phase out" only happens once but all of the cards mentioned in this thread phase out things multiple times, but in general that isn't the case. For example if a creature is blocked by dream warrior it doesn't gain phasing, so it stays phased in after being phased out unless it blocks dream warrior again.
    Up until now, I have been focusing on how the phased card behaves-- what it actually does as a result of everything going on under the hood. I can see now that what's going on under the hood is critical, however, and that the distinction between a card that "has phasing" and one that "phases out" a permanent in a one time manner-- but is triggered multiple times while it is in play-- is critical. The effect may be very similar but the mechanics are completely different.

    What about a card like Vanishing? How would that work? It isn't a global enchantment. Vanishing enchants a single creature, and whenever two blue mana are paid, the enchanted creature phases out. I would expect that, much like the way that Dream Fighter behaves, the enchanted creature phases out once, then phases in permanently until the trigger is activated again-- in this case the trigger being the payment of two more blue mana. Is that correct?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on "Phase out" vs "Gain Phasing"
    This is all extremely helpful. I feel that I'm finally getting a sense of how phasing cards actually work.

    It sounds like the biggest practical/functional differences between "gaining phasing" and "phasing out" are that the timing of "phasing out" (as controlled by global enchantments and abilities) depends heavily on the specific instructions of the specific enchantment and creature card, and the ongoing phasing in/out only happens as long as the enchantment/creature cards are in play. Apart from that, "phasing out" is actually quite similar to "gaining phasing" for enchantments and the abilities of creature cards-- in that the cards that are getting phased do continue phasing in and out and in and out ongoingly until the controlling cards are destroyed or exiled.

    Phasing instants (like Reality Ripple) would seem to be the cards that are distinctly different, in functional terms. If I understand correctly, an instant like Reality Ripple would cause permanents to phase out just once, and then they would phase in permanently on the controller's next untap step. That's very different from cards that "have phasing" and cards whose phasing is controlled by a global enchantment or the abilities of a creature card-- where the phasing continues ongoingly.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on "Phase out" vs "Gain Phasing"
    I have a follow up question that I'd like to ask in order to check my understanding of how "phasing out" works (as opposed to "gaining phasing"). The card Teferi's Realm says, "At the beginning of each player's upkeep, that player chooses artifacts, creatures, lands, or global enchantments. All cards of that type phase out."

    If I understand correctly, here's how I would expect the card works: I play Teferi's Realm as part of my turn. After my turn ends, and at the beginning of my opponents upkeep step, he selects which type of permanent he wants to "phase out." Those cards phase out immediately. After his turn ends, at the beginning of my upkeep step, I choose which type of permanents I want to phase out. They phase out immediately. At this point, both my permanents and my opponent's permanents are phased out. At the beginning of my opponent's next untap step, his permanents phase back in and remain phased in for the rest of the game. After his turn ends, and my next turn begins, my permanents phase back in, too, and remain phased in for the rest of the game. At this point, all of the cards are back for good.

    If the above is correct, and I wanted to use this card as part of a destruction strategy, my opponent would have a chance to phase out (save) a number of his permanents before I could play a destruction card like Akroma's Vengeance. And, if he had a destruction card in his hand, he could play it as soon as his permanents phased out, leaving me with nothing whatsoever on the battlefield. Is that correct?



    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on "Phase out" vs "Gain Phasing"
    So, if I am understanding correctly, cards (like Shimmer) which "give phasing" cause the permanent to phase out during the controller's next untap step, and to continue phasing in and out for the remainder of the game, unless some other card acts upon it.

    Cards like Taniwha or Reality Ripple, don't give the permanent the ability of phasing. They just cause it to phase out-- once time and only one time. A card phased out by Taniwha or Reality Ripple will phase out immediately, then automatically phase in during the controller's next untap step, and remain phased in for the rest of the game.

    Is this correct?

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on "Phase out" vs "Gain Phasing"
    I think I have a pretty good general understanding of phasing, but I'm a bit confused by the wording of cards which refer to it. Some refer to permanents "gaining phasing," while others refer to them "phasing out." For example Shimmer says,“When you play Shimmer, choose a land type. All lands of the chosen type gain phasing.” Taniwha says, “At the beginning of your upkeep, all lands you control phase out.”

    To what extent are these the same thing, and to what extent are they different? If I understand correctly, a creature which has the static ability "phasing" will automatically phase out and in on alternating turns at the beginning of the controller's untap phase. If I use the enchantment Shimmer to make a land card "phase out," does this mean that the card "gains phasing" only for as long as [Shimmer] is in play? If Shimmer is destroyed, does the land (1) continue to possess phasing until the end of the game, (2) remain phased in permanently the next time that it "phases in" or (3) phase in instantly and permanently as soon as Shimmer is destroyed?

    What about an instant like Reality Ripple which is played and then discarded? If Reality Ripple is used on a land, does that land "gain phasing" permanently? Meaning that it will phase out and continue to phase in and phase out every other turn until the end of the game? Another possible interpretation of an instant causing a permanent to "phase out" would be that the card phases out and never comes back again. That seems unlikely, but...

    I'd be grateful for any help you could provide. Phasing is an intriguing ability, but so little is written about its nuances.


    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.