A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on Excess power from crewing
    The cost to activate "crew N" is "Tap any number of untapped creatures you control with total power N or greater" (C.R. 702.121a). Thus, for example, to pay for Ballista Charger's "crew 3" ability you can tap three creatures you control with total power 6 (e.g., three Runeclaw Bears), or four creatures you control with total power 5 (e.g. three Zealous Guardians and one Runeclaw Bear), among other possibilities. However, in general, tapping creatures with greater total power than N this way has no bigger effect than tapping creatures with total power N this way.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Opportunistic Dragon+Bronze Bombshell
    Quote from MRHblue »
    If they were actual discreet actions, wouldn't a new sentence or line of text signify that? This is joined with commas
    In general, as far as the game is concerned, it's not the word "then" or "and" or the use of separate sentences or clauses that indicates sequential actions, but the use of two action verbs. See also this thread.

    However, the last sentence of Opportunistic Dragon's triggered ability presents a particular difficulty not found in most other cases: it expresses three continuous effects that are bundled up by a single duration mentioned only once ("For as long as Opportunistic Dragon remains on the battlefield"), and moreover, two of the effects look like actions but they're not ("gain control of that permanent" and "it loses all abilities") (see also C.R. 611.1 and this thread). That sentence would have been clearer if it said, for example, "For as long as Opportunistic Dragon remains on the battlefield, you control that permanent, it has no abilities, and it can't attack or block" (see also Charisma's text as printed in Mercadian Masques). Here, the first two continuous effects are reworded to express states, not putative actions, so that all three continuous effects are clearly seen to begin simultaneously.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Adventure and Rebound
    If the Adventure replacement effect exiles an Adventure spell instead of putting it into its owner's graveyard as it resolves (the effect is thus similar to rebound's [C.R. 702.87a], but note that it's not optional), the resulting card can be cast by whoever that spell's controller was, but not as an Adventure (C.R. 715.3d).

    In general, if two or more replacement effects would affect where a spell would go, that spell's controller chooses one of them to apply (C.R. 616.1). If you're that player and those replacement effects are rebound (C.R. 702.87a) and the replacement effect for Adventures, you choose one and the other will be inapplicable since the spell is no longer going to the graveyard (C.R. 616.1, 616.1d-e). Notably:
    • If the rebound replacement effect is chosen this way, you may cast the resulting card "at the beginning of your next upkeep", and in general, in the case of adventurer cards, you can do so either as a creature spell or as an Adventure (under C.R. 702.87a, rebound doesn't limit what a player can cast that card as).
    • If the Adventure replacement effect is chosen this way, you can generally cast the resulting card, but not as an Adventure (C.R. 715.3d), but it can be cast this way "[f]or as long as that card remains exiled", not just "at the beginning of your next upkeep".

    EDIT (Oct. 1): Edited to conform to rules update with Throne of Eldraine.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Ninjutsu Attack Unblocked abilities question
    If, at the point that blockers are declared during the declare blockers step, no creatures were declared as blockers for an attacking creature, the attacking creature becomes an "unblocked creature" and any triggered abilities of the form "Whenever [a creature] attacks and isn't blocked..." that apply to that creature will trigger (C.R. 509.5g, 509.1h); those abilities will then go on the stack. Since the creature is an unblocked attacking creature, it can be returned to its owner's hand with the ninjutsu ability (C.R. 702.48a), but even so, any triggered abilities on the stack will get to resolve even if that creature has left the battlefield in the meantime (see also C.R. 113.7a).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Current issues with the comprehensive rules of Magic
    Additional questions and issues:
    • For the purposes of Rishkar's Expertise, is only the chosen half of a split card "evaluated" (C.R. 708.3a) to determine its converted mana cost, or always both halves? Post.
    • If Twincast copies a spell that targets a permanent, does that permanent "become the target" of the copy, even without choosing new targets? [Additional question: If so, what if that permanent is an illegal target?] E.g., Unsettled Mariner, Cowardice, Phantasmal Image. Post.
    • Veil of Summer allows a player to gain "hexproof from [quality]" but the current rules don't cover "hexproof from [quality]" on a player, which might not be intended. Post.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • posted a message on Captive Audience
    Quote from Mihejra »
    And when I'll return my "exhausted" (all 3 choices has been made) Captive Audience to my hand. And then I'll send it back to battlefield. Is it restarted? With all 3 choices possible?
    Yes, choices made for a permanent are specific to that permanent and don't apply to different objects (even if they're represented by the same card [C.R. 400.7]). This is a similar principle with Demonic Pact, Chromatic Armor, Nevermore, Monastery Siege, and other permanents with an ability of the form "As [this permanent] enters the battlefield, choose..."
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Can Silverblade Paladin is Soulbond with Smuggler's Copter?
    When Silverblade Paladin enters the battlefield under your control, you must control another "unpaired" creature (which need not be Smuggler's Copter) at that time for Silverblade Paladin's soulbond ability to trigger (C.R. 702.94a, 603.4, 109.5). However, when that ability resolves, if you still "control both [Silverblade Paladin] and another creature and both are unpaired, you may pair [Silverblade Paladin] with another unpaired creature you control" (C.R. 702.94a, 608.2a). Here is how this scenario can play out:
    • Assume you control Honor Guard and also control Smuggler's Copter which is not yet a creature. Both permanents are unpaired.
    • You bring Silverblade Paladin onto the battlefield. Since you "control both [Silverblade Paladin] and another creature", namely Honor Guard, "and both are unpaired", Silverblade Paladin's soulbond will trigger.
    • Retaining priority, you activate the crew ability of Smuggler's Copter (C.R. 702.121a).
    • All players pass, then that ability resolves. Smuggler's Copter becomes an artifact creature (C.R. 702.121a).
    • All players pass, then the soulbond ability resolves. Since you still "control both [Silverblade Paladin] and another creature and both are unpaired", you can now choose to "pair [Silverblade Paladin] with another unpaired creature you control", such as Honor Guard or Smuggler's Copter.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Help With Role Reversal and Enchantments
    Role Reversal can target Experimental Frenzy and Sunbond together since they share a "permanent type", namely enchantment (C.R. 110.4).

