2019 Holiday Exchange!
A New and Exciting Beginning
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on [UNF] Mothership 9/22 — The Most Dangerous Gamer
    Its actually nasty and playable ...

    God save us all ...

    Aren't all attractions with prizes so far with an acorn stamp, though?
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [DMU] Argivian Cavalier — Hipsters of the Coast preview
    Given the wording, enlist is a replacement effect, not a trigger. It doesn't go on the stack. Isshin won't care about enlist. Though it does generates a trigger afterwards (for the boost).
    But it won't be due to your creature attacking but rather to that replacement effect.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [40K] [2X2] Warhammer 40k and Double Masters 2022 Prebeat — Weekly MTG previews
    Quote from Ghurhgs »
    That'd be weird. Every planeswalker from Throne onwards, except the planeswalker deck ones, have a borderless variant.

    During the stream, they confirmed the set would have more than two planeswalkers, but only Liliana and Wrenn/Six would get the special treatment.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [KHM] "Glittering Frost"— Weibo preview
    Technically, it might increase your snow count by 2 : the enchant is Snow and the enchanted land becomes snow as well.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Cheating
    Quote from Wslmom »
    Hi, my son plays at a local shop and was recently suspended because a couple of people thought he was cheating. Nobody had hard evidence (or he would have been banned for life).

    I'll stop right there with a few questions to figure out exactly what happened : suspended regarding Magic the Gathering has a peculiar meaning. Suspension occurs after being disqualified at an event, followed by a report sent to a comitee in charge of reviewing the issue. It's only afterward that a suspension can be issued, so it isn't something that can be decided at a store level. Also : a life ban for cheating once is very unlikely.

    So the main question here would be : is he actually suspended officially? Or do you mean by suspended that the store decided to prevent him from playing for a while there? If it's a shop decision, the only thing is to check with them for more information. If it went through the process described above, it'd mean that the Tournament Organizer or the Judge that day disqualified him, and sent a report. Normally, those reports should include a testimony from the player disqualified (at least if he accepts to write one).

    An important thing to note : proof isn't required for a disqualification for cheating. Magic is not using the "Innocent until proven guilty" logic. As long as the person in charge of the investigation (then again, should be a judge, or the Tournament Organizer) is convinced that the player did all three of the following, then he may disqualify that person for cheating :

    - did something that isn't allowed by the rules;
    - knew that what they did isn't allowed by the rules;
    - did so in order to gain an advantage.

    Cheating can take so many forms in Magic it really depends from one case to another (card manipulation, draw cards without being supposed to...).
    Posted in: Pioneer
  • posted a message on [CMR] Toggo, Goblin Weaponsmith and Wheel of Misfortune— Lotus Game Bar previews
    Not very good at Japanese, but from what I manage to decipher : it's not the rock but the creature inflicting the damage (I can read "This creature") and the target can be creature, planeswalker or player (I thought that would have been "Any target" following the new templating butl maybe Japan didn't follow on that?)

    Edit : just checked with a M21 shock. They don't use the any target and still use the old "Creature, planeswalker or player". So those rocks are actually Shocks.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [2XM] Council's Judgment and Crop Rotation— Best Marmotte previews
    Quote from Ryperior74 »
    nope It’s not gonna hold this it’s second printing of this so another sacristy problem was the reason for a $10 price tag and yes even when it sees a little play in legacy which is why it rose in the first place

    I think you mean "scarcity" Smile

    Other than that I agree : card is valuable because it was printed only once in an exotic set. Its price is due to partly legacy (though they don't use a full playset) but also mainly commander players I think.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [2XM] Austere Command— Magic WeChat preview
    The card was a bad pull in Iconic Masters. Sure, prices inflated since then (US market seems incredibly inflated, that card is worth 3~6€ here). Still means this one will be a bad pull from a Double Masters booster (as it's double the price).
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Double Masters 2XM New reprint product
    I don't think I've seen the details so far in this thread for the VIP Edition of Double Masters

    Box will contain 4 boosters of 33 cards :

    • 9 foil commons
    • 8 foil uncos
    • 2 foil rare or mythic
    • 2 foil box toppers
    • 12 full art basic lands, including two foil basics
    • 2 foil tokens

    This comes from a french shop who seems to have put a bit too early the product on preorder :


    Price is...well. Crazy as expected (400€ for 4 boosters). They also put the Double Masters regular boxes for less than 300€ on pre-order.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [M21] Frantic inventory (trustedreviews)
    Quote from the n00b king »
    I've always a hard time wrapping my head around this thing.

    So if you cast this, do you draw 2? Because it counts itself no? If the spell checks the grave for copies upon resolution, wouldn't the card itself be in the grave at that time?

    Or it's really just:


    The spell won't count itself when resolving : a spell is put in the graveyard only once it has fully been resolved. By then you'll have already drawn your card(s).

    Draw 2 unconditionally for 1U as an instant would be quite crazy.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [IKO] Jeuxvideo.com - Protocole d'évasion

    Here's a new card from a french website - JeuxVideo.com :

    Evasion protocol - 1U
    Whenever you cycle a card, you may pay 1. When you do so, exile target artifact or creature you control, then return that card to the battlefield under its owner's control.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Brawl deck list
    Balance between the decks is god-awful in 1v1 on Arena.

    UWB Fairies is cheap, has draw engines, two wraths (Massacre Girl and Kaya's Wrath). The commander is the cheapest one and almost all of its creatures are flyers. If you can't deal with the commander the first time it enters the battlefield during your next turn, you'll be smothered under a pile of fairies pretty fast. And all decks are lacking kill spells. Except for thzt one, which has several O-Ring-like effects, and even an aura to transform the enemy commander into a vanilla 1/1, literally turning off their commander for the remainder of the game...
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Tolsimir, Friend to Wolves
    Quote from SilverWolf_27 »
    Quote from Jiyor »
    Quote from Raptorchan »
    What's strange is the wording "You may have it fight up to one target creature". Any ideas?

    So your wolves don’t have to auto fight creature that will kill them.

    Still a bit redundant, "it fights up to one creature" or "you may have it fight a creature" would have it covered.

    Thing is with that wording you can decide to fight a creature, and if your opponent casts giant growth on his, just say "Nevermind, not fighting" and you will save your wolf.

    You choose whether or not you're actually fighting as the ability resolves, while you choose the target as you put the ability on the stack. Overall it does add a layer of possibilities.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Augur of Bolas, Tezzeret Buy-a-Box promo and more
    Quote from EasyLover »

    Wonder if they dared to make Paradise Druid 1 mana. Hopefuly he adds 2 mana if Planeswalker is cast by him.

    So you want a 1CC drop that produces two manas? A colored sol ring for walker on top of that? And it's an uncommon at best. I'm afraid you will be utterly disappointed. Kekeke
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.