    If you gain control of an Aura like Sunbond from another player, you don't also thereby gain control of whatever that Aura is attached to. This is because an "Aura's controller is separate from the enchanted object's controller or the enchanted player; the two need not be the same" (C.R. 303.4e). Sunbond grants an ability to the creature it enchants, and because that creature's controller is unchanged, the "you" on that ability refers not necessarily to you, but to that creature's controller (C.R. 109.5).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Greven, Predator Captain and Curse of Fool's Wisdom
    While you control Greven, Greven's second ability counts the amount of life you've lost this turn, even if you regained that life immediately after you lost it, as with Curse of Fool's Wisdom's second ability (C.R. 109.5). Notably, Greven's second ability cares about life loss events, not the net change to any player's life total since the beginning of the turn.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on deflecting palm prevents opponents helix from gaining health?
    When Lightning Helix resolves, its controller gains 3 life even if the damage it would deal is prevented (whether by Deflecting Palm or otherwise) (C.R. 615.6, 608.2c; see also C.R. 101.3, 609.3). Compare Lightning Helix with Syphon Soul or Corrupt.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Song of the Dryads on Song of the Dryads
    Quote from Mihejra »
    So I'll have my Rat. And my opponent will have his SOTD (now land) with my SOTD (still aura) on it. Is this correct?
    The Song of the Dryads that's now a land will be unattached, and the permanent it was formerly attached to will revert to being a Rat creature, and the Song of the Dryads attached to Song of the Dryads that's now a land will still be attached to it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Song of the Dryads on Song of the Dryads
    If a Song of the Dryads becomes attached to another Song of the Dryads, the latter will be a colorless Forest land and thus lose all its usual abilities, including "enchant permanent" (C.R. 305.6, 305.7), and all other card types, including enchantment (C.R. 205.1a). Since that permanent is no longer an enchantment or an artifact (and thus not an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification [C.R. 205.3g-h]), it becomes unattached and remains on the battlefield as a state-based action (C.R. 704.5p), and any Auras that could enchant that permanent, including the other Song of the Dryads, will remain attached to that permanent.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on How to determine if a trigger is missed
    In sanctioned tournaments, a triggered ability is forgotten only if its controller has "taken an action past the point where the triggered ability would have an observable impact on the game" (M.T.R. 4.5). Lunk Errant's ability would generally have an observable impact, at the earliest, as combat damage is assigned, because at that moment, the appropriate player must determine what Lunk Errant's power and toughness are and whether Lunk Errant has trample, which affects how combat damage is assigned, and assign Lunk Errant's combat damage accordingly (C.R. 510.1, 702.19). In general, that triggered ability's controller doesn't have to acknowledge the ability until then (notably not before blockers are declared). However, the mere fact that a player has not acknowledged a triggered ability doesn't mean that it doesn't resolve or that its effects are ignored.

    In a sanctioned tournament in general, if your opponent attacks with Lunk Errant alone, Lunk Errant will have gotten +1/+1 and gained trample by the time you declare blockers, whether your opponent has acknowledged Lunk Errant's triggered ability or not.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Molten Nursery Stacking
    If you control more than one Molten Nursery, the triggered ability of each one will trigger whenever you cast the same colorless spell (C.R. 603.2; see also C.R. 113.2c). In general, there is no limit to the number of permanents with the same name you can control.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Does Outmaneuver cause commander damage?
    For the purposes of the state-based action added in the traditional Commander variant (C.R. 903.10a), all the combat damage creatures deal remains combat damage despite Outmaneuver; Outmaneuver doesn't make some of that combat damage noncombat damage for the purposes of that state-based action. This is because Outmaneuver doesn't directly make anything deal any damage, but rather it merely changes the way certain creatures assign combat damage (C.R. 108.1); in this sense, Outmaneuver is similar to trample (review C.R. 702.16) and Rhox's first ability.

    For example, any combat damage a commander deals is still treated as combat damage dealt by that commander for the purposes of that state-based action, even if Outmaneuver made that commander assign that damage in a way it wouldn't otherwise.

    Compare Outmaneuver with Deflecting Palm; if Deflecting Palm's effect prevents damage and Deflecting Palm deals damage itself, the new damage is not combat damage, even if combat damage was prevented this way (compare C.R. 120.2b, which describes damage due to an effect, with C.R. 120.2a, which describes combat damage).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.